We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Couple of Great Appetizers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Second Street Grill

Second Street Grill
28 N 2nd St, Yakima, WA 98901-2612
509-469-1486
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 218 Restaurants in Yakima
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Couple of Great Appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped in after wine tasting in the area early one evening. We decided to have appetizers alone instead of a full meal. We started with an order of Chili Wraps (chicken-lettuce wraps with Thai chili sauce) and the Asian sampler, accompanied by a bottle of Treveri Brut (local) sparkling. The Chili Wraps were excellent, better than very many we've tasted elsewhere. The sampler included Shrimp (or prawns) Tempura, pork dumplings, and egg rolls. While it was all good, the Shrimp were exceptional. They were as large, delicious and perfectly cooked as we've ever had. The appetizers were so good that we ordered a second serving of the Chili Wraps and of the Tempura Shrimp, and we were as happy with the second order as we had been with the first.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    82
    26
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good for Yakima”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a meh, nothing to write home about. Somewhat slow service and at best, average food. But Yakima is hardly a culinary mecca, so all in all, not a bad place to dine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
“Good spot in Yakima”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent a night in Yakima during our recent travels through Washington and the Second Street Grill was exactly what we were looking for. They have a large selection of beer on tap and an extensive menu. We kept it simple with an order of wings to start, then a mango salad and Classic Club Cesar for the main dishes. Both were tasty and satisfying.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good "pub food"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The pub food menu was OK and the service was better than expected. The bar area was somewhat noisy. And the outside seating area needed a good cleaning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEND
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Cold Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ate here for dinner with a group of co-workers. The service was very, very slow and when our food came out it was cold. We brought the cold food to our server's and she said that it was because the pizza we ordered had too many ingredients on it and the oven couldn't heat them all up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Second Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Second Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.