We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old broad with new tricks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yakima Sports Center

Yakima Sports Center
214 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 223 Restaurants in Yakima
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Yakima, Washington
1 review
“An old broad with new tricks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Back in the day, only certain ladies and their John's went to the Sports Center. Happily, the place has done a turnaround. While maybe not an entire 180, it is a safe place to bring the kids, serves outstanding food with a bit of a twist, and has just enough character to make you feel like a bit of a felon. Don't come here if you are expecting to witness a bar fight. Do come here if you want a taste of old Yakima. The Happy Hour menu is very reasonable (best bet - the chicken quesadilla). From the regular menu - the CLAMS ... just ask for them to go easy on the salt. For drinks ... well, I'm a wine guy and they serve BIG pours of the house Chard. Good place. Take a chance. (A Yakima Native)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oliver, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Pretty good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stopped here for drinks and a bite to eat on the recommendation of a barmaid in another establishment. We had walked by this place earlier in the evening and did not realize it was a restaurant / bar - we thought it was a sporting goods store. We had some drinks and "fast" food at the bar. The drinks were cheap and plentiful, the food likewise. The service from the bartender was friendly and prompt.

If we're back in Yakima we will probably visit here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Wa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“New Owners; New Look; Love IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place is really turning around with the new owners! Fresh ideas, refreshed happy hour menu and fresh paint…The staff is friendly and the food is fantastic. Travis knows food and how a restaurant should be ‘done’. Monday they will be serving up specials for Monday night football and there are a dozen televisions to watch the game on. Happy hour is mon-sat 4pm-7pm it has $4 and $3 appetizers (I would get the wings and 50/50 fries) plus discounts on beer. Sunday they serve breakfast (I recommend the chicken fried steak), the breakfast burrito is good but the tortilla can be chewy. This is a family friendly place and there is ample parking in the rear.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not being familiar with Yakima, we drove by the Yakima Sports Center several times without realizing it was a bar/restaurant. We noticed the interesting revolving vintage hunter with shooting gun sign (which the show American Pickers would probably love to get). We thought it was an old sports shop. Anyway, on Labor Day, pretty much nothing else was opened, so we stopped for lunch. We sat outside (nothing fancy here, just the sidewalk) and had the grilled pork with slaw, the grilled ahi sandwich, and the sweet potato fries. Everything was super delicious! Service was great. We were so glad we ate there. The place inside is a throw-back to a 1960s or earlier sports bar. Food excellent; decor and ambiance historical "local dive".

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Go if you are "cool"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have been to this establishment three times. One time was great the other two left a lot to be desired. I figured out the problem.............the bartenders. If you want to sit at the bar, as I do, be prepared if Lindsay is working and Rob for that matter, to be treated like you are a burden.

My first visit last year I remembered how lame the bartender was to me. My second visit was on a recent Tuesday and the bartender was attentive and pleasant, just what you would hope to have. Food was good and I looked forward to returning.

Made the mistake of stopping in the following night for a beer after having dinner elsewhere. I recognized the bartender from my original visit last year. Go figure she was as lame as before. She went so far as to tell customer asking questions that she had been there six years and could not be wrong.

Well you work at a dive bar in Yakima, your job is customer service and if you want to be a rude indifferent bartending staff be prepared for a lack of tips. At least fake that you care about people that are not your regulars. Any business needs to grow their client base, yet at this point yours will be shrinking from the entitled attitude from your servers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yakima Sports Center also viewed

 

Been to Yakima Sports Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yakima Sports Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.