We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suites are very spacious for large families.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Suites are very spacious for large families.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Renovations were still ongoing in March, but our top floor looked finished and the room was great. Not sure if it was an upgraded suite, but it looked bigger than the typical Fairfield/SpringHill layout (our room was a corner unit). There was a pullout sofa in a separate nook, with its own second TV. Great for travelling with kids.

Breakfast area was nicely renovated, although on the small side. Pool is outdoors and gym was below average (no weights, just a couple cardio).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    76
    44
    18
    5
See reviews for
73
58
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had stayed at the Fairfield Inn Beckley while snow skiing in West Virginia before. As with any great find, there is always the fear that things will change for the worse. That is not the case here! This is still a fantastic hotel with a friendly, courteous staff and super comfy beds. It is a great value and pet friendly too. They were doing major renovations during our stay but the staff made sure that we were not inconvenienced in any way. We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

On our drive home from a recent trip up north, my whole family came down with the stomach flu. After trying to power through the seven hour drive, we finally gave up at hour four and decided to check into a hotel. My only request as to what hotel we stayed at is that it must be modern and nice. This was a time for super clean sheets to climb under and a modern bathroom all my own. We didn't have the time or energy to look up discounts online, so we pulled into the Fairfield Inn expecting to pay a bit more than we normally would.
Usually, a $110/night would not be bad for a weekend stay at a pretty nice hotel, but we checked in on a Monday and the whole hotel was under construction. Upon check-in, we noticed some work on the outside of the building, but were not told about all the inside renovations happening.
The room itself was decent, but the clock was not plugged in, there was absolutely no soap in the whole room/bathroom, the bathroom had a broken shower fixture, and the tub and bathroom floor were dirty. It looked as if the hotel wasn't planning on renting the room out anytime soon. The floor on which our room was located had drywall dust all over and there was no ice machine. The breakfast room was decent and looked like it had been renovated recently. The complimentary breakfast had a decent amount of choices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

Renovations have greatly improved this Fairfield. It was pretty shabby but now it is back up to standard. Good prices especially on AAA rates.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This property is in the process of a major refurbishing and we were able to get one of the refurbished suites. From what we saw, this property will be on the same level as the newer Fairfield Inns and I would recommend it to travelers. The furniture and decor is a tasteful contempory style with good quality components. We did not try the pool or excercise facilities as this was an overnight stop. The breakfast area is large and the offerings were typical of Fairfield with better than average presentation. The front desk was very helpful and made a great recommendation for a local restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

This was my first trip to Beckley since the late 90's. Granted, I know that much has changed in almost 15 years.

This Fairfield is in the middle of a total remodel to the property. After talking with management, I learned that original property is around 30 or so years old. You can tell on exterior that this was not originally a Fairfield.

I stayed on top floor which is basically finished with remodel. Because I was Marriott Gold Rewards member, I was upgraded to suite. They are adding 2 suites on end of each floor. You have normal room with an additional sitting room attached--includes small sofa, chair and second TV.

In terms of furnishings, everything had been upgraded--new carpet, flat panel TV's, newer furniture and very good bedding. I had a great night's sleep. Bathroom was definitely not totally redone--but was clean. Bathroom would probably be the one area that I say is lacking compared to higher-end properties.

I believe the rest of hotel is scheduled to be finished within a couple of months.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. They had large breakfast area downstairs. I didn't eat the complimentary breakfast so I can't comment. but the area looked clean and inviting.

All in all, much better than I expected. Rate here was better than several similar properties I priced in Beckley. One of the way reasons why I selected this Fairfield.

Yes, the exterior does look dated. but the property is in the middle of finishing the remodel inside. I think this is an above average place. If you have stayed in Fairfields before, this is comparable to most I have stayed in--if not better.

Room Tip: Ask for the finished remodeled floor. I was on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed here a few years ago and decided that, although older, it was well-maintained and OK for one night. So I didn't bother to check Tripadvisor reviews. Bad mistake.

We arrived to find that apparently nobody had read our requests and nothing was to our preference. After sorting out the best we could manage, we checked out the room. As usual, my wife checked for bedbugs. No problem, but there were two large staples. Probably from the mattress packaging. How could the housekeeper manage to put on the fitted sheet without noticing?

About those renos... it seems to me that if a hotel is in the midst of renovations they should mention that fact on their website or to any caller. For us, surprise! There was an apologetic note in the room, promising that noise would be kept to certain daytime hours. Okay, but no promises about the smell. In late afternoon the whole floor we were on smelled strongly of turpentine or varsol or something. Good thing this was a 100% non-smoking hotel, otherwise a lit match would have blown up the place. We kept the heating/fan going to counteract the hall pressure pushing in the fumes. However, that heated up the room. When we had arrived, it was set to 68, but it felt like a sauna. Lowering the temp made no difference. It was all or nothing. Obviously the thermostat wasn't working. Or perhaps it was confused by the constant cold draft coming down from the cracked window pane.

Anyway, if our reno'd room is anything to judge by, they'd better fire their contractors and sue them. The wallpaper had bubbles and the caulking on the bathtub had gaps and holes. For a couple of bucks they could have replaced the light switch in the bathroom, but no, they kept the old one, with at least a decade of accumulated dirt. Also, they could have replaced the bed linens and towels if they were spiffing up. But no.... next time, get an architect. As others have noted, the bathroom is tiny and poorly laid out. By using the space under the counter they could easily have freed up area.

Well, the new carpet was fine. Let's just hope they replace the one in the elevator, too. And fix up all the scratches and dents - the damage gives the place a decrepit look.

Bottom line: they don't care.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley

Address: 125 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new look for a familiar name, the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott in Beckley, West Virginia, has undergone an extensive renovation. All of our guestrooms and suites have been refreshed to a bright new look. Our guests will enjoy a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. All of our non-smoking rooms and suites feature complimentary WiFi. Our cadio room is available 24/7. Pets are welcome (with a fee) in one of our designated pet rooms located on the first floor of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Beckley Hotel Beckley
Fairfield Beckley
Beckley Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.