We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Millington, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a old hotel that has been beautiful in its day. However, it was not as clean as it should have been. The breakfast was almost non existant. The first room they gave us the air cond. did not work , so we were moved to another room where the refrigerator didn't work, so they helped my husband move one from another room. The clerk at the front desk (a little gal from Africa) was wonderful, she couldn't do enough to make our stay confortable.

Room Tip: Nice room, not as clean as expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    58
    52
    35
    33
See reviews for
77
69
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk was so so friendly. Two ladies working wonderful as a team. When I made my reservation I had stated with the lady it was for a special occaison, when we got into our room they had the most beautiful roses on the bed side table. When we travel we will make sure we stay here and tell everyone we know about our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I reserved a room with King bed via BringFido.com, notifying the hotel that I was bringing a pet and would therefore pay the pet fee. On arrival, I was told that King bed rooms were not available for pets. Desk clerk claimed no knowledge of my reservation details, as the reservation was made via a third party.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Within 5 minutes of being in the room, our son's white sports socks with caked with dirt and BLACK on the bottoms. I can't even get them back to being white in the wash without bleaching them. How disgusting! I laid the comforters on the floor so that we would only walk on those instead of the carpet. The linens did not smell fresh nor did our limp pillows. I also felt very itchy while trying to fall asleep.....bed bugs?? The bathroom sink was nice (faux granite), but the tub and toilet were not cleaned prior to our arrival. I know this because there were pee stains under the rim of the toilet and circular rings on the shower ledges from someone else's shampoo or body wash spillage. We are nonsmokers yet, were put directly across from the smoking rooms....where a huge family of smokers were smoking with their doors open visiting each other. The security of the place is terrible....the back door was propped open with a stone overnight. Wish I would have known so I could have moved it, but discovered it early morning as we checked out before 7am.

Only stay at this hotel is it is absolutely necessary. I never wanted to leave a hotel more in my life. We wasted 107 dollars on that stay. Terrible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed overnight on our way to North Carolina and the room was disgusting. The room stunk, the front of all the dresser drawers were falling apart, the remote didn't work, cigarette burns on the bedspread, hole in the wall, and the side security entrance door was broken and the door was propped open the next morning. The place was overpriced and I would never stay there or recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

staff was friendly - hotel was clean - rooms were spacious - breakfast was good - enjoyed stay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundas ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel one night on our journey south, whilst we have stayed there twice in the past and found things quite O.K. This visit was a totally different experience. The reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient but the reception itself was really very unkempt. The bedroom looked o.k. and the bed looked clean but the bathroom vanity was quite dirty. The free continental breakfast left a lot to be desired and the area wasn't very clean. We would never stay there again and certainly would not recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley

Address: 1907 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beckley Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.