We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False Ad & False Work!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    50
    35
    31
See reviews for
75
65
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendall
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Travelled a long distance and looked for two rooms upon our late arrival in West Virginia. The last two rooms in the area were at the Howard Johnsons. We were told they were smoking rooms but we were not prepared for how disgusting they were. Paid way too much for the quality we received. Good thing I won't be traveling in that area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Started out by picking this hotel because the website said verified as no charge for pets. Turns out they charged us a fee and the manager said he didn't care what our paperwork from the website said and he refused to refund us the $50 charge. The room was suppose to be non-smoking, but smelled like cigarette. Bathroom smelled like sewer. Very dirty, even the pillows smelled terrible. Definitely not worth the money. Will NEVER stay there again.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The shower was dirty, the TV only received one channel (night manager tried to correct), and my phone beeped and woke me up every 30 minutes. The bed was hard and the room was over-priced. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ok--so I know we should have planned ahead as usual and booked a room in advance, but this one takes the prize. Lots of weekend events and festivals in WVa, so our usual hotels were sold out along the way. Got late so we snagged what may have been the last room in Beckley. Checked in and headed for our 2nd floor room with luggage, only--surprise--no elevator, so we lug our stuff up the stairs. Got to "our" room, only to find it had been someone else's, with the bed messed up and then the last straw--the toilet had obviously been used and looked plugged up. Down, refunded and out we went.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.