We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service, With Nice Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel French Cuisine

Carousel French Cuisine
25 N Front St Ste 6, Yakima, WA 98901
509 248-6720
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 217 restaurants in Yakima
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service, With Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Yakima, but if we ever get there again, we plan to dine at the Carousel Restaurant. First, the food was excellent. We each had the rich French Onion Soup, which really got the taste buds going. Next, my wife had the Rabbit, which she said was very good, but perhaps the sauce was a little light. I had the Veal with Shitake Mushrooms, and it was outstanding. We finished off with the Cherries Jubilee, which was good, but a little too sweet, because of too much sugar which had caramelized. We also liked their wine process, which included tasting two different wines before selecting our bottle. The only negative is that this excellent French restaurant has only two types of French wine, and should grow their French wine list. Last but not least, we thought that Marie did a great job serving us during the evening. She was knowledgable and friendly and managed our dinner very well.
Scott K

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    13
    12
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

In Yakima on business, looked up a restaurant called the Barrel, which is next door to Carousel. To our great fortune, the Barrel happened to be closed so we decided to give French a try. This is a great little restaurant, has a cool atmosphere for an evening with a significant other or some good friends. It was a Tuesday and we were one of three tables. The service was too drawer and the food very good. Will definitely go there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A big secret, don't tell anyone! Enjoy this restaurant, but shhhh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This quaint restaurant is hidden away and quite a secret. The wilted spinach salad and escargot will be enjoyable and the happy hour is perfect. Take your special person here for a romantic and private evening. The staff works very hard to assure you have a satisfying evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naches, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique, intimate experience. Great value on a menu you simply cannot get in anywhere else in Yakima.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

My favorite happy hour out all night meal experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Wife and I really enjoyed our time there. The service was great.
The bread they start you out with is toasted and tasty.
I ordered some escargot for an appetizer and convinced the wife to try them they were amazing and once she got over the fact that they were snail she was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed them with me.
She had the garlic shrimp with white sauce and we were very impressed with the amount of shrimp they served compared to what you may expect. Great quality!
I chose the pork tenderloin with apricot pepper sauce, its was a good choice also.

The decor and art is very nice making it cozy and warm feeling with the perfect music to compliment, made us forget we were in Yakima for the few hours we were there,

Thanks Carousel see you again some time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carousel French Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Carousel French Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel French Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.