We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1924 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Orlando FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Inn was obviously older, but well maintained. Our room was immaculate. The biggest and best surprise was the breakfast. They served REAL scrambled eggs! Not reconstituted, microwaved, or otherwise amended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    35
    20
    3
See reviews for
37
35
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for four days while visiting family in September 2011, having stayed there before. The biggest issue during this visit was that the security door to our level wasn't secure at all since there was no lock on the door. That meant anyone could enter the hotel. The shower didn't work in our bathroom the first morning. We reported it and it was repaired, but after that the tub leaked very loudly, meaning that we had to keep the bathroom door closed at night. The housekeeping was spotty. We got one bar of soap for both the sink and the bathtub. I used my own soap in the tub. When we returned that evening, both soaps were gone and replaced by one bar. There were only two towels available. Several of the days, the towels were replaced but there were no wash cloths. We got them by going to the front desk, but that's a pain in the neck. We used cups, but they weren't always replaced, and the coffee, coffee cups and supplies weren't replaced consistently either. On a previous visit, the hair dryer caught fire when I turned it on. We also stayed there when the restaurant was being remodeled and the breakfast was served in the lobby. The bar is filled with rowdy locals and smoke-filled, so it's not really a good place to go if you're traveling. We also stayed there in February when the hotel was filled with teenagers on ski trips, who stayed up partying in the hall unsupervised most of the night, and nothing was done to quite them. I don't understand the review from gborotraveler about it being a pet friendly hotel, since they made it quite clear that pets were not welcome at all. There is not elevator so if your room is on a second floor you have to drag your bags upstairs. The breakfast is better than most, though, with lots of choices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceana, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

As a road warrior, I found the wifi really slow for work related stuff. As long as I was checking email I was okay but any work that requires even a decent amount of bandwidth was a problem. The room was decent, clean and the bed was comfortable. I stay here often and will stay again. There is a bar but the restaurant may be closed, although the breakfast was hot and of good quality for a hotel like this. All in all I think it is a good place to stay, just try to get a good price. A lower price takes the edge off of the little things that are showing their age around the property.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors and/or toward the back of the building are quieter. Bar is on top floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed on a Friday night on a car-trip down to the Carolinas, based on room availability and price. It's a little cheaper than the Marriott next-door, but I wouldn 't call it a good value. The decor is old and dingy. Several dark, icky stains on our carpet in the room. Old TV set with poor picture quality. The king bed was not very comfortable. The restaurant was closed for remodeling. Party-goers made loud noise in the hallway late at night. A hot breakfast was included with the room rate, but since their dining room was closed, the food was served in the cramped front lobby and there was no room to sit. When we returned to our room carrying our breakfast on a paper plate, we found ourselves locked out of our room. There was a good ice machine in the hall and the coffee they served for breakfast was pretty good, but all things considered, we cannot recommend this place.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011 via mobile

Carpet in halls is awful. Some earlier reviews are positive, but it seems to have fallen. Rooms are very dated, parking limited, the restaurant listed is closed for renovation, breakfast is in hotel lobby-very crowded, food not so great. We had some service issues and the staff were not all that helpful. Insufficient towels- 1 bath,1hand,1 washcloth per guest (2guests), no others at all. One small bar of soap for both the sink and the tub. Rates were OK, ESP since we got an additional discount because of hot water problems, TV too dark and couldn't be adjusted.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Quality Inn is located in a great location. It's easy to find right off the interstate. It is a little tricky trying to get in and out of the parking lot though. At night there is hardly any parking, few outside entrances and no lights in the parking lot. As a solo traveler this is a little unsettling. The hotel on the inside is like a maze. There are a lot of ups and downs and turns and will easily confuse someone. There were establishments nearby that were open late and the partiers were a little roudy in the halls. The walls are paper thin so you you can hear everything. The decor of the hotel is dated and could use improvement. The hotel was clean and so were the linens. It wasn't the most comfortable bed to sleep in but it worked for a night. The front staff was friendly but it took forever to check in. They allowed smoking in the lobby. The hotel did not seem to be easily handicap accessible. The bathroom was rather small and fixutres were dated. The room smelled old and looked like it was straight out of 1983. If desperate I'd stay again but go to the Holiday Inn down the street instead.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

To say something good first, there were enough towels in the room, and the air conditioner was on, so the room was comfortable. HOWEVER, the decor was very outdated, the room smelled a bit, the bathroom was gross and dirty in the corners, the hallway carpet was soiled and hallways were dingy. Walls were thin and neighbors were loud. It was advertised as full breakfast, but upon arrival, found out the regular breakfast area was being remodeled, and food was setup in the lobby. We were there as soon as breakfast was served (6 AM), and it's a good thing, because the food was not being kept warm in chafing dishes. The food was ok, but limited. Don't think it was worth the money we paid for the room. There are other hotels in the area that are much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1924 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located right off I-77. All Rooms include Wireless and Hard wired internet and Easy Outlet with USB Chargers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Beckley
Quality Inn Beckley
Beckley Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.