We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yakima Sports Center

Yakima Sports Center
214 E Yakima Ave, Yakima, WA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 218 Restaurants in Yakima
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not being familiar with Yakima, we drove by the Yakima Sports Center several times without realizing it was a bar/restaurant. We noticed the interesting revolving vintage hunter with shooting gun sign (which the show American Pickers would probably love to get). We thought it was an old sports shop. Anyway, on Labor Day, pretty much nothing else was opened, so we stopped for lunch. We sat outside (nothing fancy here, just the sidewalk) and had the grilled pork with slaw, the grilled ahi sandwich, and the sweet potato fries. Everything was super delicious! Service was great. We were so glad we ate there. The place inside is a throw-back to a 1960s or earlier sports bar. Food excellent; decor and ambiance historical "local dive".

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Go if you are "cool"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have been to this establishment three times. One time was great the other two left a lot to be desired. I figured out the problem.............the bartenders. If you want to sit at the bar, as I do, be prepared if Lindsay is working and Rob for that matter, to be treated like you are a burden.

My first visit last year I remembered how lame the bartender was to me. My second visit was on a recent Tuesday and the bartender was attentive and pleasant, just what you would hope to have. Food was good and I looked forward to returning.

Made the mistake of stopping in the following night for a beer after having dinner elsewhere. I recognized the bartender from my original visit last year. Go figure she was as lame as before. She went so far as to tell customer asking questions that she had been there six years and could not be wrong.

Well you work at a dive bar in Yakima, your job is customer service and if you want to be a rude indifferent bartending staff be prepared for a lack of tips. At least fake that you care about people that are not your regulars. Any business needs to grow their client base, yet at this point yours will be shrinking from the entitled attitude from your servers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish I could have visited again while we were there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We came here for appetizers and a casual bar to have a beer. The nachos were the best I have ever had, after seeing other reviews I wish we would have done dinner here. When I go back I will defiantly try. The staff was great, the drinks were good and the bar was very casual and comfortable. It's not the fine dining experience but you will have a great time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
2 reviews
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great clam chowder wonderful nachos.decent atmosphere great place to watch football games or basketball ect.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner in downtown Yakima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The food and service were excellent. This is one of the best restaurants in downtown Yakima.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yakima Sports Center also viewed

 

Been to Yakima Sports Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yakima Sports Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.