We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop-off on way to Mount Rainier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   137 North Fair Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Oxfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good stop-off on way to Mount Rainier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had this hotel free on reward points. Despite being free, we were welcomed and had a pretty good room.

Convenient location just off freeway - but no noise. Friendly staff. Good restaurant next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have a friendly Front Desk personnel, we try to make sure everyone feels welcome. We are glad you enjoyed visiting Bob’s Burgers and Brew right next door to us. We also wanted to let you know that we are renovating all the rooms, lobby, breakfast area, hallway carpets—everything--including the mattress & box springs. We will be done in late September. If you’re ever back in the states please stop by and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
10
19
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
furnitureruss
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was Friday July 5th, and I was let out of work early. I came home and my wife and I decided to get out of town for no real reason. So, we said let's get to the other side of the mountains and find something to do. Of course, I have to have accommodations made in advance so I called Fairfield Inn Yakima and they did have rooms available. Excellent, so we packed our bags and headed out for a nice drive. When we got to the hotel, there was plenty of free parking. The person who checked us in was pleasant. Since I am a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, I get bonus points at check in, but they had a wheel to spin to get extra points. I asked my wife to spin the wheel, and we got an extra 250 points. The room was adequate. I did get a King suite with jacuzzi tub. The room is not updated, but it was clean. My only complaint was that the bed was so far from the typical "Marriott comfort" I thought I was in a Best Western for a moment. This bed was rock hard. Other than that, it was a decent stay.

One more thing, after a long drive to get here it was really pleasant to find out there is a restaurant right next door (as in a 1 minute walk) to the hotel. Makes it nice because I was able to enjoy a tall beer with dinner since I was walking from the hotel.

Would I stay here again? Yes I'm fairly loyal to Marriott properties, the people were nice, plenty of parking, restaurant next door, and other than the plywood they called a bed, the rooms were adequate and clean.

Room Tip: I did see some debris outside the hotel, so there MAY be some construction going on at the hotel. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have friendly Front Desk personnel, we try to make everyone feel welcome; and congrats on the extra 250 bonus points! We are glad you enjoyed visiting Bob’s Burgers and Brew right next door to us. You were correct in guessing that the debris around the hotel meant we might be doing construction we are in the process of renovating the whole hotel. We are renovating all the rooms, lobby, breakfast area, hallway carpets—everything—all new mattress too! We will be done in mid-September. It would be nice to see you revisit our hotel this fall—I think you will be pleasantly surprised!
We look forward to you staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakebay, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good location off of the freeway. Staff were ok-not overly friendly. Water pressure in shower was good. Breakfast was good. Selection of scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy! Beds were comfortable.
Here are a few things that we were disappointed in for Marriott standards:
1.) Ironing board was broken-Would not collapse!
2.) Outlet plugs in the room were limited. Not enough for cell phones-Had to move the bed out to access.
3.) TV-The volume was cutting in & out and you could not access all of the channels.
4.) Hot tub and pool were stained.
5.) Hot tub was very cold and the railing was very loose.
6.) Air conditioning in room was noisy and rattled.

I think we'd look at other options in Yakima before the Marriott next time.

Room Tip: Not much of a view in any room that you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have friendly Front Desk personnel, we try to make everyone feel welcome; please know that we were pleased you chose our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and you had a good night’s sleep. As to your 6 disappointments, we are aware of all of them! And they are all being addressed right now, because we are completely renovating the property, from the pool and hot tub to the ironing boards TV’s, there will be additional outlets on the table lamps for charging iPhones and iPads to air conditioners. We will be done in mid-September. It would be nice to see you revisit our hotel this fall—I think you will be pleasantly surprised!
We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Good solid place to stay. Nice clean rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff. Location is not anything special. Not far from good restaurants downtown, but plan on driving because the area next to hotel is not the most inviting place for a tourist to be walking around.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have friendly Front Desk personnel; from making reservations to checking our guests in, their enthusiasm and helpfulness is a hallmark we strive to exceed with all our guests. We have a good location, but like most towns, it is good idea to drive, since it is the quickest and easiest way to see a lot of sights in town in a short amount of time. We are also renovating the entire hotel and will be finished in mid-September. So come back and visit us in the fall!
We look forward to you staying with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Btown wa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

When on business travel I want quick service. I don't want the reservation line answered by a computerized phone system I want to dial a number and get a live person who can make my reservations quick, so I can get back to work. I dialed the number, it was answered quickly and I made two reservations within a matter of minutes. Easy, easy, easy.

When I arrived I was checked into my room by a friendly clerk, received 1000 extra honors points, and had no problem getting online immediately. The bed was comfortable and included a nice selection of pillows.

Easily accessible from the highway. Close to a sports bar restaurant, Target, Staples, and Big Lots.

My peeves - an air conditioning system that would not turn off and a comforter that was too light for my taste. I hate being cold and I want a nice fluffy comforter that keeps me warm so I don't wake up cold in the middle of the night.

I didn't utilize the coffee maker, breakfast services, or gym. Perhaps next week when I'm back on site again.

My hotel receipt was under the door in the morning making it easy to quickly get back on the road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! I agree we have great Front Desk personnel, from making reservations to checking guests in, their enthusiasm and helpfulness is a hallmark we strive to exceed with all our guests.
We look forward to you staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Was there for a wedding and had a reservation at another hotel because we didn't make reservations for the blocked room here in time; however, a room cleared and we took the reservation. Price was moderate, room was clean, staff was very friendly and attentive, breakfast buffet was definitely doable. Mattress very comfortable, easy access to wireless internet. Room was clean, hall carpet needed to be restretched or replaced. Saved money from our original reservation so was happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always looking for ways to improve our service for our guests and make every stay a comfortable one. I agree with you, we are in need of new carpet in the hallways and this is one of the areas that will be brand new in the near future. We are renovating the entire property, starting in June and finish up in August. So please stop by for another stay with us later this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potsdam NY
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Never stated at a Marriott before- staff nice- breakfast good! Loved the salt water pool even though it was the size of a kiddie pool.
Staff was super helpful!
Room clean and the shower was great!!!
I enjoyed the var next door great drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David E, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate the review.. I am glad to hear we were able to meet your needs! We are always looking for ways to improve our service for our guests and make every stay a comfortable one. I agree we have great personnel, as you can tell, their enthusiasm and helpfulness to all our guests, is a hallmark we strive to exceed with all our guests.
We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again when you are in Yakima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima

Address: 137 North Fair Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a new STAY! We finished renovating the entire hotel in late 2013 We are located at the entrance to "the gateway to Washington Wine Country." Located just west of exit 33A, on I-82, we are close to the convention center (35 seconds). Wineries and the valley mall. The Sundome is only 5 minutes away. Shopping and places to eat are within walking distance. Located very near downtown, corporate travelers and teams have the advantage of getting to their destinations quickly and easily.Experience the difference while in Yakima! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Yakima
Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima Hotel Yakima
Fairfield Inn Yakima
Fairfield Yakima
Fairfield Inn Hotel Yakima
Yakima Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Yakima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.