We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just renovated & better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   137 North Fair Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Siletz, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just renovated & better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was first time at this hotel. We were warned when making reservations hotel lobby was under construction still. Our room had just been totally redone - great to stay with new carpet, bedding, etc. We used Marriott Points - cost would be $129 without. It's 3 minutes away from a great Black Angus Restaurant, ear freeway on/off ramps so easy to get going on your journey. Quiet at nite and in new part of town. Every single employee said hello, greeted us with a friendly smile. Only coplaint was the free breakfast - powdered eggs - Yuk! Oatmeal and other things were fine though. And breakfast is free. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: I'd avoid rooms next or really near the elevator. There is no room service - but I couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! We are very happy you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms—and didn’t get scared off by our warning about the renovation! Wait till you stay again, we are just finishing up the lobby and it is very nice! We do have a good location, freeway close and also convenient for getting around Yakima quickly and effortlessly. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
19
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I just returned from a three day stay. This is a nice hotel, staff is friendly and helpful. They are under construction in some areas, but it didn't affect me. When I checked in I was told I was getting one off the rooms that had just been renovated which made me happy....only to find out there was no mini fridge or microwave. The fridge would have been nice, , but I managed. The room itself is very nice. I love that there's a long hall between the door to the living/bedroom with the bathroom between. Its a great buffer from any hall Noise...so its peaceful. Also a good buffer if my pet were to bark. The only other complaint I have is that the little fruit flies In my room. They were EVERYWHERE. It made it hard to enjoy glass of wine! Or eat anything without fighting them off!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have a friendly Front Desk personnel, we try to make everyone feel welcome. We are glad you enjoyed your stay—except for the fruit flies—not sure where those came from! When the renovation is complete all rooms will have refrigerators and microwaves—but unfortunately the order hasn’t shown up yet, but we expect them any day! We will be done in late October. If you’re ever back in Yakima please stop by and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I come to Yakima frequently and as a platinum member of Marriott awards program typically stay at Marriott properties around the world. Have stayed at this one a number of times, despite my poor impression of the property. After the stay this week I will not ever stay there again, and I would encourage you to look elsewhere as well. The hotel is undergoing renovation and I stayed in a renovated room. Not good. The rooms are small and cramped. The new color scheme makes them feel even smaller. Very stark and uninviting, and the jet-powered air conditioner will blow you out of the room. New wall paper in the bathroom was already damaged. Also, the hotel is in a bad part of town - only convenient if you are coming off the Interstate and don't want to see the city. Lots of vacant lots and buildings around the property. Poorly maintained on the outside. Nowhere safe to walk to besides a tacky, expensive burger place. Try the Garden Inn, or other property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very saddened that you did not like the newly renovated rooms. Damage does occur and we try to get items fixed as soon as we can, but unfortunately sometimes we accidentally rent a room before repairs can be made. There’s not a lot we can do about the vacant lots, since we don’t own them. But we are only 2 blocks from downtown and about 32 seconds from the convention center. The renovation is almost complete, maybe you can visit us again when the hotel will more quiet and relaxed with all the construction completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was undergoing a very needed renovation when we visited which kept me from rating it higher. It is conveniently located to the freeway entrance / exit. One negative for me was the elevator - I think this hotel has the slowest elevator I have ever experienced. The hotel had ample parking and the exterior was well maintained.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you took the time write it and submit it. I agree we have friendly Front Desk personnel; we try to make everyone feel welcome. We also wanted to let you know that we agree! We needed a thorough renovation and that is what we are doing; all the rooms, lobby, breakfast area, hallway carpets—everything—all new mattress too! We will be done in late September. If you’re ever back in Yakima please stop by and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 8/23 Friday night at this property. We were advised of renovation when I called the hotel before making on-line reservations, which I always do. At our check-in they again reiterated the remodeling and put us at the opisite end of the hotel to minimize the impact.
Our updated room was EXCELLENT! Stylish and quiet. Some construction dust in the elevator but really, not an issue. The pool and hot tub, clean and relaxing. Breakfast-I can say the girls working to keep it clean and filled were doing a GREAT job. Plenty of food even 1/2 hour before it ended, we sat and read the local paper with our coffee. I was so hesitant to stay here but the other hotels seemed worse and we have usually had good luck with Marriott, so we took the chance and it paid off. We will stay at this property again headed through this area!
I just want them to install a bigger swimming pool!

Room Tip: Call ahead at any hotel to find out the latest on road construction, hotel renovation, big groups li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I am glad to hear that you were advised and saw the renovation alert and took a chance with us! I agree the renovated rooms are nice! And we are almost done—only one more floor to go! The breakfast area will be finished next and then the last phase—the lobby area! We hope to see you again in the future and you can enjoy all the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We usually always stay with the Marriott family but this was our first Fairfield stay. Our family of four stayed for 2 nights while we visited the incredible wine country(another review) after visiting Mount Rainier and pre cruise out of Seattle. Location: great, close to the highway and down town area, but difficult to get to due to the many one way roads. Parking lot appeared messy and congested, probably due to the renovation going on. Room: comfortable and clean but difficult to adjust temperature on air conditioner. Breakfast: above standard in my opinion. Coffee was good
and a large selection of breakfast items, which were restocked quickly when empty. Perk: Clean laundry room with clean washer and dryers(coin operated) for quests to use. Staff: Polite and informative. Evening girl suggested a close and great Mexican place for dinner! Loved the cookies on check in, sad to not find them on Friday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have friendly Front Desk personnel; their enthusiasm and helpfulness is a hallmark we strive to exceed with all our guests. We have a good location, freeway close and also convenient for getting around Yakima quickly and effortlessly, but the one-way streets can be a little tricky to get used to! We hope to see you again in the future and you can enjoy the local fruit stands to compliment your wine tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
217 hotel reviews
Reviews in 234 cities Reviews in 234 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have platinum status with Marriott and have a request for a room on a high floor in my profile but I was placed on the middle floor in a room adjacent to the linen room which resulted in my room being smaller than others. When I saw the room I thought about asking to be moved but decided not to bother as it was already 9:00 p.m. and I was only spending one night. I had to struggle to find a place for my suitcases and had to move the coffee service behind the TV to do so. There was no microwave or regrigerator in the room but there was no space for these items in the room anyway. Things did start out better as the welcome was warm and there were some delicious cookies still sitting out at 10:00 p.m. The chocolate chip ones were delicious - thick and full of chips. The bed slept fine and the AC worked well. The cover was a little light but I was fine with my AC setting as I didn’t have it too low. The hotel is being renovated (I noticed work on replacing carpeting in some rooms) - my room had the old carpet but it was fine. The carpet in the hallway is certainly ready to be replaced as it has shifted and rolled.
Breakfast was OK - Fairfield’s (FFI) have gone to hot breakfasts and this is the first FFI that I stayed in since the change that had home cooked oatmeal. It was so thick by the time I came down to breakfast (at 0800) that it wouldn’t fall off the spoon without a sharp whack. Nobody bothered to thin it with hot water as it sat cooking away! They had sausage gravy, sausage and eggs but the eggs are the rehydrated powder that iI can’t tolerate. They have kept the hard boiled eggs which is great. I poured my sausage gravy on those. The coffee was very good for an FFI (a lot of FFIs have coffee that is way too weak) and the OJ was nice too.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms that adjacent to the housekeeping linen closet as those are very small (linen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it. We apologize that your request could not be accommodated during this stay, unfortunately the third floor, was where the contractor chose to start and work his way down. All our rooms are the same size and the suitcase rack is in the closet, but available for those who choose to use it. It is true, however, that we are limited right now during the remodel on refrigerators and microwaves, but all rooms will have them by the end of the remodel. I agree that we have great chocolate chip cookies—and you were lucky--they are usually long gone by 10pm! We hope to see you again after the remodel and are able to stay on the upper floor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima

Address: 137 North Fair Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a new STAY! We finished renovating the entire hotel in late 2013 We are located at the entrance to "the gateway to Washington Wine Country." Located just west of exit 33A, on I-82, we are close to the convention center (35 seconds). Wineries and the valley mall. The Sundome is only 5 minutes away. Shopping and places to eat are within walking distance. Located very near downtown, corporate travelers and teams have the advantage of getting to their destinations quickly and easily.Experience the difference while in Yakima! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima Hotel Yakima
Fairfield Inn And Suites Yakima
Fairfield Inn Yakima
Fairfield Yakima
Fairfield Inn Hotel Yakima
Yakima Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.