We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep looking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Oakville
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Keep looking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We needed a place to crash for the night on the way to Myrtle Beach. I booked this through Expedia Unpublished Rates, based on the 2 star rating. This is far from a 2 star property. The lobby bears no resemblance to the pictures on the web site, the entire place is very tired with a neglected air, stairwells were dirty, halls stuffy and we were given a smoking room, despite the confirmation from Expedia stating it was a non-smoking room. There is no ventilation in the room and the odour was so overwhelming, we could not stay. The front desk clerk stated that although he had a non smoking room available, he could not move us because Expedia had requested a smoking room. We went down the road to the Quality Inn, paid slightly more for a far superior hotel and found that Expedia refused to do anything for us. So we lost the money paid to Expedia and Expedia lost a customer. Terrible customer service.

Room Tip: If you are non-smokers, take a pass on this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    50
    35
    31
See reviews for
75
66
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartow
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My room was clean, the hotel was a little outdated, but excepted pets which I needed, my biggest complaint was the back entrance card reader was broken so you had to enter through the lobby which was a downfall because my room was all the way to end and that door would have been a bit more convenient to take my dog out of

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Exceptionally clean and wonderfully designed room. Microwave, fridge, desk two chairs, table, two beds, safe, very nice bath room. Only downside at all was a little bit noisy right before bed time but not disturbed during night. I was shocked how nice the room was for what I paid. Picked it because had coupon from hotel travel book and it had free wifi. Wonderful surprise. Would defiantly stay there again! Basic breakfast but was quick and free so good enough. Room was something I would have expected from much more expensive hotel.

Room Tip: I was on first floor near lobby which was continent for breakfast but may not have been the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Catharines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

we stay at this hotel on our way to Florida and on the return trip, the hotel is clean and nicely furnished rooms and if you can get a walk in rate from hotel coupons . com its a excellent deal. the breakfast area is small only 3 tables but adequate no waffle machine. give it a try and talk to sheila at the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Fine for our overnight en route to Johnson City, TN. Fair price. Older but renovated...rooms and bathrooms, at least. Lobby a little shabby. Along with hallway, smelled of cigarette smoke...welcome to West Virginia! We had a non-smoking room...no odor of smoke. "Breakfast" was vey basic...cereal, toast, coffee, juice, etc...nothing hot. Staff was friendly and helpful. Satisfied for the rate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;