We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely weird” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Definitely weird”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

What can we say? A box fan was on top of the desk and turned on when we entered the room. The desk clerk had no idea why. Air conditioning unit seemed to be working. We turned the fan off and put it on the floor.
No soap (except the used bar in the shower) no cups (either for coffee or water) and no plastic bag for the ice. There was a used bobby pin on the bathroom floor, however.
The towel rack fell out of the wall when we took the towels off it.
There are some positives - the bed was great and the pillows perfect. . so we had an unusually good night's sleep. No noise and the climate in the room was perfect.
Breakfast - the usual - donuts and cereal, coffee, etc. We declined.
One other drawback - we were on the 2nd floor and had to carry our luggage up the stairs and down the hall.
It is a great location - with plenty of eating places very near by and easy to get to.
Hotel staff -depends on who you talk to. Girl on check in didn't really seem to care - the young man when we left was polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor - there are no elevators and carrying luggage up stairs can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    59
    54
    35
    33
See reviews for
79
71
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We've stayed at this motel 5 times and have never had an unpleasant experience. The rooms are always clean, the beds are comfortable for a room at any price, the staff is always pleasant and the price is the best in the area. One caveat , if you don't get to breakfast more than 20 mins before the end time you might not have the greatest selection. From our past experiences we will continue to stay here on our way to NC to visit the grandkids!

Room Tip: Excellent pet freindly motel, would reccomend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on our trip from NC to OH. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean. It exceeded my expectations for the price. The hotel was older and not fancy, but a great value for stopping for a night's rest. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Spent Christmas Eve at this hotel. Entered hotel to a front desk worker who was watching tv and in street clothes (nothing to show he worked for the hotel). He was friendly and quickly got up to help me so check-in process went well. Rooms were clean. Woke up to a very basic continental breakfast. Didn't even see a staff member just someone sitting on a couch in the waiting area playing with his smart phone. When the phone rang, he answered it from sitting on the couch (the only way I knew he was staff was from him answering the hotel's cordless phone). Upon leaving, he looked at me from the couch to ask if I was checking out and still sat their!!!! It wasn't until I specifically asked him to get up for a receipt that he went behind the hotel's counter and it appeared I really inconvenienced him.
Hotel was not bad but staff were extremely unprofessional...perhaps they were just fill-ins since it was Christmas but I would not want my business being represented that way. This staff needs a major lesson in professional work behavior.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

The hotels was very dirty. The room door read "no smoking" yet it smelled like stale cigarettes. There were holes in the sheets, the towels were grey and the carpet felt damp. The stairwell smelled like urine We checked out after 15 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I arrived late due to my long drive! I was checked in by a guy who i couldnt understand he said he was from africa! I went to my room it was nasty sheets had stains on them and the toilet hadnt not been clean! I went back to tell the guy at the front desk and couldnt find anyone later my wife and me went and he came out of a room behind the desk he had all the lights off! I had tried my room phone he wouldnt answer! Then he said he couldnt give me new towels or sheets he said it wasnt his problem he was very rude! You could tell he had been asleep and the doors was open anyone could have walked in and killed me and my family! If you value your life dont stay here cause they dont care about safety cause they just sleep and they are so rude! And the place smells of mold!

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you value your life not safe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Room OK, did not feel clean - think they used a sticky cleaner on floors and surfaces. Old Motel. Wifi didn't work, TV remote didn't work and TV volume could not be raised above a whisper - had to use captions. Very little green space to walk dogs - all sloped and narrow. Dog rooms are at far end from green space, so dogs must be walked a half block over asphalt to grass. Hallway to outside full of old ACs and other equipment. Noisy. Would not stay again.
Girl at front desk and man putting out breakfast were very nice. Not much in the way of breakfast - the bare minimum.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.