We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent the night there and the service and accomodations were excellent. Front desk was friendly and helpful, bed was awesome, pool was clean and very nice and the continental breakfast was exceptional. They offered juices, bagels, toast, several cereals, waffles, hard boiled eggs, milk, coffee, hot chocolate, sausage biscuits, bacon/egg/cheese biscuits, fruit and yogurt. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    44
    18
    5
See reviews for
73
59
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Staff was very nice and helpful. Room was very clean. Loved that the hotel is pet friendly. Nice clean pool. Near several restaurants, no driving required. Little too pricey. Otherwise very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Putting in a few new pieces of furniture, a new bathroom mirror, and a new shower curtain is not the same thing as remodeling a building. This is not a remodeled property. Our room had holes all over the walls where they had removed old pictures and hadn't patched or painted the old holes. There was mold all around the shower area. Wallpaper was peeling. In general things still looked old, rundown, and dirty. We chose this hotel because we are Marriott members but it was not worth the points.
The breakfast was okay...pretty standard fare...but there was not enough seating after 7am on a Saturday. 5 of us sat at a table for 2 with 1 chair. People were waiting in line for tables. There was plenty of food, but not nearly enough seating. Get rid of the couches and add tables.

Room Tip: Skip this place and try the Courtyard by Marriott at the same street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Staff was nice and Dining area was comfortable. Located near some good eating establishments that are across the parking lot, so no driving needed.

I turned in a Guest survey the morning I left and had not heard from anyone, so I am posting this in case the staff decided to throw away the survey and not give it to Management. I used their iron to iron my shirt for work the next day and it put permanent stains. I went and told front desk, and all they could do is say "sorry", and offered no exchange of iron. Had to go buy new shirts and clean the Iron to get my new stuff ironed. Later I had to use the business center, I could not print and told front desk, she came out and said you need to put paper in there....I said there is paper, she said well it says cartridge is in error and I know nothing about this. She let me in her office to bring up what I needed to print and the printer was not working there either! The guy working with her couldn't figure it out either, so what I had to do for my work the next day was not completed and I was not prepared. She said she couldn't do anything about it.

That night my toilet was hissing all night, woke me up several time because it got so loud. I went to front desk in the morning, told front desk that the toilet was running in 420, he said I will submit a work order now. I went to work and came home exhausted, got up to my room only to find that my key didn't work. I went to front desk, and said I think my key got demagnetized and the gentleman said..noooo they only you set you up for one day...(my stay was three days). Okay problem solved, so I go up to the room and my toilet was still hissing, so again I go to front desk and asked if a maintenance ticket was submitted and was told "no" by the lady and the Maintenance. Maintenance (Nice guy) said he would take care if it immediately. He came up replaced a few parts and said done. I went down stairs after I changed and asked the lady at the desk "Where is a good place to eat other than OUTBACK and Hooters for dinner" and her reply was IHOP! REALLY??? I go there late at night for a snack, or breakfast in the morning, but IHOP for dinner? Get back after going to a Mexican place up the street. I come back to room only to find out the toilet was still hissing, and the rubber gasket was not sealing n ow. So every time I flush I had to reseat the rubber to get it to fill. Hissing throughout night again. I just put a note on my door to leave my room alone.

Room wasn't vacuumed very well and you can tell in bathroom things weren't moved to wipe down because the sign on counter by sink had dust surrounding the back side and you can tell where cleaning staff wiped and didn't. I had plastic tabs from my shirt on floor still there from opening new shirt the night before.

Overall if you just need a nicer place than Econo Lodge and a place to sleep...this may be it, but you won't get what you paid for. I know I will be back to Beckley, just not back at this Hotel. Waiting for my Survey from Marriott's to come in via email. Oh and not a very well organized construction going on, made it hard to get into building if you were there for first time with no key.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Normally stay at Hampton inn but decided to try mar riot's Hampton inn this trip as i am a marriott silver member with my business What a mistake! Walking into hotel past two doggies that were also spending the night in the hotel. I am allergic to dogs and did not know that Fairfield was a dog friendly facility. Lady at front desk was finishing a personal conversation with someone but ended it as we approached. Even though parking lot was nearly empty she said only room was a suite and we could not get our AAA rate on this room as discounts are only provided based on occupancy so we get no discount. Not exactly like she presented it but that was the message we heard. We have never encountered this with any hotel chain and especially any Marriott hotel. We were shocked and disappointed but since we had been on the road all day and ready to stop we agreed to the $115 room rate that escalated to almost $150 the next day after taxes. Guess what hotel chain we are never staying at ever again.

Bathroom in suite was so small I hurt my foot opening the door to leave. Literally two inches between commode and edge of door. Layout of room was awkward with tv off center to the bed and screwed down so you could not moe it. Breakfast was ok but breakfast area was too small and the layout caused lots of collisions near the food line even when not busy. Adding lobby area could have been used for breakfast but was empty of any people every time I saw it

Value of hotel was low, I was considering one star but rated two to be fair. We got a good nights sleep even though the hotel and room rate was klugy. I am serious in my comments that I will never ever stay at a Fairfield again. Lack of discount that I was eligible for really fried me. In hind site we should have walked after walking in the door

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central VA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

Traveling through WV this weekend we decided to stop over in Beckley. We have stayed at this property a number of times, but it has been years ago.
First impression: front desk and reservations staff were very friendly. Easy to get to
Clean property
Quiet. Super super quiet
We discovered however, you will be fighting for the bed covers with your bed mate all night. They are too small and much too thin for the beds. Plus the AC is super cold. I spent most of the night adjusting the thermostat and grabbing a cirner of the blanket therd were no extras in the closet We had a double room not a king. It was very odd
Otherwise good stay over.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nestled amid many other motels and several restaurants lies the Fairfield Inn of Beckley. Our "suite" was clean and fairly quiet considering it was next to the elevator. One of the smallest bathrooms we've ever encountered in a motel. Front desk personnel were polite enough. Breakfast was OK. The "business center" is on one wall of the breakfast room--not much privacy.
Nothing here to get upset about, but nothing to make us want t come back either. Best part about staying here was its location next to the Outback Restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley

Address: 125 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new look for a familiar name, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott in Beckley, West Virginia, has undergone an extensive renovation. All of our guestrooms and suites have been refreshed to a bright new look. Our guests will enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. All of our non-smoking rooms and suites feature complimentary WiFi. Our cadio room is available 24/7. Pets are welcome (with a fee) in one of our designated pet rooms located on the first floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Beckley Hotel Beckley
Fairfield Beckley
Beckley Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.