We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, good wine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Lake Winery

Silver Lake Winery
1500 Vintage Road, Zillah, WA 98953
(509) 829-6235
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 13 Attractions in Zillah
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great views, good wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently visited during the Red Wine & Chocolate weekend. The reserve wines they were offering were good, but pricey. They paired each with a treat (including a chocolate dipped jalapeno chip!). We had visited Silver Lake a few years ago and tried some of their other wines, which were also good, and more affordable. We didn't buy anything this time around.

The location is great - up on the hill and just beautiful views. If you have the time, it looked like a great place to picnic and enjoy some wine.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Come here for the views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I've been to a ton of Wineries in Walla Walla, Yakima, Oregon & Napa. First - it is important to understand the Yakima or Rattlesnake Hills AVA is not the region that produces world class Wines. Don't come here if you want to compare Wines to Napa. Here is what you come here for -

Yakima/Zillah is about 2-3 hours from Seattle, it is a great place with a few Wineries. Buy a bottle or two, sit down in the front lawn - Enjoy the Wine + Sun. Ideally - if you bring someone to eat that works well. Silverlake will sometimes have food. Usually they have Live Music.

Try the Syrahs here, better than the rest. What I can say is that Silverlake is one of the two Wineries in Yakima/Zillah that provide a great experience. The other one being Bonair.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great winery with the best view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have always liked Silver Lake wine but had never been to the winery. Great view, better than any other that I could find in the valley. They were also serving food, it was $12 for a fairly casual meal which seemed like a high price and it was just ok but being able to sit on the patio there listening to music and drinking wine was outstanding! So pretty, defiantly bring your camera. I also don't think they have food every weekend but it was an event on the website.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

A friend recommended this winery as her favorite. It is a bit of a drive but well worth it. The idyllic setting alone is worth the visit--peaceful and soothing. There is a water feature on the grounds overlooking the valley. The wine tasting is great. Although we didn't experience it, there are bar-b-ques, and festivities on many weekends. Loved it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track, but worth the trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Some distance off the Yakima Valley Highway, but a nice tasting room, a good selection of reasonably priced wines, and a patio and picnic area with a lovely view of the vineyards below.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Lake Winery also viewed

 

Been to Silver Lake Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Lake Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.