We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in Yakima” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Melange - CLOSED

Cafe Melange
7 N Front St, Yakima, WA 98901-2609
+1 509-453-0571
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Seattle
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good food in Yakima”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Yes, Virginia, you can have a good meal in Yakima. The menu has large entree salads--either Caesar or a Melange salad (greens, dried cherries, walnuts, and supposedly apples), to which you can add salmon, shrimp, chicken or a meat. I chose salmon and got a perfectly cooked king fillet atop the Melange salad, with dressing on the side. My only complaint was that the apples were nowhere to be found. Otherwise very tasty. My husband was happy with his rack of lamb--four small chops with a generous serving of mashed potatoes, green beans and zucchini. The evening we went was probably not a good night to test the kitchen or the front of the house. The restaurant had participated in a street fair all day on the hottest day of the year. I figure that's why there was no apple in the salad and why the waitress never bothered to ask us whether we wanted dessert; also the foccacia that came before the meal had been cut way too early in the evening. If I could give half stars, I would give this a 3.5. I expect that on a more relaxing day, the food and the service would be better

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yes there IS good food in Yakima WA!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had just floated the Yakima River and were hungry for a great dinner. The reviews on this place were good and I was anticipating a good experience and I got it! When I think of Yakima gourmet food does not come to mind but this great little offstreet bistro delivers as good as you will get there. The decor is cozy if not fancy and my only complaint which I often voice is that the muzak had types of music that seemed to us just out of place for the type of restaraunt. Why do they often get this wrong? Service was friendly and attentive but know that they take a good 10-15 minutes between courses on purpose and advise so, not problem for us. Good wine selection including locals. I had the veal scallopini which was excellent with a starter "Melange" salad that was outrageous and good and included in the main course price. Our entrees where not cheap but a good value with the bread and salad thrown in, no complaints there. Overall we were very happy with the place and had an enjoyable evening. I would return and can recommend it to anyone looking for a smaller, intimate dinner place with excellent food. Also close to the main hotels right off the freeway exit near the downtown, such as it is.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, WA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good food fast courteous service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Excellent meal in every respect...the current chef was trained by the former chef and he personally checks on every patron

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Verlene the chef...the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

If you go to Cafe Melange...make sure that Verlene is cooking that night....or else...."forget about it." She is THE BEST cook there...dare I say the only real chef there. No corkage fee....great food, delicious steaks, and an intimate atmosphere. Not many good eateries in Yakima...this is one of the three best (along with Geppeto's and perhaps the French restaurant behind Melange). Best Italian food in a very "non-Italian food" town. Please don't insult your palate ...avoid the Olive Garden! No taste and your heart will scream in pain! My ratings ONLY refer to the times when Verlene is cooking! Nota Bene!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I had a chicken dish and they were willing to make it gluten free for me. Very friendly staff, fast service, and the food is made fresh just for you.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Melange also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Melange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.