We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Beckley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“OK Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Courtyard in Beckley is an older property that has been reasonably maintained, but is showing signs of age. Even though we had a reservation, it took several minutes for our host to locate a clean room. Our room was adequate, but the bathroom sink had an assortment of hair from previous guests just under the rim. This is not what you like or expect to see at any property. The towels were very thin. On the plus side, the bed was quite comfortable. Warm weather allowed us to relax on the small balcony. There are a number of fast food and casual dining spots nearby, some within walking distance, and some that are open 24 hours. Courtyard Beckley would not be my first choice for a return visit, but it would suffice in a pinch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    75
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
59
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night on a long-weekend road trip from Pennsylvania to Florida. Being several hours into our journey, Beckley was a nice stop. The Courtyard in Beckley was tastefully appointment, recently renovated, clean, and extremely comfortable. The beds were very soft - a far cry from the rocks that I find at many hotels. A number of reviewers have commented on the lack of continental breakfast. This is consistent with the rest of the Courtyard brand so I wasn't surprised by this nor was I disappointed. With a senior citizen discount, our rate was $118, which seems kind of steep for a hotel clearly designed for car travelers off of the interstate. But, this is comparable to other similarly-appointed hotels in the area, so Beckley appears to be just generally priced in this range. The other thing that left we scratching my head was the attire worn by the hotel staff. Both front desk staff with whom I interacted were clad in slacks and lime green Courtyard T-shirts. It doesn't impact the level of service, but it certainly did not give off the professional vibe that I'm used to from a brand like Courtyard that caters to both the leisure and business crowd alike.

I'd stayed at the sister-brand Fairfield across the street to this property about a year ago, and would say that the two properties are comparable. If in the area again, I'd probably make the decision based upon price point between these two properties and the Hampton down the road. So, if the price was competitive, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Beckley Courtyard Marriott is located just off the Interstate in a strip dominated by restaurants and gas stations. It is set back from the main road so noise is not an issue. Our room had a king size bed with a very comfortable mattress along with a nice sofa for relaxing while watching TV. There is a large flat screen TV in the room with a wide selection of cable channels. Since this is a Courtyard, there is no free breakfast in the morning; however, there is a McDonalds within close walking distance and the Courtyard does offer a limited breakfast menu for purchase. In addition, the Bistro at the Courtyard serves a light dinner and has alcohol in the evening (all available for purchase). The staff was very friendly and helpful during our recent visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very clean and suprisingly modern decor. Close to highway very easy to find. Would definately recommend. No real vending machines but they had a small area where you could purchase items in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel looks nice and new but we were disappointed when we got here. There is NO continental breakfast. They do serve food and drinks at the bar in the hotel but everything is overpriced.

The front desk staff was somewhat cordial but not friendly or helpful. They were the only hotel that offered extended stay rates.

The room was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. The housekeeping staff was WONDERFUL and very courteous and helpful. There is a refrigerator in the room but NO microwave.

The fitness room is very small and the pool is more like a wading pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There isn't a lot of choice of good hotel when traveling in this area. The hotel was adequate, but nothing special. Breakfast - not a lot of choice for healthy options and overpriced. VERY SLOW breakfast service when you are in a rush to leave.
Not a lot of good eating options in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped for one night while traveling, and found the Courtyard very clean and comfortable. Front desk persons were nice and helpful. The lobby was quite spacious, having a separate TV lounge area, seating/business area, and bistro dining area.
If you don't want to eat at the bistro, there is an Applebees next door and a McDonalds across from that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Address: 124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Beckley Hotel Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
Beckley Marriott
Beckley Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.