We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Beckley

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1909 Harper Rd., Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was a motel that we found in hotelcoupons.com booklet, found at a WV rest stop. This room was on a third floor with an outdoor entrance and a stairway to reach. The room was in good repair and clean. For the price we were satisfied. This motel was pet friendly in all rooms. We didn't notice anything like smell or discomfort in our room, but don't like sharing rooms with other people's dogs. Good value for pet lovers. Breakfast was just OKay. Didn't like the tip jar in the breakfast room. Desk staff was not all that friendly.

Room Tip: Handicapped and people that don't want to share room with someone elses pets should look elsewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We do have an elevator to reach the upper floors and also have a total of 7 handicap accessible rooms, 5 of which are all new. (2 of these have rollin showers with oversized bathrooms and queens beds. Please feel free to call us directly for reservations during your next stay if you require a ground floor room. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    32
    14
    9
See reviews for
48
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The place was not fancy but was clean and well priced with my AAA card ($70 which includes taxes). The room was clean and the bathroom was modern. For the price and the convenience this is good. Also, the breakfast was included which was basic, cereal, boiled eggs, pastries, toast, etc. The coffee was good. All the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise. See you again on your next trip to Beckley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the good reviews but were disappointed. Room was in poor condition. Sink was stained, tub was either cracked or had lots of hairs in it., I didn't want to look that closely at it. Bathroom door and frame needed painted. Room seemed very small with little room to walk around. There was no closet, instead an armoire that rattled every time someone walked past it. We had a dog but there was no space for her bed in the room.

On the positive side room did have a microwave and refrigerator. They did not charge a pet fee.

We could hear the people next door starting at 5:30 a.m. slamming both their room door and car doors for at least 45 minutes. Finally, at 6:00 a.m. we gave up trying to sleep, packed the car, and left. I would spend a little more money for a better quality hotel. This hotel definitely lived down to the Econo Lodge reputation.

Maybe we were given a room in poor condition because we used a travel coupon for our room and did not pay full price. We travel from Pennsylvania to South Carolina frequently but this was the first time we did not make the 12 hour trip in one day. Next time I would either pick another hotel or keep driving.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for commenting on our facility. I do apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Check in and out is easy. Rooms clean & adequately furnished. Not a dog pound! We had a good nights sleep, a good complimentary breakfast and on our way! It was rainy when I took my dog out so the desk clerk offered up an umbrella. So nice. Great cemetery next to the property to walk through. Pick up after your pet and everyone is happy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are so happy that you found your room clean and comfortable, We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we are glad it was just that. First, when we arrived at the hotel, the staff was friendly and helpful, but the lobby smelled of smoke. We got to our rooms (we booked 2) and found wrappers in one room and the mini-fridge not working in the other. Online it lists the beds in the rooms to be queen-sized; however, they are definitely doubles. The beds were felt old and worn. The room itself smelled like pets and smoke (in a nonsmoking). Also, in one of the rooms, the TV would go from OK to static in an instant.

The next morning we tried to use the exercise room. It reeked of mold and/or mildew. It was so bad that I could only be down there for a few minutes.

Another thing to keep in mind is that there is no elevator in the main part of the hotel.

Breakfast was pretty basic with some breads, cereals, and juice. Some of it tasted good, some of it... not so much.

Overall, the staff was friendly enough, but the hotel is just too worn-out and stinky for my tastes. I wouldn't go back and will be avoiding hotels that allow smoking in any part of the hotel from now on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I do apologize for your disappoint with our facility. We will use your comments to help us improve the service we provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

we have stayed at this hotel before and always had good service. I especially like the fact there is no pet fee. the only problem we had this time that there were no tissues in the room and I had to ask for another roll of toilet tissue.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are glad you and your pet enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed serving you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have 2 Great Danes and a beagle and finding a hotel let alone an affordable hotel is sometimes next to impossible. This place allowed all 3 for no additional cost and was about $70 for the night. Rooms are dated but clean. Management was every friendly. The included breakfast was also good.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA W, General Manager at Econo Lodge Beckley, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
I am glad you and your fur babies enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in Beckley again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Beckley

Address: 1909 Harper Rd., Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Beckley 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Beckley is conveniently located near Exit 44, I-64/77 in Southern West Virginia. A variety of quality restaurants, recreation and shopping are located near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Beckley Hotel Beckley
Beckley Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.