We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Beckley to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1909 Harper Rd., Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terribly Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I certainly was not expecting a five star hotel when booking my stay here, but I did expect the minimum amenities to be satisfied. We chose this hotel because they are pet friendly, which is true and the hotel featured a nice grassy area for our puppies to do their business and get in some fun. Upon entering the bathroom I realized that the door was not cut to fit the door frame and subsequently would not shut, nor lock, nor provide any form of privacy. The toilet was covered in the previous guests urine as well. The final nail in the coffin, however, came while playing with my dogs on the floor. One of them ran near one the beds and I heard glass clink. Upon lifting up the bed skirt I found several empty beer bottles from the previous guest. The room was terribly filthy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dakota M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for responding to the survey. We are sorry you were disappointed during your stay.
We are in a renovation process which has just begun and will be ongoing for awhile. Hope that when you are passing this way in the future you will stop in and view our remodeled rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hilton Head
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

When searching while driving, we read some negative reviews. We feel we needed to "right the wrong". This motel had everything we were looking for--clean room, great mattress, warm shower, good location, adequate breakfast, pleasant staff & allowed pets at no extra charge. Our room had been remodeled recently. Great for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilesToGo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your positive comments about our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our updated rooms. Please come again when passing this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

It is a place to stay for a decent price. The breakfast is not an option though. Rooms are clean. We did visit the Tamarak, which was pretty cool. They also had plenty of places to eat while in town. The New River Gorge is close and very work a look.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments about our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the attractions our state offers. Please come again .Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had read other reviews before deciding to stay here on our way to Virginia and were not disappointed. The staff was friendly. The room (412) had no view but we didn't arrive til after 10 p.m. and left early the next morning, so no big deal. The room included a fridge, which we always appreciate. We had breakfast at I-Hop across the street since it was my hubby's birthday and we didn't want a motel breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booklover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very pet friendly. Good Rates. Clean and re-modeled room. Good customer service from staff. Next to a cemetry, but grounds are keep up and clean. Good destination for site seeing in southern section of West Virginia.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Size Bed and newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are glad your family and your dog enjoyed your stay! We enjoyed serving you and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room we stayed in was not clean and smelled. Also, the structure of the room was in poor condition. For example, I could not lock my bathroom door and I had to push very hard the front door of my room for it to close. Stay away if you have allergies. This is not an allergy friendly hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 1991mtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We are so sorry your stay was an unpleasant one. We are now involved in renovations and hope that you will stop by to check our fresh look. Hope you have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beckley hotels

Rougemont
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We looked for a hotel in the area that was pet friendly without breaking the bank! We read the reviews and they were very helpful.We were very happy with our choice and we are planning to stay here the next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments about our hotel! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Beckley
Travelodge Beckley
#10 of 14 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
3.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Beckley
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Beckley

Address: 1909 Harper Rd., Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Beckley is conveniently located near Exit 44, I-64/77 in Southern West Virginia. A variety of quality restaurants, outdoor activities, recreation and shopping are located near the hotel. The hotel offers interior/exterior corridors rooms. 24-Hr Front Desk. Free Continental Breakfast from 6:30-9:30am. Near to Winter Place ski resort. PETS STAY FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing