We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   137 North Fair Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Everett, Washington
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Ok but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was undergoing a very needed renovation when we visited which kept me from rating it higher. It is conveniently located to the freeway entrance / exit. One negative for me was the elevator - I think this hotel has the slowest elevator I have ever experienced. The hotel had ample parking and the exterior was well maintained.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate that you took the time write it and submit it. I agree we have friendly Front Desk personnel; we try to make everyone feel welcome. We also wanted to let you know that we agree! We needed a thorough renovation and that is what we are doing; all the rooms, lobby, breakfast area, hallway carpets—everything—all new mattress too! We will be done in late September. If you’re ever back in Yakima please stop by and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
19
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 8/23 Friday night at this property. We were advised of renovation when I called the hotel before making on-line reservations, which I always do. At our check-in they again reiterated the remodeling and put us at the opisite end of the hotel to minimize the impact.
Our updated room was EXCELLENT! Stylish and quiet. Some construction dust in the elevator but really, not an issue. The pool and hot tub, clean and relaxing. Breakfast-I can say the girls working to keep it clean and filled were doing a GREAT job. Plenty of food even 1/2 hour before it ended, we sat and read the local paper with our coffee. I was so hesitant to stay here but the other hotels seemed worse and we have usually had good luck with Marriott, so we took the chance and it paid off. We will stay at this property again headed through this area!
I just want them to install a bigger swimming pool!

Room Tip: Call ahead at any hotel to find out the latest on road construction, hotel renovation, big groups li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I am glad to hear that you were advised and saw the renovation alert and took a chance with us! I agree the renovated rooms are nice! And we are almost done—only one more floor to go! The breakfast area will be finished next and then the last phase—the lobby area! We hope to see you again in the future and you can enjoy all the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We usually always stay with the Marriott family but this was our first Fairfield stay. Our family of four stayed for 2 nights while we visited the incredible wine country(another review) after visiting Mount Rainier and pre cruise out of Seattle. Location: great, close to the highway and down town area, but difficult to get to due to the many one way roads. Parking lot appeared messy and congested, probably due to the renovation going on. Room: comfortable and clean but difficult to adjust temperature on air conditioner. Breakfast: above standard in my opinion. Coffee was good
and a large selection of breakfast items, which were restocked quickly when empty. Perk: Clean laundry room with clean washer and dryers(coin operated) for quests to use. Staff: Polite and informative. Evening girl suggested a close and great Mexican place for dinner! Loved the cookies on check in, sad to not find them on Friday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have friendly Front Desk personnel; their enthusiasm and helpfulness is a hallmark we strive to exceed with all our guests. We have a good location, freeway close and also convenient for getting around Yakima quickly and effortlessly, but the one-way streets can be a little tricky to get used to! We hope to see you again in the future and you can enjoy the local fruit stands to compliment your wine tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
217 hotel reviews
Reviews in 234 cities Reviews in 234 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have platinum status with Marriott and have a request for a room on a high floor in my profile but I was placed on the middle floor in a room adjacent to the linen room which resulted in my room being smaller than others. When I saw the room I thought about asking to be moved but decided not to bother as it was already 9:00 p.m. and I was only spending one night. I had to struggle to find a place for my suitcases and had to move the coffee service behind the TV to do so. There was no microwave or regrigerator in the room but there was no space for these items in the room anyway. Things did start out better as the welcome was warm and there were some delicious cookies still sitting out at 10:00 p.m. The chocolate chip ones were delicious - thick and full of chips. The bed slept fine and the AC worked well. The cover was a little light but I was fine with my AC setting as I didn’t have it too low. The hotel is being renovated (I noticed work on replacing carpeting in some rooms) - my room had the old carpet but it was fine. The carpet in the hallway is certainly ready to be replaced as it has shifted and rolled.
Breakfast was OK - Fairfield’s (FFI) have gone to hot breakfasts and this is the first FFI that I stayed in since the change that had home cooked oatmeal. It was so thick by the time I came down to breakfast (at 0800) that it wouldn’t fall off the spoon without a sharp whack. Nobody bothered to thin it with hot water as it sat cooking away! They had sausage gravy, sausage and eggs but the eggs are the rehydrated powder that iI can’t tolerate. They have kept the hard boiled eggs which is great. I poured my sausage gravy on those. The coffee was very good for an FFI (a lot of FFIs have coffee that is way too weak) and the OJ was nice too.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms that adjacent to the housekeeping linen closet as those are very small (linen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it. We apologize that your request could not be accommodated during this stay, unfortunately the third floor, was where the contractor chose to start and work his way down. All our rooms are the same size and the suitcase rack is in the closet, but available for those who choose to use it. It is true, however, that we are limited right now during the remodel on refrigerators and microwaves, but all rooms will have them by the end of the remodel. I agree that we have great chocolate chip cookies—and you were lucky--they are usually long gone by 10pm! We hope to see you again after the remodel and are able to stay on the upper floor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oh
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Next to the freeway exit but enough far away to avoid traffic noise. It is nor far from downtown and next to a few restaurants. Standard design and furniture. The top floor is been renovated and the swimming pool outside was closed. The rooms were cleaned and everything was in perfect order. Breakfast was a little better than the standard Fairfield fare. The desk staff was local, informative, delightful and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have friendly Front Desk personnel; from making reservations to checking our guests in, their enthusiasm and helpfulness is a hallmark we strive to exceed with all our guests. We do have a good location, freeway close and also convenient for getting around Yakima quickly and effortlessly. The pool and Jacuzzi were closed for a few days for re-plastering, new tiles and it is now open! So far everyone says it looks great and we think so too! We hope to see you again in the future so you can enjoy the new pool and the all the new rooms after the renovation is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Comfortable sleeping quarters, but no mini-frig or microwave. We didn’t book this hotel to ‘stay’ in, we booked it to 'sleep' in. This worked out fine, a comfortable bed and a shower with plenty of hot water.
Our room had a view of the window corporation at the rear of the hotel, look over that building and you can see the barren hills to the north and east bordering the Yakima Valley.
The complimentary hot breakfast was good. The normal ‘stuff’, scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, choice of bread, dry cereal, cut-up mixed fruit, juices, yogurt, coffee and make-your-own-waffle machine.
If wine tasting is your adventure, then, there are several within a short drive that can occupy your day.
We drove to Mt Rainier one day (driving time about 1½ hrs each way).
Across the street, in a small shopping center, is Target, WalMart is 1 mile away.
Do your want hamburgers? Bob’s Burger & Brew just steps out the front door of the Fairfield. Many other eateries within a mile drive.

