We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Beckley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Libertyville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel has a great lobby with a small bar and eating area. In the back there is a gas fir pit with plenty of chairs. Nice to relax after a long day. Rooms are decent. We had a family of 4 and ran out of shampoo and the front desk had no problem giving us more.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    63
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
52
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here 5 days while visiting family. We booked the king suite because we wanted a DOOR between the master bedroom and the living room with sofa bed. With kids, it's nice to have some privacy. The sofa bed fits one person, not two like most other hotel sofa beds.

However, the location was good. The room faced the back lot where there were lots of trees and little street noise. There were balconies in both rooms that you could sit on.

The living room had a kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and sink. The bathroom was in the master bedroom. The shower and toilet had a door and the sink had a large countertop.

The kids enjoyed the indoor pool almost daily. Housekeeping was well done. They even lined up my boy's large stuffed animal collection neatly on the sofa bed which pleased my son.

No breakfast here, but there is a Bob Evans and a Cracker Barrel nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel face the courtyard surrounded by trees. Very quiet area. Lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naoma D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Lodeiapple

Thank you so much for commenting about your recent stay here at the Beckley Courtyard. I am very happy to hear that you and your familey enjoyed your stay. I am very pleased to hear that our housekeeping staff provided you with excellent service. We will be happy to have you as guest again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The front staff was very friendly and kind. The rooms were updated within a year or so, and mine was very clean, and bed very comfortable. The outdoor space by the fireplace was wonderful. The cafe was tended by very friendly staff. I would recommend this for a stay. Close by dining at Applebee's and Outback steakhouse. McDonalds also.

Room Tip: My room was first floor and still had no issues with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Picked this place last minute and as a last choice because everything around here books full on summer weekends. Rooms were very nice and the government rate was very fair. But I was rather surprised that in the morning there was not even complementary coffee. You'll have to pony up the $2.50 for Starbucks in the lobbies snack bar. They also charge for breakfast. Tudors biscuit here I come! Just seems like a way to scrape another dollar from you before you leave. But the hotel and rooms were very clean so if you don't mind paying for breakfast this is a good spot.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naoma D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Oxtail_69

Thank you for being our guest. I am very sorry that you didn't like the brand of coffee we have chose to serve in our hotels resteraunt. It's very popular with most of our guest who love starbucks coffee and the food options we have to offer in our bistro resteraunt. We look forward to having you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Clean hotel but is not our first choice for Beckley. Hotel is laid out funky but the rooms are clean and the pool is clean. It's a nice hotel. I would stay here again if our other choice was booked up.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I traveled through Beckley on my way to the Marriott resort in Myrtle Beach and decided to stay for the night since I was traveling with a 1 year old and 3 year old. Check-in was nice and easy and the staff, as with all Marriott properties was very nice. The hotel has a cafe to get made to order food and has a real on the fly coffee machine that brews Starbucks so you can get an espresso if you'd like. There is a pool on the first floor and an outside area with plenty of seating and a big fire pit. It is a nice place to hang out to pass the night. The room I had was GREAT for kids and myself. My room was on the first floor and I had two patio doors that opened up into the back side where the fire pit was. So my kids and I could walk out from our room and they had a VERY large area to play which I sat at the fire pit. It was the only room like this. This room also provided semi-private access to the pool area because the patio doors opened to the large outside area and the pool had a door from the outside that no-one would ever use because no other rooms opened to the outside like this room did. The room's patio was at the far end of the area so no-one would be walking down to where your room doors exited to. The room had it's own private chairs to sit at and great landscaping. The only negatives I would say is that the Marriott is a smoke free property but there was a gazebo in the middle of outside area between my room and the fire pit/social area that is designated as smoking. The entire area is private from the outside world because it is lined with trees and landscaping, etc. Because of this when someone smokes it hangs around and travels into the entire area. At one point some 35 year old guy came out with his iPad and started smoking swisher sweets (who even smokes those anymore?) for an hour straight. That was kind of a bummer. I tired making rude comments under my breath in hopes he would hear and get out of there but it didn't help. Marriott if you read this, get rid of smoking on your property. No-one wants themselves or their kids subjected to cancer. Other than that, the property is great. Parking is tight though so if you get a spot try not to move. The room you want is room 101. Make sure you ask for it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My son and I stayed here and upon checking in the staff was courteous and ready to assist us with any questions or requests we had. Our room was immaculate and very fresh smelling. My son loved the candy jar on the desk; great touch!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naoma D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Jennifer:
Thank you for taking time to provide us with your recent experience at our hotel. It was a pleasure having you and your son as our guests. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Address: 124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Beckley Hotel Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
Beckley Marriott
Beckley Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.