We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've decided to Like Red Lions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   607 East Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I've decided to Like Red Lions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

On a business trip to WA in March 2013, several business colleauges and I stayed at a Red Lion in Olympia for 3 nights, and one night at this Red Lion in Yakima. The bed here was great, and the room was larger than I am used to. The bathroom was quite large - with double sinks and a shower that would fit four people. There were 2 pools on the property, and my room had a sliding back door that openned onto a small stone patio area. It would have been a great room to have for a vacation with my wife and our friends. We also had a free breakfast buffet - it wasn't the best, but it was good and nice to have. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
I apprecaite your comments regarding the hotel in Yakima. I certainly hope you can make it back fo a vacation. During the summer months the weather in Easter Washington is great. With our two swimming pools it makes for a great weekend getaway for the entire family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    33
    34
    33
See reviews for
39
38
12
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pullman, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is located right across from the Yakima Convention Center. Parts of the hotel are fairly old and we stayed in one such area. The hotel room was nicely decorated but underneath it all it looked a little tired, especially around the door frame in the toilet/shower room. Everything worked well and the shower had decent pressure. Light switches were a little grimy but when I mentioned it at checkout they made of point of taking note and trying to correct that. Because the building we were in was older some of the wiring layout made no sense. For instance one light switch turned on both the toilet/shower room light and the light over the vanity/sink area even though they were separated by a closing and locking door. That's fine if you don't mind waking others up in the middle of the night by shining the vanity light in their eyes while you use the toilet. I got up earlier than the rest of our party and finally unscrewed the lights over the vanity to allow the others to sleep while I used the shower and dressed in the other room. The heating/cooling system could use some help....it was noisy and often times would vibrate the entire room. Parking spaces were ridiculously narrow. Large mini vans and SUVs barely fit in their spaces and would sometimes park slightly over the line leaving an unusable space beside them. The hotel really needs to remove one of the spaces and make the rest a bit wider. I can understand that they're trying to provide a space for every room and that space is as a premium but we were still lacking a space because of sloppy parking. The room was for the most part clean although we found a Gogurt wrapper under one of the beds. The beds were comfortable. There was a refrigerator in our double room but no microwave. At least they gave us good tea (Tazo) and good soap products. This is not a bad place to stay if you need to attend an event at the convention center such as we needed to do, but it is by no means the best place I've ever stayed. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful so they made up for a lot of the short comings of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the newer sections of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I certainly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel. We definately have a unique setting with several different buildings and room sizes. I will be sharing your comments with my engineering staff and housekeeping staff. It is important to us that we pay attention to the details and make sure the room is clean and well cared for.

I certainly hope to see you again. If you travel in the summer we have two swimming pools and our grounds was voted for having the best landscape in 2010 for the downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I came here every summer and I had an absolute blast here, there's a heated pool and there's the cold pool also. Just had an amazing time here and I would Recomend anyone to come here and have a amazing time here and absolute blast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlyakima, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Glad to see you had a nice stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wanting to get some "end-of-summer" sunshine, we booked a hotel with an outdoor pool and headed to Yakima. The front desk staff was very friendly and accomodating. We requested a room close to the pool and got Room 161. It had a sliding door that opened to the grassy area next to the pool. Perfect! The pool was relatively small (as were the pool towels!), and the water temperature was cold. It was Labor Day weekend, so the pool had many families, kids screaming, and adults talking loudly to anyone and everyone around that would listen. We were looking for quiet sun time with a good book, and this felt like a "neighborhood pool". The best thing that happened, from our viewpoint, was that a kid threw up in the water, and maintenance closed the pool. Suddenly all was quiet and peaceful! By Monday, all the families had checked out, so again, we had a wonderful sunny, peaceful day. Our room was surprisingly well-appointed and very clean. It had a microwave and small fridge. The only negative was a continuous buzz that you could hear from the room next door. It sounded like a fan. But other than that, we were very happy with the room. Breakfast was included and it was a regular type buffet breakfast. Out total bill for our stay was $117. We thought that was pretty reasonable.

Room Tip: The pool and area by the "Garden Terrace" is much nicer than the other pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Red Loin located right next to the Yakima convention center is very convenient and downtown. The room was spacious with a nice balcony with two chairs and a table to be able to sit outside. The hotel has two large outside pools for those interested. Room was very clean and beds were very comfortable. I slept all through the night and this is unusual for me!

Room Tip: Try Priceline as the room was expensive for the area. $129 w/o tax for two queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

A clean, large and well appointed room. Felt very "vacation-y" even though it was a one night stay; loved the ground floor lanai near the pool and overlooking a well kept green lawn. Gorgeous. Friendly, courteous staff. Disappointed in the breakfast - not worth $5.95.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked on priceline at a great rate and stayed here as a stopover between Boise and Seattle. I would have been very disappointed though if we had paid the going rate for one of these rooms. The hotel seems like it was several adjacent hotels all purchased and now managed by the same company. We stayed in the section that felt like an old roadside motel from the 60s. The bed was very comfortable, but that was the only positive. The light switches were located in the strangest places, and there was no breakfast. Red Lions tend to be nice places but this one falls way, way short.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center

Address: 607 East Yakima Avenue, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center is located in downtown Yakima Washington, next door to the Yakima Convention Center. Located just minutes from Yakima Greenway, Yakima SunDome, Yakima Valley Community College, the Central Washington Fairgrounds, and only 6 miles from the Yakima Air Terminal and offer a free airport shuttle. Red Lion Hotel Yakima guest rooms provide quiet, comfortable accommodations to help you rest and unwind. Hotel amenities include free wi-fi, telephone, in-room coffee and plenty of Yakima sun at our two outdoor pools. Additionally, the Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center boasts easy access to several nearby business locations like the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences, Yakima Regional HMA, Yakima Memorial Hospital, GE Aviation, Pacific Power, and Cascade Natural Gas. The Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, located near I-82 provides easy access to Yakima Valley's award winning Wineries, nestled in the foothills of the lower valley. Located near the Yakima River provides many opportunities to fish the only blue ribbon river in the state of Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Yakima Yakima
Red Lion Yakima
Yakima Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Yakima Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.