We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked in to used room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Barboursville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Barboursville to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Barboursville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Mall Rd, Barboursville, WV 25504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barboursville
1 review
“Checked in to used room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Checked in tonight. 1st room had no been cleaned after the previous guest!! Other guest was complaining about no maid service tonight as I checked in so clearly it was not just a one room mishap. Second room they tried to check me in had no working air - just a box fan! Front desk clerk (young) was not even aware of it! Wonder where the management oversight is! Traveling late so took the 3rd room offered ; otherwise would have left!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gratefulguest43, General Manager at Comfort Inn Barboursville, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear 2Gsmom -

Thank you for your recent comments and stay with the Barboursville Comfort Inn. I'm very sorry to hear of the situtaion you experienced while staying with us and I'm glad that Justin, the young man from the desk, was able to get you into a room in the end that met with your satisfaction.

I've addressed these issues as it was clearly a lack of communication between our departments as to which rooms were available and which were not to be sold on that Sunday night and am confident that moving forward we will not see this same mistake happen again.

You will find an adjustment made to your stay as I was made aware of the issues but was unable to see you to discuss them before you checked out.

Again, I apologize that your stay started off with so many challenges and I hope that if you are returning to the area you stop in again so that we can do a better job in meeting your lodging needs. Please call me directly with any further concerns or if you are returning so that I can make your reservation personally and the hotel's phone number is 304-733-2122.


Cordially,

Bryan Foster
Property Support Manager - Barboursville Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    23
    6
    10
    5
See reviews for
28
17
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Was very happy with our stay. Large room, very clean & fresh, friendly staff and a great night's sleep! Reception staff were very welcoming. Breakfast room well stocked. Great to have a guest laundry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Have stayed here several times in the past and am staying there now. It has always been a good stay. Great staff and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gratefulguest43, General Manager at Comfort Inn Barboursville, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank-you for the kind words. It was a pleasure to serve you.
My staff and I invite you to visit us once again.
We take extra steps in making all of our valued guests comfortable and well rested with a nice hot breakfast the following morning.
Again, Thank You for the response.
ALonzo York, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My family and I are currently in this horrible place and I can not wait to leave. First appearances just seem like it is a outdated hotel. However they have proven me wrong, it also has horrible service and accommodations.

Upon entering my room, there is obvious water damage on the walls and ceiling. I find a letter on the table informing me they will be cleaning the carpets during my stay. Basically more strangers from an outside company will be entering my room. This information was not provided up front or I would not have stayed here as I am not comfortable with this at all.

I returned from being out for a good part of the day expecting my room to be cleaned. The comforter had just been pulled up over the sheets. I also found my sons blanket and stuffed animal on the floor. I went to the front desk to have them come in to see it and the supposed executive house keeper was trying to intervene. I showed them the bed and her excuse was "the wind must have blowed it over". Seriously?!?!? What wind?? The housekeeper then proceeded to argue with me, telling me she picked my things up off the floor. Yes, argue with me!! The desk clerk just stood there and I told the housekeeper to get out of my room, now!!! The desk clerk did absolutely nothing other than wish me a great evening. What a joke!! I have yet for the manager to come see me as they supposedly were going to do.

The beds are very lumpy and the mattresses pitted. Both my children am comment that they felt like they were going to roll out into the floor. The indoor pool is ok except the ventilation is awful. Your eyes and throat burn from chlorine jut tilting in the area, not even getting in the pool.

Save your money and go elsewhere. No one at this establishment cares about your comfort or anything else for that matter.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gratefulguest43, General Manager at Comfort Inn Barboursville, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I would like to sincerely apologize for your terrible experience while at my Comfort Inn In Barboursville West Virginia.
I completely understand your frustrations and I assure proper measures have been taken to never have this happen to a future guest.
I use this trip advisor as a tool in guest relations and services to learn where I need to focus, and I am very distressed you found my hotel below expectations.
I would like to invite you personally to please use my services again and allow me to show you true hospitality. I have met with both my staff members, and I have also personally inspected the room you were in during your stay, and as I assured earlier, I have taken proper measures that this will not happen in the future,
again I appreciate your repsponse and give you my most sincere apologies.
Alonzo York, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barboursville hotels

pikeville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

toilet had issues and wouldnt flush, not even water, tv would not work properly, shower head leaked, bad odor in the room and hallways, dogs barking, ticks in the room (from pets that had been there before), wifi is no better than dial up, the room ceiling was dirty from leaks, the furniture was dusty and could not have been cleaned prior to our stay. the indoor pool is only 3.5ft deep over the entire pool. good for kids but for a full grown 6ft tall adult that depth is not acceptable. i booked for 2 nights, canceled the 2nd night after being there for less than an hour. tried to book another hotel once i got there but no vacancy at the other nearby hotels. the location is good and the bed was comfortable, but there is no way i would ever stay at this hotel again. they could not pay me to stay again. horrible!!!

Room Tip: i highly suggest the nearby holiday inns and suites! best hotel i have ever been to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn Barboursville, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
In response to the complaint titled "Horrible"
It honestly sounds as if we failed you completely as one of our valued guests.
I would like to sincerely offer apologies, and to assure you this is not my standards.
I make special and sincere efforts to maintain above and beyond the standards in place from Choice Hotels International and our Hotels Management Group.
I maintain acceptable scores from our audits and inspections and also maintain and have maintained for many years a Green status from Choice Hotels international's Performance Zones Program. ('Green' means Good standing).
I Will pay special attention to my pet friendly rooms, and make certain the rooms are maintenance ready and supervise more closely to prevent this type problem.
again, I offer sincere apologies, and invite the dis-satisfied guest to please give me another chance to serve you and to regain your confidence in my Hotel, Management Group and Choice Hotels International
Alonzo York, Jr.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Great room, great price and they love dogs. I wasn't even charged the $20 pet fee because she loved my Boston terrier. Said she can't understand a pet fee when kids can sometimes do worse than a pet and they don't charge for kids. Only issue was hair dryer didn't work but I'm sure they will get it fixed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gratefulguest43, General Manager at Comfort Inn Barboursville, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind words, and yes most, if not all my staff are pet lovers. We welcome most pets with open arms, and will give them loving attention. I cannot help but to laugh at the children comment in your note; however appropriate or not for my staff member to make this comment, I still find it a chuckle.
Please I ask that you continue to use my hotel and our services when in the area.
It was a sincere pleasure to have you as our valuable guest.
Alonzo York, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We made reservations at this hotel and had to cancel due to a change of plans. We were given a cancellation number and was told that everything was taken care of by a very nice, incompetent Comfort Inn employee. He did not put our cancellation in and costs us over a $100 in charges. When I called the hotel to find out what was going on, I was, very politely, told "tough, get over it" . We have stayed at Comfort Inn in other places and have never been treated like we were here. Good luck with the poor customer service!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Barboursville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Barboursville

Address: 249 Mall Rd, Barboursville, WV 25504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Barboursville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barboursville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Barboursville 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barboursville Comfort Inn® is ideally located off Interstate 64, behind the Huntington Mall. This Barboursville hotel is minutes from the Blenko Glass Company, Marshall University, Huntington Junior College and Camden Park. The Tri-State Airport / Milton J. Ferguson Field is 19 miles away. Guests of this hotel can enjoy full-service amenities, including free breakfast, free USA Today and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Guests will also enjoy the indoor heated pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Barboursville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barboursville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Barboursville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.