We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms But Otherwise Very Lacking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms But Otherwise Very Lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

We used AAA to evaluate the property in Beckley and they said it was a 3 star location. We found the room to have been upgraded and it was more than adequate, but the overall facility was very old looking and nowhere near what a 3 star property should be.
There was no elevator and it was very difficult to get luggage up the narrow stairs. The stairs were very old looking and dimly lit.

The hallway on the second floor had new carpet, as did the rooms. The carpet was nice.

The breakfast area was SO SMALL that people could not get around each other to get food. There was minimal seating.

We got a rate over the internet of 63 dollars. The desk person made us feel guilty for not paying the "normal" weekend rate. It sounded like she was going to tell off the new girl that gave it to us over the phone.

Overall, I would rate this a 1 or maybe 2 star property. I would not stay here again, as there are better places in Beckley than this.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — accessibility
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    66
    59
    45
    36
See reviews for
91
78
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WV
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2006

I stay in Beckley frequently but this was my first stay at HoJo. The facilities were clean but that's about it. The pool is tiny. Our room was at the back of the hotel. If you stay on the back end of the hotel I recommend letting the water run 15 to 20 minutes if you want I HOT shower. I didn't know that and settled for a cool shower. :( I got a room with a king bed and it wasn't nearly as nicely decorated as it is in the photos on this site. The smell that greeted me when I walked in the lobby was of Pine Sol - clean but uninviting. The first thing I saw when I walked in the lobby was the breakfast nook with the chairs piled upside down on the tables - 3:30 in the afternoon.
If you're just looking for someplace clean and inexpensive to sleep - this is the place for you in Beckley. If you're looking for a bit of warmth try someplace else.

  • Liked — It was very clean and the girl at the front desk was friendly and knew her job.
  • Disliked — lack of "atmosphere"
  • Tips/Secrets — Run the water 15 minutes in order to get hot water for your shower or bath.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville, OH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2006

This was an impromptu stop. We were on our way to NC when my husband got sick mid route. So I quickly chose a place to stop for the day. This was around 11am so I was worried there wouldn't be a room available that early in the day. But the very nice clerk, Karen (I believe that was her name), had a ground floor, non -smoking, dbl beds room available and seemed genuinely concerned about our situiation and helped all she could.

By afternoon, and after a long nap, he was doing much better and by morning we were able to continue on to NC.

Our room was nice. Was clean enough (they missed the corners bad). Bed linen was clean and had no bugs.

I didn't realize they had a pool until I got home and see the other reviewers. Would of been too cold anyway.

They do have wireless internet and interior corridors. Several restaurants at this exit. A CVS is within site of this motel. From outside they looked alot cleaner and newer than the Comfort Inn next door which we considered but decided to go to HoJo due to how each place looked.

Breakfast was sort of disappointing. We had stayed at other HoJoX before and they had a larger variety including waffles. But at least at this location, my kids had a donut, OJ and some cereal and were fed so I am glad for that. It was better than nothing.

Would I stay here again? I probably would. Like I said, we were in a pinch and needed a room and they accommodated us. For that we are grateful.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2006

We were a group that had came in for a weekend of skiing, before we left, we had a meeting, house keeping knew that we were in the meeting and that it would last a while. While they were waiting for us to leave they went into one of our rooms, stole money out of a pocketbook. they have safes in the rooms, now we know why, to protect us from house keeping. Did not discover it until we had left, contacted management and they did very little if anything to help. Needless to say we have never received the money back.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2005

This hotel gave our family the creeps. It just looked and felt dirty and the beds felt dirty or had bugs or we don't really know. It was just not good. We felt gross staying at this hotel. That is the only way to describe it. The only reason they get 2 stars is my daughter forgot some clothes in a drawer and they mailed them to us. That was very nice of them. Breakfast and the pool were both a joke. The breakfast was gone in no time (we saw little children who had taken most everything running around with 6 and 7 doughnuts on their plates and everything else was stale) The pool was the funniest part about this hotel. It looked like they took two entries to a bigger pool (the stairs part) and joined them together. It was no kidding 8 feet long by 5 feet wide by 4 feet deep! Our family still has a laugh about it when we remember it. Its worth it just togo to Beckley to see the pool! NOT!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2005

I found this location a very good value for the dollar. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The room was very clean. I had no objection that it had only showers. The breakfast was definitely above average. The pool was clean and a proper temprature. The room was also very quiet. It is in a very accessable location. It was in a good, safe part of town. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2004

Booked this because we'd be passing through. It was relatively cheap and clean. No elevator and we were on the second floor...which is a pain with the bags. Continental breakfast was acceptable. AAA gave it a 3 star and that seems pretty generous. But in all, acceptable for a night passing through the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.