We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised! Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprised! Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

For the area and the price it was excellent. Rooms were attractive. Everything clean and in working order. Traditional decor. Terrific breakfast. Staff was friendly. Bed was very comfortable. Lots of nice pillows! Lots of little things that add up to a comfortable stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Hello, Kay!

Thanks very much for staying with us recently! And thank you also for your very kind comments & rating here on the Trip Advisor Website. We are quite grateful!

We're glad that you enjoyed our property so much, and hope that we can have the privilege of welcoming you back as our guest the next time that you are in the beautiful Yakima Valley!

Once again, thank you & please enjoy the rest of your summer, Kay! Kindly-DH-Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    59
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
47
50
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is an average Best Western. The room was small, the carpet had some dirty spots. The staff was OK - but we travel with service dogs, and the staff was uniformed of the rights of dogs for the physically disabled. However, I would not fail to recommend this hotel on that basis. There was a nice pet area with waste bags available. The room and bathroom lack space for luggage, the bathroom is very, very small. There is a lack of hook ups for devices. Breakfast is standard fair.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hello, Robert!

We wanted to warmly thank you again for staying at our hotel property recently!

Thank you also for your very kind words & constructive feedback here for us on the Trip Advisor website. We genuinely appreciate it.

We certainly do also appreciate & respect the need for service animals at our "pet-friendly" property. In addition, we recently held a "refresher" course of training with all of our staff regarding the importance of service animals, and the overall laws concerning them with respect to our hotel property.

We're also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast & pet areas of our hotel! You might also be interested to know that we are about to begin construction of an elevator at our hotel to allow easier access to our second floor guest rooms. In addition, we are remodeling our lobby/front desk area, and our property guest rooms within the next 6-12 months.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments & great feedback for our hotel! We are honored to have hosted you.

With kind regards & respect, DH-Hotel Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Fair value, but cleanliness was a minor issue. Dropped my toothpaste cap on the floor. Came up covered in human hair. Gross. Breakfast bar is average. Scrambled eggs were awful, bacon worse. Waffle was good, though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi dxkraus!

Thank you very much for the privilege of hosting you & your family recently while you traveled to our area. Please know that we were delighted to have you as our guest.

Thank you also for your feedback here on the Trip Advisor website. We sure appreciate it!

We certainly apologize about any cleanliness issues you experienced in your bathroom during your stay. Thank you for letting us know, and please know that our onsite General Manager and our Director of Housekeeping are looking into it. Should you ever feed uncomfortable in any way with your guest room during a future stay, please let our front desk staff know right away so that we can have an opportunity to remedy the problem and/or even move you to another guest room, if needed.

Once again, thanks for staying with us, and for your very valuable feedback! With our kindest regards, DH-Hotel Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Spotless, nice layout, nice pool and courtyard area. Thin walls and horrible hidabed. Other beds okay but could be updated. Quite a good hot breakfast. Friendly staff. Family room very spacious. Easy parking.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Hello TeaGirl4!

Thank you for staying with us recently. And thank you for your very kind words & feedback about our hotel property here on the Trip Advisor website. We sure appreciate it!

We're glad that you enjoyed our hotel overall, and especially our pool area, and our breakfast. We certainly apologize about any problems you had with your bed in your guest room. This has been pointed out to our General Manager and our maintenance department, and please know that they are definitely looking into it. Should this ever occur again on a future stay, please let the front desk know right away & we would be glad to try to remedy the situation, and/or move you to another guest room that you might be more comfortable in.

Once again, thanks for staying with us, and we sure hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again the next time that you are in our area! We were honored to have you as our guest.

With our kindest regards, DH-Hotel Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here while visiting Mt Rainier National Park (a 74 mile trip to the Park entrance but it was the closest town we could find to the park on our travel route) We got a room on the second floor overlooking the pool and we had our own small balcony...a pleasant place to relax on a warm evening. The room was big, the bed comfy with 6 good pillows but the bathroom was a tight squeeze. The fridge was right beside the bed and it created a good bit of noise during the night....moving the fridge to the opposite side of the room would be a good idea. The pool wasn't huge but it was pleasant and there was some seating provided at the poolside. It opened from 9am to 10pm. The breakfast area catered for 84 people...quite the largest area I've seen for a long time and it was very pleasant. There was a good variety of hot and cold items on offer and the hotel provided durable and reusable plastic crockery. Staff were fine...we had no issues. This hotel does accept pets but I'm presuming that specific rooms are allocated to people with pets! We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Greetings BMRCIreland!

My goodness, thank you for your tremendously kind words here on the Trip Advisor Website. We are truly grateful!

Thank you also for the privilege of serving you & hosting you as our guest during your stay in the Yakima Valley. We're glad that you enjoyed your room, our pool, and the courtyard area. That area truly is a little "oasis" get-away at our hotel, and we really love it. We're always delighted when our guests discover it & enjoy it too. We're glad that you also enjoyed our new breakfast area!

We certainly apologize about the refrigerator noise in your room, and are having our maintenance staff look into it. Thanks for the feedback about that.

Once again, thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your very kind words! We would be honored to welcome you back to our hotel the next time that you are in our area.

With kind regards & respect, DH-Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I call about an hour before and they had a room that was dog friendly. I had been on the road for the last 3 weeks and this was one of 9 BW hotels and it ranked in the top for sure. clean and friendly. kristen

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Hi Kristen!

Your kind words in this review here on the Trip Advisor website certainly made our day. Thank you very much & we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you also for staying at Best Western hotels during your journey!

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again to our property in the near future! Once again, thank you for your tremendous kindness. DH-Hotel Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

A good value with hot breakfast included. Beds okay - very puffy pillows. Kinda dark and grungy inside with a strong fabreeze odor. My AC didn't work all the time and the exercise room was barely adequate. Very loud in early mornings due to automatic spring loaded doors slamming in hallways. Good location right off 82 in strip mall area with lots of chain store shopping/restaurants. Nice pool/outdoor area. Not too bad for the discounted price of $92/night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for staying with us recently!

We sure appreciate the privilege of hosting you & your friends while you were in our area.

Thank you also for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback here on the Trip Advisor website. We truly appreciate it!

We certainly apologize that you experienced problems with your A/C unit while you stayed with us. Should that ever happen again, please immediately notify our front desk staff to have our maintenance department look into it. We will either get it fixed, or move you into another guest room that you might be more comfortable in.

Regarding your comments about the spring-loaded door noise, we certainly apologize about that, as well. Our property General Manager is currently discussing this issue with our maintenance department, and they will get those doors adjusted right away.

Once again, thanks for staying with us! With my kindest regards & respect, DH-Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Address: 2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Yakima
#9 Business Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yakima
Yakima Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.