We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and Unique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santiago's Gourmet Mexican Restaurant

Santiago's Gourmet Mexican Restaurant
111 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA 98901-2625
509-453-1644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 217 Restaurants in Yakima
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oroville, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic and Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This charming, well decorated and historic looking restaurant is not your common Mexican restaurant. It is privately owned and operated by a gentleman who has created his own versions of traditional fare. A big step up from the "chain" type of Mexican restaurants. Hand shaken Margaritas with an extra shot on the side add to the enjoyment. Located in downtown Yakima, it is a definite "must see"!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    9
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Too much food and you can't share”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Typical Mexican food with all the sides. The problem was that one entre had too much food for an average person . It would have been fine if we can share but there's no sharing and split plates so we had to order 2 dinners and end up throw away a lot of food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our Tennis team came for a late Saturday dinner. The Margaritas were strong and excellent. The food was plentiful, tasty and reasonably priced. I had the combination which was enough for two, but after 4 hours of tennis with little food all day, I ate every bite. Will make a point of coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice local place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were new to town looking for a local restaurant for dinner and Santiago's looked like the place. We always look for a place where the locals eat. If it's Chinese I want to see some Asians there, if it's a Mexican place I want to see some Mexicans eating dinner. Otherwise just give up and go to Taco Bell or Olive Garden.
It's a good solid B+ slightly Anglo Mexican place toned down a little too much so just add more salsa. The portions are huge, enough for two people really, and the drinks were well done. Nice looking place too with big murals of General Santiago and a big blue back lit bar. They had a guy singing and playing guitar in the bar, which is usually bad, a way the owner employs an out of work son in law, but he was good! Priced very reasonably. If I had to gripe I'd say the tortillas could have been steamed a little longer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended but Disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten in many Mexican restaurants in many cities. This one is Ok. Nothing wrong with it, just not one of the best.

The atmosphere is great and so was the service. The portions were large, even my husband took food home which is not his usual habit. Probably would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santiago's Gourmet Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Santiago's Gourmet Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santiago's Gourmet Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.