We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves its purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serves its purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Beckley on our way to Virginia Beach. We brought our dog, and this seemed to be the only one in town that accepted pets. We booked the hotel from the road with Travelocity, but, apparently, the guy on the phone couldn't understand us... credit card declined. Anyway, we fixed the card issue when we arrived at the hotel. The lady at the desk didn't seem very thrilled to see us. We asked for a king, no-smoking room... We received a double queen room. We were too tired to care. It isn't the nicest of places, but it looked clean, to me. If not traveling with a pet, I'm sure you can get a better room for the price. ~$90+ is a little high for the quality of room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    76
    65
    50
    38
See reviews for
108
84
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

in route to picking my son up at virginia military institute in lexington, virginia, i was driving late and tired and pulled into this howard johnson express. the young fellow at the desk was very courteous, helped me with a room, gave me the best rate available, and i was off to dreamland within 30 minutes. the room was clean, the bathroom was clean, the halls were clean, and the lobby was clean. they had a free express breakfast, coffee, cereal, rolls, juice, milk; it hit the spot, and i was off to lexington by 6am. stop here if you need a place in the beckley area. you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: from what i could tell, none of the rooms have great views, but they all have clean windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Not easy to get out of parking lot and motel was not worth charge. Maybe more like $60 -$70 would have been a more realistic rate. 3 tables in breakfast area not much selection and no room to move about.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is nice but we found a couple problems we first entered we were greeted very warmly however the room ehh few problems the left side of the bed had what appeared to be melted wax on the wal , and you can draw your own conclusions how it got there.a stained chair in the room looked absolutly disgusting . The last piece was a table with half the varnish missing and no drawer in it I feel its a comfortable stay for the price however the room could use some work . The management did say they were going to adress the problems as we advised them on the way out the next day

Room Tip: Complain if the rooms sucks demand another
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My sister and I were travelling and we desperately needed to find a place to stay for the night, as we were exhausted. We called the Howard Johnson's in Beckley, WV, as we were sitting in the parking lot. We wanted to see if they had the type of room we needed: smoking, two beds, first floor. We were told that they did, made the reservation and paid ($93.00 w/AAA discount). We go in to get our room key and are told that there are no rooms on the first floor, but they have one on the second floor and there is no elevator. No thanks. We left and stayed at the Hampton.

Howard Johnson's did call me back and I am going to receive a refund, but this was very stressful when you are looking for a place to stay at 10:00p and you've been on the road for nine hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

In April of 2013 we were traveling back from Myrtle Beach and got stuck in a flash snowstorm. We had a room booked in Charleston, but we knew we wouldn't make it. So we ended up getting one at Howard Johnson in Beckley. It's not the most fancy room you will ever see, but it served it's purpose for the night. A lot better looking than I pictured it to be.

Room Tip: Not bad for a quick stopover, restaurants are plentiful around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#10 of 15 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Beckley
Econo Lodge Beckley
#13 of 15 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#8 of 15 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.