We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedell Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Rosedell Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosedell Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1811 W Yakima Ave., Yakima, WA 98902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Yakima B&B and Inns
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A GREAT B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a great B&B with true "Western" hospitality in a magnificent old historic mansion within the historic district of Yakima. The Inn is convenient to everything and has lovely grounds and large comfortable rooms. Breakfast was creative and delicious and Holli was a warm host.

Room Tip: We were in the Turret Room which is a unique room in the front with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Sweet greyish cat was sitting on the stairs to welcome us and blended well with the surroundings.

It's off the beaten path, yet close enough to get to The Seasons so we can hear some jazz later on. They are also near enough to the wineries off of Rattlesnake Hills wineries, as well as the center of town.

The restoration of this place is astounding and wonderous. From the grey stone to the rounded windows, to the stained glass, to the oak floors and stairs, classic.

This castle (I call it that because of the turret for one) is so lucky to have been embraced by Holly and family. They saw the uniqueness and the originality and the warmth of this place and brought it back up to where it should be.

Even though it's a huge home it's got a cozy vibe to it.

The furnishings, the lighting, the pictures all convey the various stages of time that have gone by.

The bathroom in our room even had a door for just the latrine itself. The latrine is that turquoise blue and it's quite wide in back. The bath tub and the sink match and the sink is also of that large size. The tiles go even up to the ceiling as they should during that time period.

There are little porches all around as well as the great porch in back which they made quite lovely and comfy with places to sit and look out at the big old trees. The trees are full of different birds. Doug and I actually got up in the morning and sat on our little porch watching them.

When I shut our door to the room it made the typical creaky sound.. It kind of added to the old charm of the castle type home.

The breakfast was divine. They served our meal using nice old china. We sat with all the other folks that were staying there and ate together. They baked us some eggs, mushrooms and cheese. We had a mini cinnamon bun, some wonderful berries in a delicious yogurt. The coffee was strong and good. Plenty of orange juice to drink.

We don't usually like B&Bs as we like to keep to ourselves. The people running the place basically just leave you alone, yet you have all your needs met as there's coffee any time you want as well as homemade cookies to come back to after you've been in town!

The ghosts did not touch the cookies and left us alone as well, but I knew they were there just the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This place is beautiful and has been lovingly restored. We stayed in the Turret Room and it was really nice. We had fun walking around the neighborhood checking out the other beautiful homes in this historic district. The place still needs more work...but all in all...it was super cool. I would love to stay there again. The owner was gone so we were on our own for breakfast...so no comments on breakfast. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The Master Room has the tricked out bathroom and our friends stayed there. There is also a nice bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Enjoyable house and comfortable room, but felt more functional than familiar.

Arrived from: Wallowa Lake, OR
Departed to: Seattle, WA

Very easy to find B&B in a great location, this place is very attractive and fascinating. Upon arrival we were shown our room (Turret) and more or less left to enjoy our stay. The room itself was great, spacious, with plenty of facilities and a very good bathroom attached (be careful to ensure this is locked to the hallway!).

Breakfast was very well presented, but was relatively small and if you don't like poached egg you might go hungry. That's not necessarily a criticism, we weren't expecting an a la carte menu, but some element of option might just have made it a 'very good' rather than 'average' stay.

Room Tip: The Turret room is fun and spacious BUT the blinds don't extend to the top of the windows, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

As you will have read this is a nicely restored, early 20th Century property about 3/4 mile from downtown Yakima.

We stayed in the Tower Room and, as others have noted, the bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The street is quiet and so is the property - once everyone is in for the night as the stairs creak quite a bit. Our room featured the original master bathroom which earns points for period charm, but loses a few for its lack of heat! 22 degree nights meant that the tiles were a bit chilly in the morning!

The shared landing houses tea and coffee making supplies; each rooms has a flat screen TV and basic cable and there is wi-fi throughout the property. Breakfast was competently prepared but expect to see the same dish if you stay for more than two nights - there's not a lot of kitchen variety.

I would have no hesitation to stay again.

Room Tip: The Parker room has a heated bathroom floor - worth bearing in mind during winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at the Rosedell B & B in Yakima, WA last weekend. Most of the old mansion has been renovated and there is new life in this once magnificent home. The beds were good, the art and painting of the rooms fun and inventive. The breakfast was wonderful, yogurt with granola, followed by eggs benedict, fruit, sweet roll, coffee and juice. The place could use a little scrubbing in places, yet I know it's hard to keep up with such a big place. Overall great and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at Rosedell B&B last month while en route to Walla Walla. When we drove up, I was in awe of its stately beauty. It really looks like a castle, and is beautifully lit up at night.
The owners Holli and Paul have done an impressive job with the renovations, and I loved seeing all of the historic photos they have on display. It was fun to hear how they found the house and the story of the renovation process.
Beautiful as it is, though, it is also really comfortable! The bed was great! I took advantage of the claw foot soaking tub, and my husband loved the rain shower.
We enjoyed delicious Eggs Benedict in the morning and Paul was really helpful in giving us directions for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosedell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedell Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1811 W Yakima Ave., Yakima, WA 98902
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosedell Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedell Bed & Breakfast, a stately Neo Classical home located near historic downtown Yakima Washington. Rosedell offers luxurious accommodations for any occasion. Three distinct rooms awaits your discovery. Rosdell is situated on one and half acres of park like grounds with more than 30 mature trees -- at one time a tree from each state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rosedell Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedell Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.