We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hang out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Second Street Grill

Second Street Grill
28 N 2nd St, Yakima, WA 98901-2612
509-469-1486
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 185 Restaurants in Yakima
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
151 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great little hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Decent food at a decent price. Nice little hang out but can get pretty busy on the weekends especially at night being it is kind of a bar too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    92
    32
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“take in a bit of downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I like Second Street Grill. Their lunch fare is tasty and affordable. I had occasion to eat there several days in a row (Great place if you have jury duty across the street!). I did exhaust the menu in those days and go less frequently now.
In the warmer months there is great out side eating.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stick to the wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My first experience with the restaurant was good. I had a great salad and glass of wine. But, the second time we went there, we ordered happy hour drinks. A big mistake. The Manhattan was so watered that it looked like apple juice. The gin wasn't the Tanguery that I'd ordered and it was also watered. We were polite to the waitress but she handled our request to either switch drinks or order something else, with studied indifference. The food was mediocre as well. I'll give it another try one of these days.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice gathering place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice menu and waitress. Food quality was ok and prices a bit high for what you get, but there aren't as many choices in Yakima so this worked just fine

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
342 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Ambiance and Decor Excellent; Food and Service Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were visiting Yakima and "found" the Second Street Grill. Our first impression was "WOW"! The restaurant is beautifully done, upscale, and very nice. It has a great outside seating area, and a large bar. This was the Labor Day weekened, so they were packed on a Sunday night. Service was extremely slow and the food was, frankly, all bad. The bread basket had warm dark bread, but it was a bit hard and stale. My side salad was not cold and crisp. My husband had the giant chili burger and said the meat was burnt. I had the Grilled Mahi Mahi. The fish was overcooked, the rice was hard and cold, and the steamed broccoli was hard. We would NOT recommend eating dinner here. The bar looks very nice, so maybe just go for drinks and try an appetizer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Second Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.