We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER stay at this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Beckley

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Beckley
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2014 Harper Rd., Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Beckley
East Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NEVER stay at this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

This hotel was filthy and had bugs in both rooms . If we would have arrived earlier we would have left it and gone to one of the many other choices in the area. As it was we arrived late at night after 12 hours on the road and could not cancel our reservation without losing the cost of both rooms. One room had bloodstains on the sheets, both rooms had dirt crusted everywhere to the point that we did not walk barefoot on the carpets or in the bathrooms, both smelled terrible, we woke up at 3 am to crawling bugs in the beds, there was trash everywhere in the parking lot. It was just a nasty bad experience and I would not recommend it to anyone , even if you are on a budget. There are many other better choices in this area. The manager would only refund 1 room, but I had to really complain to get him to do this.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    29
    29
    38
See reviews for
44
37
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mdavis303
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Do not stay at this hotel. Our room had bedbugs and fleas. When we reported it to the front desk, they did not care and basically blew us off. We have reported this hotel currently to the BBB and the Health Dept.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarnia, on
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

Heading towards Pittsburgh from Asheville, NC, Beckley seemed the logical place to get a room at 9:00 p.m. on a Saturday night. My 14 year old daughter and I took an exit and happened to find this Super 8. When we approached the desk there was one man ahead of us who seemed to be having some trouble with his credit cards. When it was our turn we asked for a 2 bed NON-smoking room. I was quoted a price of $105.00 PLUS TAX. This seemed really expensive but I was tired of driving and as I looked around I noticed a line up behind me with more and more people squeezing in the door. It seemed like everyone was tired of traveling all at the same time.

I decided to stay and gave the clerk my credit card. I don't know the area and for all I knew this was the cheapest motel around. When we got to our room on the 3rd floor there was a heavy smell of smoke and an ashtray & matches on the nightstand. Obviously not a NON-smoking room! I could keep this room or wait in line behind all the crowds downstairs so I reluctantly kept it. Afterwards I checked the listed price for this motel on their own website and it was listed at $79.00 per night. Did they jack up the prices because there was a crowd???

The bedspread had multiple cigarette burns on it and when I tried to get to sleep I could smell smoke in the pillows. The air conditioner caused the wall behind the bed to vibrate when it kicked into high gear. This was not a motel that we dawdled in the next morning.

  • Liked — the elevator to the 3rd floor
  • Disliked — trumped-up price
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

+ easy access from highway
+ room was available at reserved price
+ staff was helpful
- 1st room was unacceptable (TV was broken), 2nd was unacceptable (terrible smell); 3rd was OK
- motel is showing its age
- b'fast was not worth eating

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

we had 2 rooms for a quick night over in Beckley. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. we went to the Omlet House across the street, but the Super 8 did have complimentary continental breakfast. we liked the fact that the rooms had a refrig and microwave. it was easy on/off to the interstate.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, pa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

we were driving at night to visit some relatives in south carolina. we stopped in beckley to stay the night. super8 said all regular rooms were booked up and all they had left were jacuzi rooms for 109.00. we decided to get the jacuzi room. so we're checked in and lug up our things, along with our 3 yr. old son to our room and discover the room we just payed 109.00 for is jacuzi-less. my husband called the front desk a couple of times and nobody answered. he went down there to talk to the front desk lady about switching rooms and she says we can't because we already dirtied the room, even though we had only been in the room for less than 5 minutes. he explained to her how it was her fault she gave us the wrong room and she said we could move to another room with a jacuzi in it. so we got all our things and our son and went down a floor. Then, when we get in there, the water doesn't work. so we call the front desk again and tell the lady and she says to go to the front desk to get the key for another room. i went down there and there's a key sitting on the desk with nobody around. so then, we get all our stuff and our son and move down to another floor. the jacuzi water is working this time but, the toilet won't flush. we were all pretty tired of switching rooms by then so we just went to bed. i will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the front desk clerk
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusOH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

My husband and I were traveling through Beckley on our way to North Carolina. We booked this room because they allowed dogs and they had a smoking room available. I have stayed in many smoking rooms but this one was really bad. The smell about knocked us over when we entered the room. (as my husband said, "the smoke of 1,000 smokers is in this room"!) The room was on the 3rd floor (no air conditioning in the hall ways). The bathroom was not very clean and the carpet had many stains on it. Several light bulbs were out. We thought, oh well, it's late and we are just passing through -- we will stay. At 1:00 a.m. we woke up to a terrible screaching sound that was the window air conditioner and it had to be turned off. Pay a little more and stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Beckley

Address: 2014 Harper Rd., Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Beckley 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Super 8
Beckley Super Eight
Super Eight Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.