We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free full breakfast, comfy rooms for an older hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1924 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Saint Petersburg
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Free full breakfast, comfy rooms for an older hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

Booked through Choice Hotels 800# on the road.. Property is older but extremely well maintained. Professional check in, nice clean heated pool, quiet night, and I must say a very very nice breakfast, complete with real eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, french toast sticks, fresh coffee delivered to the table, as is anything you want that is on the buffet.

Could be a perfect stop if you can stomach the limited restaurants, i.e., Outback Steakhouse, Applebees, Pizza Hut, etc.

Would highly recommend, and I don't do that much.

  • Liked — staff, quality of breakfast
  • Disliked — building age but that wasn't really a complaint
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    30
    18
    2
See reviews for
33
30
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

I stayed here June 22nd and 23rd after leaving the Honda hoot in Knoxville.
I was surprised that it was a full service hotel with room service it's own restaurant and a bar.
The check in was friendly, and I was shown where the various attractions in Beckley were. The room was dated but clean, and smelled fresh.
I only used the Restaurant for breakfast and found it quite good the buffet was well stocked, plenty of eggs and bacon, the biscuits and gravy were good too.
I used the bar and found the lady running it to be friendly as were the other customers who were intrigued as to why an Englishman was in West Virginia on vacation.
There is plenty to see and do in the area you can even go down a coal mine.
I would use this hotel again as it is a convenient stoppover when travelling US19.

  • Liked — clean and quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

We used the Quality Inn as a lay-over on our way south, checking in around 10pm. What we liked: the gentleman at the front desk was courteous and efficient, and they provided a crib for our 5 month old at no extra charge. That's about all we liked though.

This hotel is very old, and its age shows. Our first impression upon entering the facility is that it smells like an armpit. The hallway and our guest room were very humid.. and judging from my allergy attack, there was a lot of mold growing. The entire hotel (aside from the lobby) was dark.. perhaps trying to hide the fact that the carpet and walls were filthy. Our bathroom was cramped, and couldn't have been updated in 20 years. Breakfast was included.. but it consisted of all fried greasy foods and was not nearly the quality we've had at other hotels.

Overall, I was unimpressed with this hotel. I felt that our room was way over-priced, and did not live up to our expectations of the Quality Inn brand. We will not patronize this location again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Just about everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

We loved this property. We stayed here 2 nights because we loved the room service so much. I have no complaints about this property. Is it rare indeed that I can say that. From the staff to the rooms to the restaurant...we loved it all!

  • Liked — The Room Service
  • Disliked — Hated To Leave
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

Excellent hotel with the most amazing restaurant called Morgan's. Your stay includes a great buffet breakfast serviced by the friendliest hostess you could ever hope for. All hotel staff members are top quality & they seem to truly love their jobs. The hotel common areas & rooms are always spotless. We stayed here in early 2007 and were so impressed, we made a point to stop on this trip, even though we were only 3 hours from home! We love this hotel!

  • Liked — The staff members' pride in their work & Morgans
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILTON HEAD ISLAND
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

Okay for the price. Older motel with small clean room and rather noisy heater. Quick check in by Verna. Nice breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noisy heater.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

Nice enough. Staff seemed to care, e.g. place was clean, gardens were tended to, etc. Nothing fancy, just an effective 2.5 star hotel. The pool looked very nice for older kids. Breakfast was fine, although double fried pancakes dont tingle my northern blood! Would stay again. Fine. Staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — convenient, low risk, highway hotel
  • Disliked — breakfast was simple
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1924 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Beckley
Quality Inn Beckley
Beckley Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.