We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a long tiring drive we arrived at this Howard Johnson to a room that had mysterious smell that lingered in the hallways and room. After checking in they moved us to a first floor room that had everything you never wanted to see in a hotel room. The sheets were dirty, the towels were VERY thin and the bath mat was ripped in two sections. The air conditioning unit had more lint/rust/mold in it then my clothes dryer has after a load of clothes. The iron board cover was so dirty (to the point that it should of been thrown out) and the dirt on the ironing board was unbelievable. Air dryer was half off the wall and hanging by the cords over the sink. A unique addition to the room was a kleenex doorstopper. There was a hole in the wall and a kleenex had been the filled in the hole. Martha Stewart would be proud!

It is unbelievable that this place is still open but I assume with the travelers going south or returning home it is a convenient place to exit and spend the night. The positive thing to note is that the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions . Other plus was the breakfast, coffee with juice and toast was very helpful but truthfully I will most certainly inform anyone going this way to not stop in here. Sleeping in the car would make much more sense.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    49
    33
    28
See reviews for
73
61
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PENETANGUISHENE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beckley is a good place to stop on our way to Myrtle Beach. We return to this motel each year. Howard Johnson is strategically located on our trip South to South Carolina.
We liked being able to stay on the first floor as it is more convenient for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naval P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for staying with us and keep coming back to us. We highly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOGANVILLE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My trip and stay was great yet the hotel was 1.5 hrs away from where I needed to go each day. I didn't realize that

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THORNHILL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beckley is a full day drive fron home on our spring and fall visits to South Carolina. Howard Johnson has been our go-to Motel with a reliable value package that suits our needs. Would be even better with a bit more choice at breakfast but have to give them full marks for the orange juice, cereals and muffins/donuts and coffee. Thornhill. Ontario couple

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.