We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place of Solitude Found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedell Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rosedell Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rosedell Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1811 W Yakima Ave., Yakima, WA 98902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Yakima B&B and Inns
Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Place of Solitude Found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A very nice place. Holli, the owner was a perfect hostess and answered every need.
We stayed here for three nights and enjoyed a very nice time. Breakfast was very good with a different entree each morning.
Our room was large and the bed comfortable. In the common area upstairs coffee and a variety of teas were supplied as were ample reading material.
Downtown Yakima was a moderate walk and a large park was a few blocks away.
The service here was excellent. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I am a sucker for heritage B&B's so when I was in Yakima I had to stop by and see if I could sneak a peak. Luckily Holli was amenable to that so I got the "Tour" and was uitably impressed by the grandness and comfort as well as Holli's warm personality!

From what I could see and feel I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris - France
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We staid there one night in August 2011, between Glacier NP and Olympic NP. This B&B is handsome !! One peak at it and you fall in love with it ! We were greatly welcomed, and we had booked the turret which was magnificent. We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, with other guests, and we had all in all a fabulous stay. We were so happy to have the opportunity to stop there and enjoy the splendid decor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a great B&B with true "Western" hospitality in a magnificent old historic mansion within the historic district of Yakima. The Inn is convenient to everything and has lovely grounds and large comfortable rooms. Breakfast was creative and delicious and Holli was a warm host.

Room Tip: We were in the Turret Room which is a unique room in the front with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Sweet greyish cat was sitting on the stairs to welcome us and blended well with the surroundings.

It's off the beaten path, yet close enough to get to The Seasons so we can hear some jazz later on. They are also near enough to the wineries off of Rattlesnake Hills wineries, as well as the center of town.

The restoration of this place is astounding and wonderous. From the grey stone to the rounded windows, to the stained glass, to the oak floors and stairs, classic.

This castle (I call it that because of the turret for one) is so lucky to have been embraced by Holly and family. They saw the uniqueness and the originality and the warmth of this place and brought it back up to where it should be.

Even though it's a huge home it's got a cozy vibe to it.

The furnishings, the lighting, the pictures all convey the various stages of time that have gone by.

The bathroom in our room even had a door for just the latrine itself. The latrine is that turquoise blue and it's quite wide in back. The bath tub and the sink match and the sink is also of that large size. The tiles go even up to the ceiling as they should during that time period.

There are little porches all around as well as the great porch in back which they made quite lovely and comfy with places to sit and look out at the big old trees. The trees are full of different birds. Doug and I actually got up in the morning and sat on our little porch watching them.

When I shut our door to the room it made the typical creaky sound.. It kind of added to the old charm of the castle type home.

The breakfast was divine. They served our meal using nice old china. We sat with all the other folks that were staying there and ate together. They baked us some eggs, mushrooms and cheese. We had a mini cinnamon bun, some wonderful berries in a delicious yogurt. The coffee was strong and good. Plenty of orange juice to drink.

We don't usually like B&Bs as we like to keep to ourselves. The people running the place basically just leave you alone, yet you have all your needs met as there's coffee any time you want as well as homemade cookies to come back to after you've been in town!

The ghosts did not touch the cookies and left us alone as well, but I knew they were there just the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This place is beautiful and has been lovingly restored. We stayed in the Turret Room and it was really nice. We had fun walking around the neighborhood checking out the other beautiful homes in this historic district. The place still needs more work...but all in all...it was super cool. I would love to stay there again. The owner was gone so we were on our own for breakfast...so no comments on breakfast. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The Master Room has the tricked out bathroom and our friends stayed there. There is also a nice bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Enjoyable house and comfortable room, but felt more functional than familiar.

Arrived from: Wallowa Lake, OR
Departed to: Seattle, WA

Very easy to find B&B in a great location, this place is very attractive and fascinating. Upon arrival we were shown our room (Turret) and more or less left to enjoy our stay. The room itself was great, spacious, with plenty of facilities and a very good bathroom attached (be careful to ensure this is locked to the hallway!).

Breakfast was very well presented, but was relatively small and if you don't like poached egg you might go hungry. That's not necessarily a criticism, we weren't expecting an a la carte menu, but some element of option might just have made it a 'very good' rather than 'average' stay.

Room Tip: The Turret room is fun and spacious BUT the blinds don't extend to the top of the windows, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosedell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedell Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1811 W Yakima Ave., Yakima, WA 98902
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosedell Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedell Bed & Breakfast, a stately Neo Classical home located near historic downtown Yakima Washington. Rosedell offers luxurious accommodations for any occasion. Three distinct rooms awaits your discovery. Rosdell is situated on one and half acres of park like grounds with more than 30 mature trees -- at one time a tree from each state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Rosedell Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedell Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.