We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost Reservation, No Compensation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Wood Bed Breakfast and Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zillah
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cherry Wood Bed Breakfast and Barn
3271 Roza Drive, Zillah, WA 98953   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Zillah B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lost Reservation, No Compensation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked this over 3 months ago, and as many other reviewers have mentioned, the booking was all informal and over email, with no official security deposit, etc. When we arrived the hostess said our reservation was actually for the night before. It took a while to finally get her to view the original email thread and admit she had scheduled us wrong. She kept insisting that in 11 years of hosting, she had never once made a mistake, but I get the impression she will go back to saying that again to people the very next day, pretending our incident never happened. When she finally realized she had double-booked our tee-pee, she wasn't very apologetic, even tho at this point she'd spent considerable time acting like she didn't believe us and we were stupid, and also seemed to just want to give the room to the other person even tho we were the first to arrive! I suspect this is just because the other person had booked two nights so in her mind he was more important. In any case, as ridiculously frustrating as it was to drive 3 hours from Seattle for this special evening which was ruined, if she had just apologized and offered us a free stay on a different night then I'd be waiting to write a potentially much better review about the place itself, but as it is I think our experience warrants a 1 star review.

The hostess seemed pretty oblivious and in a state of self-denial about having done anything wrong, and obviously her email and scheduling skills are poor. I agree with debmykar's review when stated, "Overall we got the impression that the owner does not really check on things and is riding on the impression that her place is awesome- but it really is more like the idea is great but without a skilled host it does not get there and would benefit from a professional hand to smooth the very rough edges.". Sounds like exactly the impression we got.

If you're still going to go here anyway, my biggest advice would be to double-check with Pepper, the hostess, to ENSURE that she has booked you on the right day. If you get the right day, and the weather is nice, you'll probably still be fine.

Room Tip: Double-confirm your reservation because it may be lost with their extremely informal booking style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed here for two nights recently and it was absolutely wonderful. I've loved horses since I was a child, and eastern Washington is one of the most beautiful places on earth, so this was a perfect match for me. The teepees are indeed plush! Very comfortable and warm beds, a beautiful carpet, outdoor seating with incredible views and the most gracious hostesses on earth. The breakfasts are wonderful - great coffee is a must in my book and here it is limitless! Take an outdoor bath - it was an indescribably beautiful experience. I had had a very long and dusty day, the wind was blowing, but I took my bathrobe and towel down to the claw-foot tubs and had a gorgeous bath under the stars. If I could have taken a picture I would, but it's an experience that you absolutely must try. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a unique, outdoors experience with a luxury/adventure component.

Room Tip: I stayed at the Lone Star, which is slightly more private than the other teepees, although they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

What a fantastic experience! Horseback riding through beautiful vineyards and cherry orchards with stops at three wonderful wineries for tasting! The exquisite Tee Pees are a complete surprise and luxury for a wonderful night's sleep, with an outdoorsy adventure appeal. Waking up to a white table cloth breakfast outdoors is fabulous, and we had the best coffee we ever - the owner explained she does her own custom blend from several Starbucks blends. I would recommend it to any group of girls looking for a unique and fun experience or to a couple looking for some romance.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at Cherry Wood for two nights with my husband in October. Pepper and Terry were incredibly friendly. The teepee was very nice, and the electric blanket it kept us warm at night when the temperate drops. The outdoor showers weren't so fun in the rain, but otherwise were fine and the water water got nice and hot. Breakfasts were great. You have to do the horseback ride winery tour. It was very fun, and you can tell just how much they really care about the horses (most have been rescued). Pepper had plates and utensils so that we could cook dinner over the fire, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Hands-down, our visit to Cherry Wood was one of our most fantastic travel experiences to date. The only thing more beautiful than the surroundings was the kindness of our hosts Pepper, Tiffany, Terry & Ryan.
My husband & I chose Cherry Wood for the horseback wine trail ride. We will return for the graciousness, beauty and hospitality.
We were assigned to the Lone Star teepee, which was well appointed with warm fleece robes, fresh, clean towels and bed linens, and additional blankets to keep warm. Yes, you're in a teepee but the microfridge, electric blankets and bedside lamps take the edge off of the rustic surroundings. We had stunning views of the mountains to keep us entertained while we enjoyed incredible breakfasts on white linen tablecloths with full service. The open-air showers were clean, roomy and simply delightful, especially under a full moon. After our day out on the trail (we visited 3 incredible wineries), we enjoyed a bonfire next to our teepee as well as a bottle of wine we purchased at one of our stops. The port-a-potty is what it is... BUT it is clean, pleasant and well lit.
Pepper and Co. could not have done more to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Our expectations were exceeded in every way imaginable. The love and respect that the Cherry Wood team has for the land and all of the animals that they care for is genuine and infectious! When we left, I felt as though we were saying goodbye to close friends.
Thank you to everyone @ Cherry Wood! We can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Pepper and her family were great at accommodating our needs, specially when adding a 4th person at the last minute. Our tee-pee was very spacious, and the amenities were above and beyond what we expected. Even the terry robes and spare slippers were a nice touch. We also participated in the Horse Ride and we had a great time. Horses were gentle and easy to ride, the guides were friendly, informative and approachable/helpful during the ride. What about the food??? A-mazing, from home-made baked goods like cinnamon rolls and cream filled puff pastries to herbed eggs served with bacon and home fries. fresh fruit, coffee ready at 7AM, mimosas, and special attention to vegetarians, the food, service and details were incredible!I
It's helpful to know that all of Pepper's animals from the friendly dogs to the horses are all rescued, and she speaks about them with great passion and compassion. Please visit this amazing place, enjoy the views and support a great cause.
The only word of caution, note that Cherry Wood is located in the middle of lots of farms, as such, the sound of farm equipment and air poppers were constant. Funny how quickly I got used to it.

Room Tip: Book early and bring cash or check, they don't accept credit cards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Overall I would say that this place is not worth the price. We were not expecting 5 star accommodations but we were disappointed. It is a little annoying that they don't take credit cards or do online reservations (so it took a couple of days to confirm reservations which is a hassle when planning a trip with a multi-stop itinerary). The Tee-pee it self was fine-except at night when it flapped and flapped and we did not get any sleep until about 4 am when the wind died down. Then at 6am farm equipment started up at a nearby ranch... There was no light in the bathroom (which was not super clean as the website states not gross, just kinda dirty) We tried to use the flashlights provided in the teepee but they were out of batteries...
We stayed in a similar "glamping" place in Paterson a few nights before so we understand this sort of camping but luxurious can be possible and for less money- the super clean and lighted porta-potties private showers, flashlights that work...They advertise wi-fi but it is sketchy at best (we may have been using her neighbors?) She seemed annoyed that we asked her about it- Don't advertise something if you don't want to provide it then!























The breakfast was very good but the coffee was terrible! Overall we got the impression that the owner does not really check on things and is riding on the impression that her place is awesome- but it really is more like the idea is great but without a skilled host it does not get there and would benefit from a professional hand to smooth the very rough edges.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cherry Wood Bed Breakfast and Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Wood Bed Breakfast and Barn

Address: 3271 Roza Drive, Zillah, WA 98953
Location: United States > Washington > Zillah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zillah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Wood Bed Breakfast and Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cherry Wood Bed Breakfast and Barn to your Saves list