Room Tip: If you are in need of - ASK for a room with MICROWAVE and REFRIGERATOR, not all rooms have these co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! I have to admit yours is one of the most complete reviews I have ever read! The hills are barren--right now, but wait till winter! There are only a couple of things I would like to add, we are renovating right now and when we are finished every room will have a 2.2 cubic foot frig and microwave. There is also a BIG LOTS! and Office Max across the street and the Valley Mall is only 2 exits down the road (2 minutes at the most!) We also have winery maps available that show 30+ wineries just down the freeway in the lower valley. We hope that your travels will bring you back to Yakima in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steilacoom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is an OK hotel, but was being remodeled so noisy. The pool and hot tub were closed for the remodel also. The staff were nice and the rooms ok. Just wish we were told up front about the remodel plans when my daughter made the reservations. Convenient to the freeway. A little pricey for what we got.

The breakfast was great however

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear MadMaddie,
Thank you for the kind review of our new hot buffet breakfast. We have a new breakfast bar attendant and I will share your kind remarks with her. We are renovating the hotel and I have talked with the contractor and he has assured me that for the next 2 months there will be no work done before 9AM and work will finish each day at 7PM. We plan on finishing in later September and I would like to invite you back for stay in the Fall. I know you won’t be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Yakima hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Yakima
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Yakima
Oxford Suites Yakima
#1 of 24 in Yakima
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Yakima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Inn
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 24 in Yakima
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Free Parking, M...
Show More
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima

Address: 137 North Fair Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a new STAY! We finished renovating the entire hotel in late 2013 We are located at the entrance to "the gateway to Washington Wine Country." Located just west of exit 33A, on I-82, we are close to the convention center (35 seconds). Wineries and the valley mall. The Sundome is only 5 minutes away. Shopping and places to eat are within walking distance. Located very near downtown, corporate travelers and teams have the advantage of getting to their destinations quickly and easily.Experience the difference while in Yakima! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima Hotel Yakima
Fairfield Inn And Suites Yakima
Fairfield Inn Yakima
Fairfield Yakima
Fairfield Inn Hotel Yakima
Yakima Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.