We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Stay Not the Best.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Yakima
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok Stay Not the Best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Upon arrival we were given the pet policy they really should post it online one of the items we couldn't comply with and had I said something we would have been without a room. Also our room smelled like smoke for a nonsmoking room this was not good. No counter space in the bathroom they used it all up for the coffee machine, ice bucket, amenities, ect. The hotel was very noisy also could hear people all night long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Jim,

Thank you for staying with us recently, and thank you for taking the time to share your constructive thoughts here on the TripAdvisor site for our hotel to be aware of. Please know that we were very grateful to host you as our guest!

We certainly apologize that your stay with us was less than perfect. We do indeed have 5 smoking rooms here at our property, and great care has been taken to try to eliminate any smoke odors for our other guests. We are very sorry that you experienced this. The smoking rooms have been isolated to the far north end of the building, are "fogged" & deeply cleaned after every stay, and even have exterior entrances to them. (The rest of our hotel property has interior room entrances). Should you ever run into a problem like this in the future here at our hotel or any hotel property, please let the front desk attendant know right away so that we can have an opportunity to fix the problem and possibly even move you to another guest room.

Thank you for the suggestion about posting our pet policies online. We will check with Best Western International & the IT Department to see if we can get this information posted on our property website. Once again, thanks for this suggestion. It is a great one!

Finally, we certainly also apologize about any noise in the hotel you experienced during your stay. We have a 10:00pm "quiet time" policy that we enforce and we patrol the halls and other areas after that time to ask any loud guests to please quiet down and/or to please carry their conversations on in their guest room, and out of the hallways & other public areas. Once again, Jim, if you ever run into this problem in the future, please let the front desk know right away so that they can remedy the situation.

Once again, thank you for being our guest recently. We hope to have the privilege of hosting you again in the future. With our kindest regards & respect, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    55
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
45
47
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn is an extremely motorcycle friendly hotel and I highly recommend it to anyone riding a motorcycle in the area and looking for a place to stay. We stayed there recently and the charging system on our bike went out. The staff extended our checkout time while we arranged a UHaul to get the bike home and were very understanding and helpful while we sorted things out. Great place~!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear DozeyD,

Thank you very much for your tremendously kind words here on the TripAdvisor website! We are certainly grateful!

We're delighted that you had a great experience here, and very sorry to hear about your motorcycle. We sure hope that you got it home safely & fixed. Sorry that happened & you are very welcome regarding the late check out. Thanks also for acknowledging our staff. They are really wonderful people & we all enjoy working here.

Please also know that we also have hotels in Sunnyside, Prosser, & Colfax too! The properties would be great for motorcycle rides too, and I hope that you can enjoy them in the future. The names of those hotels are the Best Western GrapeVine Inn-Sunnyside, The Inn at Horse Heaven-Prosser, and the Wheatland Inn, in Colfax.

Once again thank you for everything & we hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Kindly-DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel 3 or 4 years ago and the manager insisted we park our motorcycle and trailer under the awning next to the front entrance. Because of this we recommended this hotel to a group of motorcycle riders gathering for a meet & greet. We were not disappointed. One of our group had mechanical difficulties and the staff allowed him to park his bike next to the front entrance until he could get it towed away. The Outback right next door was very accomodating in seating our 20+ people together and getting our orders right. The only complaint I had was that I could not figure out how to turn off the air conditioning for the night We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Jkelton9,

Thank you very much for your kind words here! We are certainly very grateful for your kindness.

Thank you for remembering us & coming back with your motorcycle group! We appreciate that tremendously, and are so delighted that you guys all had such a great experience here. We certainly hope to welcome you all back again in the near future!

Please know that we all have some "sister" Best Western Hotels in the cities of Sunnyside, Prosser & Colfax. All of these areas would be great for motorcycle rides too! These hotels are called the Best Western GrapeVine Inn-Sunnyside, The Inn at Horse Heaven-Prosser, and the Wheatland Inn, in Colfax.

We sure apologize about any difficulties you may have experienced in your guest room with your AC. If that ever happens again in the future, please be sure to call our front desk right away so that they can help.

Once again, thank you very much for everything! With our kindest regards & respect-DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

One night stay. Outside of hotel, the lobby, and the hallways made me want to turn around, but the room was great. Very clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly. I would stay here again on an overnight trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello, AZDAD11,

Thank you so much for staying with us recently! We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us & certainly value you as our guest, very much.

