We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even if you think you wouldn't like a B&B...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Inn Bed and Breakfast

Orchard Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yakima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Orchard Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1207 Pecks Canyon Rd., Yakima, WA 98908   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Yakima B&B and Inns
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Even if you think you wouldn't like a B&B...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

you will love the Orchard Inn! For my husband, the problem is the breakfast part. He really doesn't want to have to get up early for breakfast while on vacation. Fortunately, when I admitted this to the accommodating hosts here, they assured us that we could have a room at a "no-breakfast" rate, and be free to set our own schedule. We stayed for two nights midweek in the Northwest Room, a large room with its own entrance and private deck, where we sat and watched the sun set over the hills. All the furnishings seemed new and were spotlessly clean, the decor was tasteful and harmonious, and the bathroom was beautiful and stocked with pampering toiletries. Arriving on a hot afternoon, we were pleasantly surprised to find newly installed central air conditioning that was very effective. The Northwest Room also contains a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker, so we made our own breakfasts after sleeping as late as we liked in the morning. After visiting wineries and strolling along the river in downtown Yakima, we were so glad to be staying up on the hill among the cherry trees and birdsong, rather than down near the noisy freeways where most of the hotels are located. Karen and Henner are charming and tactful hosts who gave us space to be on our own but were also happy to suggest restaurants and wineries to visit. Don't miss Treveri Cellars in Wapato for unusual and delicious sparkling wines, and Cultura in Zillah for distinctive reds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been staying at B&Bs for over 20 yrs , back when there were only shared baths and the hosts joined you for breakfast.
This place is an extension of the owners' home with several bedrooms and a comfortable living space separate from their home. The entire place is spotless and the average size rooms have nice bathrooms with showers and jetted tubs. The common living space has a refridge and micro wave oven.
The location was really nice and as the name implies , it is right in the middle of a cherry orchard - very nice! The breakfasts were very good and after we ate the innkeeper joined us for conversation and suggestions for dining and wine tasting. I didn't realize Yakima is major wine producing country - super reds! The hosts were wonderful caring people who took a genuine interest in our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Orchard Inn numerous times over the last few years and each time we return it's just like going home. Karen and Henner have gone from being the greatest hosts, chefs and experts on the area and its' attractions, to being our great, great friends. We always stay in "our room" which is right off the main sitting area. Our room is very comfortable and pretty and we have gone home on many occasions and ordered different books found in their bookshelves. Breakfast is always outstanding and always includes something local in season or treats from their cherry orchards. From watching a quail walk across the snow from the dining room window to walking through the orchards on a beautiful summer evening, it doesn't get much better than this for winding down from a hectic daily life.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in the room off the sitting area, but you can't have it if we are staying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Orchard Inn is just wonderful. The location is beautiful, the room was immaculate, the bed was comfortable, the jetted tub was a treat after a long day of wine tasting, the hosts are charming and helpful and the breakfast was worth making the trip. We can't wait for our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I have now been twice to Orchard Inn B and B. The rooms are cozy and well appointed, the gourmet breakfasts are delicious, and the hospitality of hosts Henner and Karen is warm and unobtrusive. Yakima is a convenient place from which to do wine tasting. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My family spent one night prior to going on a ski trip. The staff was very hospitable and the room very clean and beautiful. We were in the orchard room which had a jetted tub/shower combo which was nice. We enjoyed our stay right up till bed time. I would say the mattress was on par with the floor but the floor may have been the better option because at least it wouldn't squeak whenever you move. I ended up sleeping on the love seat in the common area which was comfy for being 3 feet too short :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers05, Owner at Orchard Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments about your stay at our B&B. It is disappointing, however, to read that you found the mattress to be less than satisfactory. Guests prior to your stay in the Orchard Room, and after your stay, found it to be quite comfortable. We have genuine concern for the comfort of all of our guests, and since you have brought this to our attention, albeit in a less than helpful manner, we will be certain to evaluate the comfort of the mattresses in
all of our rooms. Sincerely, Karen and Henner Krueger, Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I had the good fortune to enjoy this lovely B&B in the spring as I travelled around WA with two other business associates. The setup with three rooms and private common area was great as were the breakfasts and the hosts. Amazingly clean to boot!

I particulary loved the location high atop the hill smack in the middle of an orchard! Add to that the incredibly fair rates and I can only hope there will be room next time I travel that way.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1207 Pecks Canyon Rd., Yakima, WA 98908
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.