We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedell Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rosedell Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Rosedell Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1811 W Yakima Ave., Yakima, WA 98902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Yakima B&B and Inns
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

As you will have read this is a nicely restored, early 20th Century property about 3/4 mile from downtown Yakima.

We stayed in the Tower Room and, as others have noted, the bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The street is quiet and so is the property - once everyone is in for the night as the stairs creak quite a bit. Our room featured the original master bathroom which earns points for period charm, but loses a few for its lack of heat! 22 degree nights meant that the tiles were a bit chilly in the morning!

The shared landing houses tea and coffee making supplies; each rooms has a flat screen TV and basic cable and there is wi-fi throughout the property. Breakfast was competently prepared but expect to see the same dish if you stay for more than two nights - there's not a lot of kitchen variety.

I would have no hesitation to stay again.

Room Tip: The Parker room has a heated bathroom floor - worth bearing in mind during winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at the Rosedell B & B in Yakima, WA last weekend. Most of the old mansion has been renovated and there is new life in this once magnificent home. The beds were good, the art and painting of the rooms fun and inventive. The breakfast was wonderful, yogurt with granola, followed by eggs benedict, fruit, sweet roll, coffee and juice. The place could use a little scrubbing in places, yet I know it's hard to keep up with such a big place. Overall great and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed at Rosedell B&B last month while en route to Walla Walla. When we drove up, I was in awe of its stately beauty. It really looks like a castle, and is beautifully lit up at night.
The owners Holli and Paul have done an impressive job with the renovations, and I loved seeing all of the historic photos they have on display. It was fun to hear how they found the house and the story of the renovation process.
Beautiful as it is, though, it is also really comfortable! The bed was great! I took advantage of the claw foot soaking tub, and my husband loved the rain shower.
We enjoyed delicious Eggs Benedict in the morning and Paul was really helpful in giving us directions for the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, NY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

This B&B is located in Yakima, Washington. The house was built in the early 20th century and is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. The house and its furnishings are a step back in time with high ceilings and elaborate wood trim and floors. The room where we stayed (on the second floor) had a nice outside covered deck. The owner was very helpful but didn't get in the way. It is located in the heart of the Yakima wine country. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Rosedell Bed and Breakfast in October 2010 and, for the value, it beats many five star resorts out there. The building is amazing. The rooms are breathtaking. We stayed in the Parker room, which was amazing! Holli, the part owner, who runs day-to-day operations, was just a delight. And, the location is so convenient to everything, including wineries, local restaurants and several other activities downtown Yakima. Go check it out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

If you are going to Yakima for wine tasting, skip the hotels! The Rosedell is a much better choice and an excellent value. Paul and Holly are the perfect hosts; available without hovering. They have lovingly restored this mansion with exquisite detail. It is neither gaudy nor crowded. Each room in their home is immaculately clean. We stayed in the Parker room which was perfect for my mom, my sister, and I. Paul allowed us to see each of the rooms, and all were very clean, with wonderful linens, nice TV's, everything a guest would need. It's close enough to downtown, but in a quiet neighborhood.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Great house and excellant rooms. We stayed in room with suspended balcony and it was lovely to sit out in the evening. Loads of places to eat nearby.

Breakfast is single sitting (no problem) with set menu. I think that shoudl have been made clearer as only option after healthy yoghurt/granola/fruit parfait was eggs benedict, no offers or options, just placed in fromt of you Great if you like it (and I did so no probs there), not so if you don't (my wife didn't).

That aside, great place, lovely dog and would certainly stay here again (though maybe enquire earlier about an alternative breakfast).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosedell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedell Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1811 W Yakima Ave., Yakima, WA 98902
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosedell Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedell Bed & Breakfast, a stately Neo Classical home located near historic downtown Yakima Washington. Rosedell offers luxurious accommodations for any occasion. Three distinct rooms awaits your discovery. Rosdell is situated on one and half acres of park like grounds with more than 30 mature trees -- at one time a tree from each state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Rosedell Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedell Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.