We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Beckley

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1939 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Beckley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    29
    8
    17
See reviews for
29
25
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived at the property late at night so were left without other options. We had two rooms and both were terrible. There were dead bugs on the floor of the room and both of them smelled awful. There was the standard breakfast available the next morning but I had no intention of anyone from my family eating anything that was prepared in someplace so dirty. On the bright side, at least the towels smelled of bleach so they had a better chance of being clean.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvarmywife, Manager at Travelodge Beckley, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I can assure you that we take every review seriously and will definitely be looking into every one of your concerns. We do regret that you did not have an enjoyable experience and hope that you will give us another chance if you should find yourself in our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This complaint is about Housekeeping and Maintenance & the WIFI
After I checked in I had to call the front desk about the cleanliness of the room it had not been vacuumed and the bathroom floor had heir in the corners. And there were insects flying around after I woke up from a nap.
And the door did not securely lock; when I would shout the door from the inside it would not catch and stay securely closed it could be pushed/pulled open without having to turn the door handle. The only way to keep the door closed from the inside was to lock the dead bolt lock.
And the WIFI signal was very week.
Also there was not phonebook or a list of restaurants nearby. Or a TV channel list
$64.40 is a lot to pay for this room in this condition.
I will not stay in this hotel again nor would I tell a friend about it. In fact I would tell people NOT to stay in this location.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvarmywife, Manager at Travelodge Beckley, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. I can assure you we take each and every review seriously and will absolutely investigate the issues you mentioned. We are very sorry your experience at our property was less than enjoyable. Please accept our apologies and we hope that you will give us another chance should you find yourself in our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Walked into room carpet and chairs were full of dark stains. Carpet was so old it should be replaced. Room extremely dated.
This room was not acceptable I believed previous comments from other trip advisor's and was very surprised how bad it was Did not even stay for free breakfast. Really Disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvarmywife, Manager at Travelodge Beckley, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We are so very sorry that you had a bad experience at our property. We do strive to keep up with all guest reviews and complaints and will most definitely look into the issues you have mentioned. Again, we are very sorry about the experience you had while at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Comfortable and clean. Able to have dog for a reasonable $7/night. Good continental breakfast. Quiet and got a great night's sleep. We stayed here last spring and they didn't have wifi, but it was available this year. Staff not overly friendly.

Room Tip: There is the main building and another two floor building. We prefer the main building for access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvarmywife, Manager at Travelodge Beckley, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are very glad you were happy with the accommodations and that you had your pet with you (we all love animals). I am sorry to hear the staff wasn't overly friendly. Generally, everyone on our staff is very nice, friendly and outgoing. I hope this doesn't hinder your decision to stay with us should you find yourself in our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

April 25-26 $53 2 Doubles

Wow. Trip Advisor really came through on this one! What a deal on a clean spot for a quick overnight stay foe very lil money.

Hotel sits behind an omlette shop you can walk to and about 4 other places you can eat within walking distance.

Yes, it is not the Hilton, but its clean, a/c tv fridge and micro all work, clean and fairly new.

CLEAN - all the way around: bathroom, towels, beds, floor, lobby all nice.

Check in quick
Reserved online, no problems

Tips: girls dont know much about internet access, its free- plus but u best know how to hooked up on your on, they will give u password, you have to know how to do it from there.

Phone, take ur cell phone in

Hot is hardly ever used, take ur suit

Applebees nearby - avoid like the plague
IHOP - great ask for Amber

Extra towels are no bother

Get up and get out before check out. They are wonderful about it but when times up, time is up.

Many rooms u can park and walk right in so if yoy are a heavy packer like me request one of those. You literally can back up to the door and throw your stuff in the room

If u prefer rooms inside meaning access from and interior hall, they have those to in the main building

I felt very safe, welcome and clean

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvarmywife, Manager at Travelodge Beckley, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so very much for the glowing review. I am extremely glad that you were happy and felt safe and comfortable. We strive to take care of our guests and I hope you will visit us the next time you are in Beckley. We would be more than happy to have you stay with us again. Thanks so much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Beckley

Address: 1939 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn Beckley)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Beckley 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Travelodge Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Beckley Hotel Beckley
Best Western Beckley
Four Seasons Beckley
Beckley Best Western
Beckley Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.