We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice and clean. Loved the color scheme. Breakfast was great!! Didn't get a chance to use the pools so I can comment on that. Loved the beds and pillows. Hotel is in a great location, near I-77 and lots of restaurants. I am going to make this my hotel of choice when going to Beckley in the Future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    67
    38
    18
    4
See reviews for
60
52
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Due to a problem on I-77 we were held up for four hours and needed to stop short of our destination going North. Beckely is a very friendly area for travelers and there are many hotels on Harper Road. Because we travel with dogs I thought it might be hard to find a nice place on the spur of the moment, but to my surprise found the best place we have ever stayed in Beckley - and we have stopped here on our way BACK from NY every year for the past 27!
The room was clean and very nice [see my photos], the people at the desk were very friendly and the free breakfast was the best; most variety we've ever encountered in a chain motel. The lobby/dining area is more upscale than the usual motel. Even the hallways are nice and colorful... very nice & safe feel to the place.
The only downside was that the pet fee is above average, but we were happy to find a room on short notice. The room was very clean and I assume that the pet fee is what pays to keep these pet-friendly rooms so spotless.
I'm planning to stay here next week on my return trip South.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Since Beckley is about the half way point for a long drive home, we chose the Fairfield because it's a Marriott. The Beckley Fairfield is no wow hotel, but is very conveniently located right off the freeway and in the same parking lot as an Outback, a McDonald's and an Applebee restaurant and across the road from a whole bunch of other hotels and restaurants too -- all within walking distance. However, arriving on a Saturday evening, the hotel was overrun with guests checking in because it was booked solid and the front desk staff were doing their best to process guests as fast as possible.

The hotel itself looks to be in good shape, with new decor and furnishings. The room is pretty standard but bathroom was extremely small. Tub was old but everything else in the room looked recently renovated. 2 double beds, a work desk/chair, a small fridge and microwave. Breakfast in the morning was average fare, some fruit, breads/bagels, yogurt, self-heat sausage/bacon/egg biscuits, waffle maker. Breakfast on Sunday morning was a zoo, and it was difficult to navigate all the people or get a table. Also, breakfast staff seemed overwhelmed -- no coffee, dirty tables. Need more staff on weekends for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent the night there and the service and accomodations were excellent. Front desk was friendly and helpful, bed was awesome, pool was clean and very nice and the continental breakfast was exceptional. They offered juices, bagels, toast, several cereals, waffles, hard boiled eggs, milk, coffee, hot chocolate, sausage biscuits, bacon/egg/cheese biscuits, fruit and yogurt. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Staff was very nice and helpful. Room was very clean. Loved that the hotel is pet friendly. Nice clean pool. Near several restaurants, no driving required. Little too pricey. Otherwise very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Putting in a few new pieces of furniture, a new bathroom mirror, and a new shower curtain is not the same thing as remodeling a building. This is not a remodeled property. Our room had holes all over the walls where they had removed old pictures and hadn't patched or painted the old holes. There was mold all around the shower area. Wallpaper was peeling. In general things still looked old, rundown, and dirty. We chose this hotel because we are Marriott members but it was not worth the points.
The breakfast was okay...pretty standard fare...but there was not enough seating after 7am on a Saturday. 5 of us sat at a table for 2 with 1 chair. People were waiting in line for tables. There was plenty of food, but not nearly enough seating. Get rid of the couches and add tables.

Room Tip: Skip this place and try the Courtyard by Marriott at the same street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Staff was nice and Dining area was comfortable. Located near some good eating establishments that are across the parking lot, so no driving needed.

I turned in a Guest survey the morning I left and had not heard from anyone, so I am posting this in case the staff decided to throw away the survey and not give it to Management. I used their iron to iron my shirt for work the next day and it put permanent stains. I went and told front desk, and all they could do is say "sorry", and offered no exchange of iron. Had to go buy new shirts and clean the Iron to get my new stuff ironed. Later I had to use the business center, I could not print and told front desk, she came out and said you need to put paper in there....I said there is paper, she said well it says cartridge is in error and I know nothing about this. She let me in her office to bring up what I needed to print and the printer was not working there either! The guy working with her couldn't figure it out either, so what I had to do for my work the next day was not completed and I was not prepared. She said she couldn't do anything about it.

That night my toilet was hissing all night, woke me up several time because it got so loud. I went to front desk in the morning, told front desk that the toilet was running in 420, he said I will submit a work order now. I went to work and came home exhausted, got up to my room only to find that my key didn't work. I went to front desk, and said I think my key got demagnetized and the gentleman said..noooo they only you set you up for one day...(my stay was three days). Okay problem solved, so I go up to the room and my toilet was still hissing, so again I go to front desk and asked if a maintenance ticket was submitted and was told "no" by the lady and the Maintenance. Maintenance (Nice guy) said he would take care if it immediately. He came up replaced a few parts and said done. I went down stairs after I changed and asked the lady at the desk "Where is a good place to eat other than OUTBACK and Hooters for dinner" and her reply was IHOP! REALLY??? I go there late at night for a snack, or breakfast in the morning, but IHOP for dinner? Get back after going to a Mexican place up the street. I come back to room only to find out the toilet was still hissing, and the rubber gasket was not sealing n ow. So every time I flush I had to reseat the rubber to get it to fill. Hissing throughout night again. I just put a note on my door to leave my room alone.

Room wasn't vacuumed very well and you can tell in bathroom things weren't moved to wipe down because the sign on counter by sink had dust surrounding the back side and you can tell where cleaning staff wiped and didn't. I had plastic tabs from my shirt on floor still there from opening new shirt the night before.

Overall if you just need a nicer place than Econo Lodge and a place to sleep...this may be it, but you won't get what you paid for. I know I will be back to Beckley, just not back at this Hotel. Waiting for my Survey from Marriott's to come in via email. Oh and not a very well organized construction going on, made it hard to get into building if you were there for first time with no key.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley

Address: 125 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new look for a familiar name, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott in Beckley, West Virginia, has undergone an extensive renovation. All of our guestrooms and suites have been refreshed to a bright new look. Our guests will enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. All of our non-smoking rooms and suites feature complimentary WiFi. Our cadio room is available 24/7. Pets are welcome (with a fee) in one of our designated pet rooms located on the first floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Marriott, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Beckley Hotel Beckley
Fairfield Beckley
Beckley Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.