We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option....near freeway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Yakima
above Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good option....near freeway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Stayed here a couple weeks ago...............the rooms are adequate & contain a small fridge & mwave along with a tv.........we had no complaints about the cleanliness...........& no problems with road noise despite having a room facing the parking lot. The AC is a bit loud but I'm not a fussy sleeper. The Cont. brkfst is decent..........pool area is nice with a good sized lawn area....... big enough to play catch or frisbee. Convenient location off the freeway & has a gas station/truck stop right next door. Front desk help was good. For $85/night I felt it was a good value.
Outback is just across the parking lot but it was baaaaad.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
36
39
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My daughter and I stayed for 2 nights here as my mother was in the hospital. The queen room needs updating badly, the carpet was old and stained, no dvd, which most places have, as a courtesy. First thing we noticed was the really bad smell when we opened the door--I think it may have been a flea bomb or later I noticed the bedspreads smelled the same so who knows? The air conditioners were so loud we woke up when they went on(and off). The bright side was that the pool was great, clean, and not overly chemicaled. There were plenty of towels and lounge chairs.

One young lady at the front desk was not very accomodating or friendly, while a brief encounter with another, more mature woman was completely different. Every hotel should realize that the friendliness and helpfulness of their staff is what will make customers return.

We went for the breakfast on Sat. at 9 (ends at 10) and they were already out of many things, which was dissappointing.

Even though this hotel gets plenty of traffic, they need to update the rooms to maintain the integrity of Best Western statewide. Why would I expect different at other Best Westerns?

  • Liked — The nice upkept pool and surrounds
  • Disliked — The stained carpet, loud air conditioner and bad room smell
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We spent one night recently at the BW Ahtanum Inn.

The front desk was efficient and friendly, even reminding us and setting up paperwork to earn credit for the stay on our mileage program.

The room was clean and comfortable and had a small balcony with two chairs and a view of the lawn and pool area. Although we didn't use it, there was a decent sized refridgerator and microwave and coffee and tea maker in the room.

The continental breakfast was nicer than expected with waffles, sausage gravy and bisquits, hard boiled eggs, pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal, milk, juices and coffee/tea.

Our only complaint was the bedding in our room. The fitted sheet did not stay on the king sized mattress. This was kindof a biggie for me, but we were very tired and it was only one night.

We would certainly stay here again for the value, it was a good rate and the staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Liked — Continental breakfast
  • Disliked — Poor fitting sheet..
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

My husband and I were very pleased with this hotel. The rate was reasonable and the room was clean and comfortable. When we checked in, we were told there was someone at the desk 24 hrs a day so if we needed anything, just let them know.
After we had settled into our room, we actually got a call from the desk to inquire if everything was OK and again, reminding us to let them know if we needed anything. I felt this was exceptional service and we appreciated it.
The next morning we were pleasantly surprised by the extensive breakfast offerings which included fresh fruit, yogurt, make-your-own waffles, bisquits and gravy, boiled eggs, bagels and a nice selection of pastries.
Overall, this hotel is well above average for accomodations in this price range. We will most definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Service and breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

This is a very pleasantly furnished hotel with a friendly, helpful staff. What pleased me most was the attention to detail: our room had not just an easy chair, but a recliner. In-room supplies contained not just standard soap, shampoo, and lotion, but a shower cap, mending kit, and Q-tips. The sliding door to the balcony had a security bar as well as a standard lock. The continental breakfast (which was better than most hotel breakfasts I've had) included some lowfat and fat-free choices. My only complaint is that I wish the room air conditioner had been just a bit quieter. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

We spent four nights here during our state basketball playoffs. The room was a cut above most average rooms in that it had a nice recliner in addition to a work desk with desk chair, king size bed, good tv, microwave, and small refrigerator.

The hotel is easy to find as it's right off the freeway exit behind an Outback Steakhouse. It's also within walking distance of a shopping center and many, many new stores and places to eat.

There is free wireless internet and ethernet in the room, though the first night or two we had trouble connecting in the room. The staff was helpful and provided a different wireless card at no charge. The internet signal was really strong in the lobby so sitting there worked out well when we needed to use the laptop. Later it worked well in the room.

An extensive breakfast buffet is available free each morning and there were enough choices for everyone from make-your-own waffles, to boiled eggs, to cereal, fruit, sweet rolls, and assorted beverages.

I highly recommend this place if you're going to the Yakima area. Hope to stay there again next year if our team makes it to the state playoffs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2003

First of all...if you want to secure a handicap room do not rely on the national reservation number to transmit to the hotel that you require a handicap room. When we arrived they did not know we needed that type of room. We had a comformation number but that didn't help. Call the hotel to make sure. The idea of a 'handicap' room and what is necessary is, of course, an amazing diversity of opinion. Yes they had a peep hole at wheelchair level, a wheelchair could fit under the bathroom sink and I could actually get to the thermostat. I could not get to the window due to the amount of furniture and chairs. The telephone was across the room from the beds and had a very short cord. The bath tub had four grab bars and a standard shower head without a flexible wand. There was a shower chair with a back rest which was thoughful. The toilet was very short and not at handicap height. I did have the Asst. Manager come down to the room and he wrote down my suggestions. Now we will have to wait and see if anything happens!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Address: 2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yakima
#4 Family Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yakima
Yakima Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.