Thank you also for taking the time to give us your thoughts here on the TripAdvisor site. We really appreciate it.

We certainly apologize that you did not enjoy the appearance of the exterior of our property, our lobby, or our hallways. Please know that we are in the final planning stages for a renovation of our hotel front desk area (including the carpeting), and that all of the carpeting in the hallways of our property will be replaced soon. So hopefully by the next time you stay with us, these projects will be completed and you can enjoy them.

Finally, thank you very much for your kind comments about our hotel staff. They are wonderful, friendly & accommodating people, and we are very proud of them. We're also glad that you enjoyed your comfortable guestroom, and all of the other amenities that are offered here at our hotel.

Once again, thank you! With Kind Regards, DH-Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I know that there was renovations done and this is a non smoking property, but I still smell smoke. The hallways as well as our room were smokey. The property seems to be a little rough, even after renovations. The saving grace during our visit was the breakfast buffet. Lots of choices, but average food quality. For the price, I think there are better options. We were fortunate to have a room that opens onto the interior, but there are entrances directly from the outside that face the truck stop next door.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard is a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greetings Big Daddy Austin!

Thanks very much for taking the time to give us your thoughts here on the TripAdvisor site. We sure appreciate it!

Please know that we certainly apologize that your experience here was less than perfect, and certainly hope that you will give us another chance to serve you as our guest again in the future.

We have 5 total smoking rooms here at the property on the north end of the building. Those are the rooms that you were referring to that have the exterior entrance. We gave them the exterior entrance in an effort to hopefully isolate & quickly eliminate any smoke smells. But once again, we sure apologize if you smelled anything in the hallways, or in your guestroom, etc. In the future, if you experience anything like this at our hotel or any other hotel property, please let the front desk staff and/or manager know right away so that hopefully they can remedy the problem by moving you to another room, and eliminate any lingering smoke smells.

Finally, it's great that you enjoyed our breakfast! We have worked very hard on that, and are really proud of it. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed it.

Once again, thank you for your comments! With my kindest regards, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed one night at this Yakima property. Even though located next to a truck stop the room was very quiet. Room was clean, beds comfortable. The Outback restaurant is located right across the parking lot. We enjoyed walking to dinner after a day of driving. A mall is located within blocks of the property. Easy access on and off the freeway. Staff was friendly, check-in fine. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Phyllis,

Thank you for staying with us recently!

And thank you for taking the time to give us these kind comments here on the TripAdvisor site. We are certainly grateful & very glad that you had a wonderful stay with us!

We're also glad that you enjoyed our hotel's location & many amenities. It is really wonderful to be located so close to the freeway, several restaurants, great shopping & even a movie theatre!

Once again, thank you for your kindness here!
With our kindest regards & respect, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great rate, clean room, friendly staff, pet-friendly, Harley Owner Group supporter...what more could you ask for?! After driving through...and past the 'downtown' hotels, we opted to stay here overnight while passing through on a family road trip as we felt more safe. Spacious and well light parking lot. We were thankful they provided pet-friendly rooms as we were traveling with our dog. The hotel is located adjacent to Outback Steakhouse (the front desk provided us with a free Bloomin' Onion coupon!) and truck/gas stop. Easy access on/off the freeway. Will definitely stay again when in the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello, Skydive!

Thank you so much for staying with us recently, and for your wonderful comments here on the TripAdvisor site. We appreciate this very much!

We're glad that you guys ended up choosing our hotel after driving through the downtown area. I believe that you made a great choice and our property really is safe, has a great breakfast, a beautiful courtyard area to relax in, and is close to a lot of other great things such as shopping, restaurants, movies, etc.

They just finished that big "Exit 36 Roundabout" off of the freeway about a year ago, and I'm glad that it was so easy for you to get on & off of the freeway. It has been a tremendous improvement for our area, and it makes it really wonderful for our travelers too.

Finally, thanks for mentioning that you will stay with us again in the future as you travel to our area. We look forward it!

Once again, thank you for your tremendous kindness here & for taking the time to say these kind words about our hotel property. We are proud of it.

With my kindest regards, DH-Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Address: 2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yakima
#5 Family Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yakima
Yakima Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;