We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator, no auto doors” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1924 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No elevator, no auto doors”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Not good for a solo traveler seeking a quiet room. Sprawling older property with some upgrades; they seem to be trying hard with what they have to work with. I requested a quiet, upper floor room, not knowing there was no elevator and that I would need to park in the rear parking lot, go up steps to the keyed, manual door, and then up more steps to the room. (in the rain.)The room I was given was immediately adjacent to the stair well door, which was in no way quiet, and continued to be opened/closed through 3 a.m. Parking lot noise was also audible, even with room fan running continually.

Be aware that even if you book a main floor room, there is a floor below that (more stairs), and that the main entrance has two sets of manual doors that must be managed while moving luggage in and out.

The room seemed clean until I noticed hair in many places on the bathroom floor and in the sink. Made me question the cleanliness of everything if that much visible hair was left after "cleaning".

Front desk personnel were friendly, bed was comfortable, but had cube pillows instead of full size. Wi-fi worked fine, furniture was a little old/worn, room temperature was manageable, flat screen TV, breakfast looked standard for the class (didn't eat), but the coffee was really not good. Breakfast space seemed adequate.

It's raining as I prepare to leave, so I will be schlepping luggage down stairs and walking out in the rain to the end of the parking lot. The covered "pull-up" space in front is very small, and then there are those two sets of manual doors.

Room Tip: I can't think of a way to make this "good" if you are traveling solo. Corporate should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPettry, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review. All your comments are essential to educating our staff about good and bad service. We will ensure your feedback will be given to all. We hope you will give us another chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    33
    19
    2
See reviews for
37
34
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were stopping in Beckley on our way to Myrtle Beach and had booked a room at another hotel in town through Expedia. The booked room was uninhabitable and not at all the star rating stated by Expedia, so we had to look for an alternate. Fortunately the Quality Inn had rooms available, reasonable priced, large, bright, clean and fresh smelling. The on site restaurant had a roadhouse type menu with good, hot food, and friendly staff. The included breakfast was well stocked with a good selection of options. Would certainly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again very soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stopped here while traveling to a funeral in Indiana. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and had a fresh smell. Restaurant on site and the food was good. (Limited menu, but adequate) a complete bar was available. Would stay there and eat three again. Breakfast was included.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for the review. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay. We strive to make each stay a memorable stay and we look forward to serving you again. Thank you again for the great review.
Sincerely
Debbie Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Clean room and nicely updated. Stayed 1 night as a choice reward redemption. Our room was next to an entry and was a little noisy in the morning hearing people come and go. Overall a nice stay and we would defineately stay there again. Easy on and off I-77.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our team takes pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again
Sincerely
Debbie Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stopped here for one night on the way to our destination. We made a great choice staying here. I could not be more pleased with our room. It was large and very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a decent size with a large mirror, small wall-mounted hairdryer, and nicely-sized shower with good water pressure. We appreciated the foyer area which contained several hangers, an upper rack above it and a rack below for the suitcase. The room also featured a king size bed, a small chair with ottoman and a large desk. The breakfast in the morning was quite good, with hot scrambled eggs, perfectly cooked sausage links and fresh fruit. I thought it was a great value, considering that we have stayed at places not nearly as nice as this one and have paid more money for it. Not sure we would ever stop in the area again, but if we do we will know where to stay. It was clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
sincerely,
Debbie Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Over the years we have stayed at several hotels in Beckley as we travel through the area. This was our first time at the Quality Inn. The desk staff were courteous and informative. The (non-smoking) room was clean, neat and larger than many we have stayed in. The room appeared to have been updated relatively recently. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a nice size and also appeared to have been freshened. The breakfast was what I would expect (hot and cold choices) and the breakfast room was a good size. An attendant was on duty to replenish supplies and to tidy up.
The only negative in my opinion were the hallways. They are in need of fresh paint/wallpaper, so as not to detract from the overall impression of this hotel. However, as I spent about 3 minutes total in the hall this was not a significant concern. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. Our staff works very hard to make each stay a memorable one. Again thank you, it was a pleasure serving you.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Not the best choice in the area but not the worse either. The staff was friendly and attentive. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was the average fare for Choice Hotels. The rate was reasonable. Not sure if I would stay here again as there are other choices in the area that would be a better stay overall

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guest. Again thank you, it was a pleasure serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1924 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Beckley
Quality Inn Beckley
Beckley Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.