We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Florida, USA
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Located right off the interstate. Decent price and decent room. The lady at reception during check-in was very friendly and helpful. Located right next door to a bank, restaurants right across street, quiet rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    69
    60
    46
    36
See reviews for
93
81
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice little Ho-Jo's well located for travellers to the mountains.

the rooms were clean and cool and the reception staff at check in and out were warm and friendly. We stayed here part way through a road trip and as it was raining we decided to stay in order a pizza and do the washing in the laundry provided. $1.50 per wash.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

No complaints. Appreciated on duty person allowing our use of travel coupon on Mon. of Memorial Day weekend. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast fine. Personnel friendly and helpful.

Found pillows so comfortable that peeked at Brand. THANK YOU FOR BUYING FROM AMERICAN MANUFACTURER !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Beckley on our way to Virginia Beach. We brought our dog, and this seemed to be the only one in town that accepted pets. We booked the hotel from the road with Travelocity, but, apparently, the guy on the phone couldn't understand us... credit card declined. Anyway, we fixed the card issue when we arrived at the hotel. The lady at the desk didn't seem very thrilled to see us. We asked for a king, no-smoking room... We received a double queen room. We were too tired to care. It isn't the nicest of places, but it looked clean, to me. If not traveling with a pet, I'm sure you can get a better room for the price. ~$90+ is a little high for the quality of room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

in route to picking my son up at virginia military institute in lexington, virginia, i was driving late and tired and pulled into this howard johnson express. the young fellow at the desk was very courteous, helped me with a room, gave me the best rate available, and i was off to dreamland within 30 minutes. the room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the halls were clean, and the lobby was clean. they had a free express breakfast, coffee, cereal, rolls, juice, milk; it hit the spot, and i was off to lexington by 6am. stop here if you need a place in the beckley area. you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: from what i could tell, none of the rooms have great views, but they all have clean windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Not easy to get out of parking lot and motel was not worth charge. Maybe more like $60 -$70 would have been a more realistic rate. 3 tables in breakfast area not much selection and no room to move about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is nice but we found a couple problems we first entered we were greeted very warmly however the room ehh few problems the left side of the bed had what appeared to be melted wax on the wal , and you can draw your own conclusions how it got there.a stained chair in the room looked absolutly disgusting . The last piece was a table with half the varnish missing and no drawer in it I feel its a comfortable stay for the price however the room could use some work . The management did say they were going to adress the problems as we advised them on the way out the next day

Room Tip: Complain if the rooms sucks demand another
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.