We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Sleep Quality But Miss The Free Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Beckley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Fairborn
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good Sleep Quality But Miss The Free Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This Courtyard was conveniently located to the highway, gas and a couple of restaurants. The room was very attractive with the new layout. The bed was comfortable but the right side was very close to the wall. The room had a flat screen TV and a small frig but no microwave. We did not try the WiFi, pool or exercise room. Housekeeping could improve; there were sticky spots on the clock radio, nose prints on the glass patio door and dust on many horizontal surfaces. The restaurant/bistro concept was new to us. While there was free coffee in the room everything in the bistro is charged al la cart. Next time we’ll probably go out for breakfast rather than pay $7.50 for a microwave egg/ham sandwich and $2 juice. Plus our server was not pleasant during our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naoma D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and the suggestions that you have provided us with about your recent stay at our hotel. Here at Courtyard our goal to give each of our guests a comfortable satisfying stay, therefore feedback from those guest is very important to us. We apperciate your input and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    62
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
51
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This Marriott was just what we needed after many hours on the road. Easy check in. Clean and quiet room. Adequate fitness center. Choice of reasonable restaurants on the Hotel campus. I take off points because indoor pool chlorine odor invades the lobby, and because overall the facility is due for some refurbishing. But I would stay here again next time I am in neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We checked in after a grueling 10 hour drive, and fortunately a room to our likening was available as we did not make a reservation beforehand. Reception was efficient and friendly as to be expected from a Courtyard Marriott. We opted to eat at a very close steak restaurant and were not disappointed.
Our room was very nice - air conditioner was a bit noisy - but not a problem. We had a good night's sleep and opted to have breakfast at the Courtyard. Service was very friendly but prices steep for the menu items. Otherwise, a great place to rest up after a long drive.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel appears very new and is extremely clean! The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The beds were very comfortable, and the Water Pic shower wonderful! Free in room high speed wireless internet, free parking, and very quiet. High def. LG flat screen TV had an awesome picture. A good night's sleep! Marriott has always been our hotel of choice and again did not disappoint. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naoma D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback to us from you recent stay in Beckley. We apperciate and value the opinions of our guests, we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by this Courtyard Marriot. Our GPS could not find the hotel, but it is just off the highway and easily seen next to the Outback Steakhouse. (There are quite a few food choices within walking distance.) The hotel looks brand new and is obviously run by a good manager who is really on the ball. Our room was absolutely spotless, which is so important to a germ freak like me, and it was very quiet as well. The front desk did an excellent job of honoring our room requests. Upon waking up to a virtual blizzard the next morning, we were also impressed with the kind front desk lady who took a lot of time advising us poor southerners on the road conditions and alternate routes. Well done, Courtyard Marriot!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Good: I love the layout of the room we had. The bed was facing the window directly, which allowed us to have a nice view outside when it was sunny. The location is pretty nice as well if you're looking to get away and relax. They are located close to an Applebees, Outback, and some other nice restaurants. If you're looking for a lot to do, it may not be the best area. The room seemed pretty up-to-date in my opinion. The carpet and furniture were not old or musty, and the bed was very comfortable. The tv has a nice selection of channels to watch unlike some other hotels I've visited in the past. Housekeeping provided very quick stay-over service, which was appreciated. The lady at the front desk was also very pleasant. She was both welcoming and helpful for our entire stay. This is a nice hotel to just get away from all the stresses of your home town. Very relaxing and quiet. I was able to get some well-needed rest here. We didn't experience any problems with our room during our stay.

The bad: The bathroom was quite small; I generally prefer a more spacious place to get ready, but it wasn't necessarily "bad" by any means. There was also a very noticeable smudge on the front of the shower. Not sure how it was missed during the room cleanup. The air conditioning unit gave us a little bit of trouble. I like to keep my room cooler when I sleep, as I find it more comfortable. We had set the thermostat at 65, but the unit would stop when it hit 71, and would not come back on unless we messed around with it. The one thing that bothered me about this place was the manager's attitude. Upon our arrival, we saw two people at the desk: the front desk agent and the manager. I waved at the manager and said hello as we entered, but she offered no response, other than staring at us. She did not say a word to us, which I found a little discomforting. If you're going to manage a hotel that serves the public, it may be a good idea to be friendly and social with the guests. Other than her, the rest of the staff (housekeeping and front desk) were great.

Room Tip: The fridge is hidden in the cabinet below the tv. Be sure to look there before asking where it may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've stayed at this Courtyard for years and improvement has been made every year. This year the best stay. I can say very clean, quiet and a very nice staff. The bed was so comfortable, it was appreciated. An advantage is the walkable Applebee's, it's nice not to get in the car again after a long trip. There is a Bistro which we did use in the morning. As with all Courtyards, there is no comp breakfast. I think it is the best pick in Beckley, lovely pool and a nice workout room. What's not to like? We'll be back next time on our way back home.

Room Tip: I request high floors so there is no sound transfer from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naoma D, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time for share your recent experience at our hotel. It is so refreshing when a guest comments on the cleanliness of our rooms and I have enjoyed sharing your comments with our houskeeping staff. We look forward to having you as our guest on your next stay in Beckley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Address: 124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Beckley Hotel Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
Beckley Marriott
Beckley Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.