We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the stay was ok.the chair at the desk was a little scary to...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 North 9th Street, Yakima, WA 98901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #14 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    64
    77
    30
    26
See reviews for
62
33
5
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We booked the Howard Johnson because the hotel is a stop on the Belair Airporter, a shuttle that runs from the Seattle-Tacoma airport to Yakima. The staff was friendly. The property is well-maintained, but is an older property. It appears that there used to be a restaurant on the site, but it is not open now. The area is a great spot for their complimentary breakfast, though.
We walked to the downtown area, and a nearby Target, a couple of times during our stay.
The pool is seasonal. The only complaint I would have is that the treadmill in the exercise room was only set to go to a fast walk. The front desk did not respond when I brought it to their attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoyakima, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your travels! I appreciate your comments and have called the service in for the treadmill, the desk agent did pass it on- sorry that was not relayed to you though. We hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future and thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This road weary, tired, exhausted, business traveler just wanted a comfy place to rest and a glass of wine after a 3 hour sales call!
When I booked my stay however (in route to the hotel!) at the Howard Johnson in Downtown Yakima, I had no idea how nice my experience would be!
I noticed on my smart phone the rating was 3 stars, (better than the Red Lyon or Holiday Inn in the same vicinity) but what secured the 'deal' for me was thier mid-week value rate of only $55.00 per night!!
After checking in at the front desk with the very friendly staff..and securing a King room at this great rate..I headed for my room. When I opened the door, I said aloud to myself; "This is every bit as nice as the Hilton Garden Inn"! (where I last stayed when in town.) The room was large, freshly painted, new carpet, king size VERY comfy bed and pillows, "designer" bedding and furnishings...A VERY NICE SURPRISE!!
After putting down my things I went back down stairs; "did you say something about a bar"??!!
I then headed to a very nice intimate bar on the main floor for that glass of wine! (local wines from this 'wine country' area!) The bartender; Tammy could not have been more friendly..nor the other patrons more chatty and pleasant!
I slept very well in my quiet, dark, comfortable room...and will come back again and again when in the area for business. (or fun!)

Room Tip: I don't ever stay on a ground floor room when traveling alone..and I don't like to 'drag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojoyakima, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I am glad we exceeded your expectations; and we are thankful that you stayed with us during your stop in Yakima! I appreciate your comments and will pass on to the staff, especially Tammy; she is a great asset to us here! We look forward to welcoming you once again; safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHUBBUCK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a surprise to find two king sized beds. It was great! Was traveling with friends and we had to share beds so this worked out very well. Breakfast the next morning was better than most free ones I have had. Would recommend this Howard Johnsons!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center

Address: 9 North 9th Street, Yakima, WA 98901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima Hotel Yakima
Howard Johnson Yakima
Yakima Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Yakima/Near Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.