We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Blond Beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snipes Mountain Microbrewery & Restaurant

Snipes Mountain Microbrewery & Restaurant
905 Yakima Valley Hwy, Yakima, WA 98944
509-837-2739
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 215 restaurants in Yakima
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good Blond Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I haven't been for a few months. And it's a bit out of the way, but when you are in Washington it is worth a trip to Snipes Mountain. I go there whenever I am in the area. Go for the Blond Beer. I should add that the food there is quite good, too. It's a nice combination of good beer and good food that keeps me going back. Well worth it. And not too expensive prices.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    15
    13
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Surprising find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The beers were well crafted and nicely balanced. The numerous awards show we are not alone in our assesment.
We had two different wood fired pizzas and both were very tasty.
We has stopped ib earlier for a pint and to check out the menu. The bartender and a waitress both remembered us and welcomed us back.
Much much better than we expected to find in Sunnyside.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Snipes Sunnyside - Skip It”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The menu was mostly lackluster, garden variety 1950s diner, and overpriced at that. We dropped $40 including tip for two sandwiches-and-fries plates, a glass of water, and one unremarkable glass of white wine. About $10 more than it should have been.

The vaulted ceilings and large square footage of the place make it feel more like a warehouse than a place to drink and dine. A&W has more ambience, and better fries.

The Snipes website advertises itself as a place to have a romantic dinner, but also a family restaurant. News flash, one restaurant cannot be both. The place is essentially a diner/pub in too large of a space, trying-but-failing to be anything more than 2 out of 5.

Our waitress, who was handling a whole 3 tables, was a ditz who had to be reminded about the most basic of service items.

Note, Snipes is not licensed for anything beyond wine and beer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not quality food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The food is not that great for the price. A veggie burger was 8.95 and it was dry and tasteless.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly Place with Good Food and Very Good Beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Okay - you're in Sunnyside, WA - now what? Well that's what I asked my self, and the innkeeper at the Best Western. He suggested Snipes and I bit and I'm glad I did. This is a very friendly brewpub with a wood fired oven that is used to cook most things that aren't fried!

The beer is very good, with lots of hoppy selections (After all, this is Washington - Hop Capital of the Country!). I had an interesting appetizer - batter dipped, deep fried asparagus - GREAT! Dinner was a side salad, OK, and their Washington Tri-tips - with local red skin mashed potatoes and fresh asparagus. All nicely done and very fresh.

But the highlight was the very friendly atmosphere, starting with the lively barkeep and patrons, none of which were from the area!

I will definitely stop back in when I get back!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snipes Mountain Microbrewery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Snipes Mountain Microbrewery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snipes Mountain Microbrewery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.