We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Yakima, stay at the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   607 East Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“In Yakima, stay at the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was a weekend getaway for us and all went smoothly. The helpful and friendly front desk staff and the two pools were highlights of the hotel. Comfortable and not pretentious.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveYakima_WA, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear HHMG;

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you liked your stay. Our Mission at the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center is to provide personalized, exuberant service for all our customers, and we are elated to know we’ve done that for you during your recent stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your great experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again. If there is anything we can do in the meantime to help prepare for your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

David Elzie DOS
Director of Sales
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    38
    40
    42
See reviews for
46
44
12
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I should first off start by saying that it's obvious this is a love it or hate it property. I have looked through reviews before and after my stay and it's clear that this property does appeal to a lot of people so you might want to take my opinion with a grain of salt...
The hotel is a bizarre set-up, you walk into a nice enough lobby and think you are at a 3 star hotel, we took our luggage and entered an elevator and went up a floor. So far so good, but then we exited the actual hotel and ended up in a outdoor breezeway, suddenly we had gone from a 3 star hotel to a two star motel! The property is a confusing maze of outdoor entrance motel buildings that actually looks like an old apartment building. Our room had two queen beds, a fridge and coffee maker. The room was alright but it was very small and the tiny bathroom was very dated. We had a sliding glass door to a balcony but the balcony was open to the breezeway so we had no privacy and people could walk right into our balcony. There are indeed two swimming pools, one is medium sized and the other slightly smaller. They were very crowded and I didn't find them at all appealing. I would think it would make sense to have one pool be for adults and the other for families but they both seemed to be open to all. I booked this property through Priceline for $65.00, which in my opinion was no bargain especially when you consider breakfast was not included ($5.95 for adults free for children). Hotwire and Priceline users should be aware that if you're booking a 3 star property in a town that has a Red Lion you will probably get a Red Lion. I knew to expect this and actually tried bidding on a 2.5 star property in Yakima but Priceline upgraded me, how kind of them! I appreciate the old school resort atmosphere of this property but if you would prefer something a little more modern and comfortable you may want to spend an extra $10 to $20 on something a little nicer.
Ooops, I almost forgot the hotel bar. We were completely taken aback by the long list of rules the bar had posted at it's street side entrance (photo to be posted later). There was about 20 things banned such as "do rags", white-shirts, wife beaters, hats etc. etc. Didn't exactly make you want to go in and they make it sound like they have a problem with gang members.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My son's baseball team, coaches and parents stayed 4 nights at the Red Lion and had a wonderful time. The front desk staff could not have been more accomodating. They did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and stress free. The rooms were spacious and clean. The two pools were nice and the free breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

What a nice place for an Award banquet. Indoor, live trees. Huge windows make the room look even larger. The service staff was in perfect sync to our needs.
Good food and reasonable rates for the evening.
Thanks to Erica, Sam and their great staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to relax and enjoy a sunny weekend and the Red Lion was perfect! We brought our dog, had our room upgraded to a suite and spend the weekend lounging by 2 pools! There were plenty of grassy areas for our dog to lay in the shade. They even had a good continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to relax.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

When visiting Yakima, Washington please do yourself a favor and stay at the Red Lion hotel. I and most of my family started staying there about forty eight years ago and each time we have gone back we wish more hotels were as great as this one. The staff is exceptionly nice, especially Jason and Kelly. The latest room upgrades are very nice, the food is good and the man that does the gardening really takes pride in making the grounds beautiful. Yakima is a small town with many things to do and see ; visit it and the Red Lion -- you won't regret the wonderful leisure time. Kathleen Bara, Seattle, WA

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveYakima_WA, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2010
Dear Kathleen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay with our hotel. We are delighted to know that you liked your stay and noticed the grounds. We have a great groundskeeper who takes pride in his work and it shows. He typifies our Mission at the Red Lion: "to provide personalized, exuberant service" and we are elated to know we’ve done that for you during your recent stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again. If there is anything we can do in the meantime to help prepare for your next visit, please do not hesitate in contacting us directly.

Sincerely,

David Elzie
Director of Sales
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I was extremely pleased by the excellent customer service I received while planning and executing our 2010 Graduation Banquet with nearly 200 in attendance. The event went off without a hitch thanks to the detail and attention of the Catering Manager, Banquet Manager, servers and bartenders.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Address: 607 East Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center is located in downtown Yakima Washington, next door to the Yakima Convention Center. Located just minutes from Yakima Greenway, Yakima SunDome, Yakima Valley Community College, the Central Washington Fairgrounds, and only 6 miles from the Yakima Air Terminal and offer a free airport shuttle. Red Lion Hotel Yakima guest rooms provide quiet, comfortable accommodations to help you rest and unwind. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, telephone, in-room coffee and plenty of Yakima sun at our two outdoor pools. Additionally, the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center boasts easy access to several nearby business locations like the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, Yakima Regional HMA, Yakima Memorial Hospital, GE Aviation, Pacific Power, and Cascade Natural Gas. The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, located near I-82 provides easy access to Yakima Valley's award winning Wineries, nestled in the foothills of the lower valley. Located near the Yakima River provides many opportunities to fish the only blue ribbon river in the state of Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Yakima
Red Lion Yakima
Yakima Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.