We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff. Horrible room design.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff. Horrible room design.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Fairfield Inn and Suites is located just off Harper Road in Beckley, West Virginia. It is located next to an Outback Steakhouse and other restaurants, fast good eateries and gas stations. It is a great place to stay while traveling through West Virginia.

The Fairfield Inn and Suites staff were very helpful and friendly. The lobby is bright and has plenty of seating. There is free internet access either in your room or in the lobby. There is one computer in their business center. The hotel and room were clean and nicely presented.

While the staff is friendly, there are some serious design deficiencies in the hotel. First the elevators are small and it is very hard to get the hotel-provided luggage carts in and out of them. Second, the hallways are too dimly lit. Almost on the verge of being dark.

We had a suite which was a regular room with a small TV room with a sofa bed. My first complaint about the room is that the closet isn't big enough. The shelf they installed to hang your clothes on is over-sized for the space. It juts out so much that you can't hang your clothes normally because the door won't shut. You have to twist your hangers so your clothes hang sideways (either the front of your shirts or back of your shirts/suits face the door instead of the shoulder). Another complaint about the room is that the beds are super uncomfortable. I woke up stiff and cramped. I also had a hard time sleeping through the night due to the bed. A third complaint about the hotel is that it had only one movie channel (HBO). This movie channel is not very appropriate for children and the fact that they didn't have an on-demand video service is unusual and disappointing. Finally, the bathroom. It may not have even been 100 square feet. It was tiny. In fact, you couldn't even stand in the bathroom and close the door. You either scraped your feet trying to close the door or you had to contort yourself around the toilet in order to close the door.

We will most likely look for different accommodations next time we are traveling through here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    84
    49
    18
    5
See reviews for
82
64
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were going to the New River Gorge area for a weekend adventure. My husband had Marriott points we could use so needed to stay in a Marriott property. We decided on the Fairfield for this reason. We both thought the room was very nice, location was great and Beckley was a nice town. The hostess at the breakfast buffet was very friendly. I have found that some Fairfield's can definitely be nicer than others. This was a good one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I travel to Myrtle Beach every summer and Beckley is about the perfect stop after a long day of travelling. The Fairfield Inn is our usual choice for a couple of reasons...it's reasonably priced, we've always found it to be clean, the staff are friendly and it's easy on/off of the highway.
The nearby restaurants are nice too. The last thing I want to do is get in the car to drive for dinner!
We also breakfast to be adequate for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, NE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was late and we needed to find a pet friendly room as my daughter had her dog with her. We had stopped an many other hotels in that town, and the pet friendly rooms were booked.

The staff at the front counter was very nice and offered us a discount coupon at check in. A pet friendly room is an extra $30.

The hotel was nice - the breakfast was really good the next morning.

Very friendly staff.

My only complaint was the price. I think it was over-rated. With the pet fee, out price with taxes, was still $160.00

Room Tip: Motel was nice, but the price was over-rated, even with my Marriot Rewards and Government Rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had to make a last minute trip to Beckley to visit a sick relative. This hotel is dire need of attention. The musty room smell, the cobwebs in the corners of the hallways, the beds that felt like sleeping on bouncy castles, the bathtub (that has clearly been re-caulked MANY times) coming away from the wall. The whole place is tired and dated and dirty.....we were charged $140.00 (incl. taxes) for one night. This hotel is a $70.00/night hotel, at best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Except for the pillows, which could be improved, we would rate this hotel with 5-floors as our favorite for our overnight stop over the past 12+ years. We take 6 two-way trips each year from MI to SC. and It's exactly 1/2 way for us, There are excellent choices of restaurants within walking distance. There's a Marriott Courtyard next door which is good, but it doesn't match the overall quality and value of the Beckley, WV Fairfield Inn and Suites. Ask about their special rates for active duty U.S. military and veterans as well as government employees,
The hot breakfast is superb (fresh scrambled eggs, hot English muffins or bagels, and turkey meat patties). Their do-it-yourself made to order waffles are a special treat for kids of all ages, 1 to 99.

Room Tip: Ask for extra firm pillows and a microwave and frdge in your room when making your reservation. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A great hotel very nice staff, its a pet friendly hotel but guests with dogs have to stay in the 1st floor which is good for people who don't like the odor of dogs.The staff was very helpful and the residents in the area are very nice and helpful.The breakfast in the hotel is great, but they should have more options for the eggs besides scrambled and plain. The room is very comfortable but paint is peeling (not much of a problem) and it is very clean room. There was dust on the bathroom vent which may have cause some allergies. Overall it was a great room for the price and I would go back If I had too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley

Address: 125 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new look for a familiar name, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott in Beckley, West Virginia, has undergone an extensive renovation. All of our guestrooms and suites have been refreshed to a bright new look. Our guests will enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. All of our non-smoking rooms and suites feature complimentary WiFi. Our cadio room is available 24/7. Pets are welcome (with a fee) in one of our designated pet rooms located on the first floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Beckley Hotel Beckley
Fairfield Beckley
Beckley Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.