We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute remodel, expensive Bistro food, POOR service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Beckley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
K-Vegas, NC
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Cute remodel, expensive Bistro food, POOR service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Cute remodel on this Courtyard -- just like the rest of them. Fire pit outside made an impromptu stay over a little more fun for our daughter. The front desk staff need a course in manners, service and communication in general. The Bistro in the lobby simply means that you'll pay $20 for one adult and one child to eat breakfast....IF they ever get to you. Whoefully understaffed for breakfast. They do have turkey bacon, whIch was nice. Wish Hilton would consider that. Comfortable rooms, good outlet locations. Crappy in-room coffee, but Starbucks in lobby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    63
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
52
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, Nc
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed one night here. We had late arrival. I had put on our reservation that I wanted a room on the first floor. I was so happy to find out that they saved a first floor room for us. Check in took alittle longer because alot of people were checking in at the same time. We found the staff to be very nice and helpful. Our room was nice. Beds were comfortable. Location is really good. There is a Outback just across from this hotel. An Applebees next door and a McDonalds next to Outback.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Check in process was uncomfortable as front desk clerk and supervisor were not able to answer questions about parking vs room location. After attempting to swipe my card at the side entrance I discovered they had not programmed my room cards yet which resulted in another unpleasant encounter at the front desk. The lobby and room were remodeled with updated furnishings, carpet and wallpaper for a fresh look. Housekeeping was not through with inspections - we found some hairs on the floor and a half used bottle of lotion.
Location is within walking distance of Outback Steakhouse, Applebees and McDonalds.
Bedding is very comfortable and noise was a minimum.

Note: don't waste your time on free coffee, it's old, hot and strong - go for the Starbucks.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view, request a room close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stopped here during a road trip from Michigan to South Carolina. Room was mostly clean. There was some hair in the bathroom from previous guest. We had 4 people staying in room and only had 3 bath towels. Had to call front desk to get more. They wanted me to come to front desk to pick up more towels. I had three children in bed already and didn't want to leave them alone. They finally agreed to bring to room for me. The swimming pool is also very small. Lots of dining options nearby. The ladies working breakfast were REALLY nice and provided excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here on out trip to and from Williamsburg, so only one night each, about a week apart. The hotel is very easy to get to from I-64/77. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed in different rooms and they were nearly identical. The AC might be a bit noisy for some, but I usually sleep with earplugs, so no problem there. My wife likes the white noise.
The breakfast/coffee bar serves Starbucks, but the house coffee is ok. We were very tired from travelling and missed the breakfast/coffee bar both days - it closes around 10. The breakfast is not complimentary. There did not appear to be any other restaraunts close for breakfast, but the hotel is across the street from an Outback steakhouse and an Applebees, so dinner is close if you don't want to drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beckley was a solid midway point from NC to OH and I opted to stay at the Courtyard. The freeway sign for hotels didn't include the Courtyard, so I skipped it the first time around. When I got back and took the correct exit, I accidentally took the road before the entrance to the hotel and had to backtrack to get there.

Anyway, enough of my problems. The hotel itself is a decent representation of typical Courtyard's everywhere. Rooms were clean. Biggest disappointments were with the bathroom (improve the showerheads!) and the fact that the room didn't have a fridge (If it was standard, mine was missing). I had hoped to cool some drinks for my travels the following day. Instead I got to pay a few dollars for some ice from a nearby Kroger.

The front desk person was very friendly and nice. Breakfast isn't free, for those of you who are wondering. I couldn't quite understand how a hotel in the middle of WV could be considered a Cat 4. That said, this is probably one of the better hotels in the area, even if it's overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We just wanted a clean, quiet room for the night and got it at this hotel. I don't mind paying a little more to ensure that I don't have to think about things like bedbugs...

We went to the bistro around 9 pm for a snack, and the poor worker was slammed with orders. But we hung out in the lobby and had good wings and a sandwich and a couple of beers. It was nice not to have to leave the hotel to eat, as it was pouring outside.

The bed was a little on the soft side, but overall comfortable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Address: 124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Beckley Hotel Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
Beckley Marriott
Beckley Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.