We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest hotel room in years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Beckley to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Louisville, KY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cleanest hotel room in years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

This has to be one of the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed in in YEARS! Wonderful staff...great breakfast...comfy bed. More reasonable prices than in Charleston.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    63
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
52
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Sewer smell on the first floor when we checked in - odor was gone the next morning. The heater/air conditioner in our room was leaking water on the carpet; the carpet was soaked and the wood piece that was supporting it (?) was moldy and rotting. This has been going on for a while obviously. The bathroom was clean but worn.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Hotel was clean. Only stayed 1 night so we didn't see a lot of the hotel. Disappointing that the room did not have a microwave or refrigerator. Check-in was not very speedy because the clerk was talking to someone on the phone instead of putting them on hold for just a few minutes. Pool was nice, rooms were clean. Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
715 helpful votes 715 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We used Beckley as our base for whitewater rafting and visiting the New River Gorge area. It is about a 20 minute drive from the hotel to the New River Gorge Bridge.

The hotel is located farily close to the freeway but far enough away that you don't get the freeway noise. The lobby has been recently remodeled and is done in a modern style. Unfortunately, the remodeling stops as soon as you enter the elevators and go up to your room. The rooms are clean but look old and tired. The tv is small and sits on top of a low dresser. This makes it hard to see if you are lying on the far side of the bed.

The bathroom is an ok size and the sink area is located outside the bathroom. The best thing I can say about this place is it was very quiet and we slept well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

As part of a family vacation that involved a long drive, I arranged to stay here to break up the drive. It was convenient to the interstate, the staff was friendly, and the rooms were large but cozy. As we arrived late we were happy to have the option of eating at the in-house restaurant (food was good). After sitting in the car all day my son enjoyed the small but clean pool. Because of this experience we decided to stay here on the return trip and received the same consistent service. The hotel is within walking distance of Appleby's and Outback Steakhouse so we took advantage of this convenience. Overall a good, clean well-managed hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We spent the July 4th weekend at this hotel. This Marriott Courtyard seems to be a franchised location, and there are hints to this if you're looking for them. Although the carpet in the room looked new, the furniture is extremely outdated and has a tired, worn look to it. The television is older as well. But, everything in the room worked as it was supposed to. The bed was extremely hard and gave me a backache, but that's probably just me.

The lobby has been renovated and is pleasant. There are computers for general use, a large screen tv with local information, and the new breakfast bar. The morning coffee bar is always appreciated, and it's good.

At check-in, we first tried a room on the ground floor which turned out to be unacceptable. It had a very unpleasant odor, it was dark like a cave, and the noise from the hallway, lobby, and pool was overwhelming. We requested a different room and ended up on the third floor. It was a decent room.

Our interactions with the front desk staff were pleasant. They gave us a different room when asked, provided restaurant recommendations, provided directions, and extended our stay when asked. On checkout, there was one error on our bill, but they resolved it quickly.

We didn't spend much time in the room, but it was decent, clean, and comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This was my second stay at this location. The lobby has been updated recently and now is "trendy." However, the breakfast buffet is gone, which was a disappointment since it was better than average when I visited last year. The rooms are clean and in good condition, but they are beginning to look a little dated (some new wallpaper would help).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Beckley

Address: 124 Hylton Lane, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Beckley Hotel Beckley
Courtyard Beckley
Beckley Marriott
Beckley Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.