We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very accommodating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Yakima
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Not very accommodating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived early to check into our room (we had a reservation and told them we would be arriving a bit early). The girl at the front desk was rude and arrogant and told us we would have to wait until 3:30 to check in. So we parked our motorcycles and walked next door to get some lunch. She was to call us when the rooms were ready. She never called so we went back at 3:30 and she said only one room was ready. Seriously? Most of the motel was empty - no cars etc. Then she tried to put us down a hallway that was covered in plastic because they were painting some of the rooms! It smelled terrible so back to the front desk and she was snotty and sarcastic as ever and she and told us she'd have to find us another room. It was after 4:00 before we actually got into a room. We talked to the Manager and he wasn't much help either. It wasn't until we called the Customer Service Department for Best Western that something was done.

Now, having said all that the room in general was clean and fresh. The pool area is very nice and would have enjoyed it if we'd had the chance. Price was a little more than some of the other Best Westerns we've been too with alot better staff. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. All in all we probably wouldn't be back. We'd probably return to the Red Lion Inn instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear hdblackandblue,

Thank you for staying with us last July (2012), and for taking a few moments to give us this review & feedback on this Trip Advisor site. We certainly appreciate it.

We genuinely apologize that your guest room was not ready for check in at 3:00pm. We have very high standards for cleaning our guest rooms, and this may have contributed to the wait. Nevertheless, 3:00pm is our advertised check in time, and we are very sorry that your room was not ready and that you had to wait. Please forgive us for that inconvenience.

At the time of your stay last summer, we were remodeling some of our guest rooms to convert them into non-smoking rooms, and to remove all evidence & smell of smoke. That remodeling project is now completed, and we certainly apologize for any problems that this remodeling may have caused you.

Finally, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your guest room & our breakfast. As mentioned above, we have very high standards for cleaning in our guest rooms, and are glad that you enjoyed your very fresh & clean room. Regarding our breakfast, we have also done a complete remodeling in that area over this past year, and we now offer a complete & full hot breakfast that is very similar to a restaurant.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our property again in the future.

Once again, thank you for your comments. DH-Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    55
    30
    8
    8
See reviews for
46
48
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Setting as average because it really depends on the room you get. I think I'd rate Very Good if I had stayed in a non-smoking room, but since I travelled on Memorial Weekend and booked kinda late, only smoking rooms were available. They smell really bad. I've heard even for smokers that would be bad, so me being a non-smoker, it was like "ouch!!". We bought one of these air freshners so we could stand being inside the room. It helped a lot. Other than that, rest was pretty good. Nice location in Yakima, comfortable beds, clean room (except smell, jeez, hard to stop talking about it). Decent breakfast. Easy check-in and out. Smooth stay. But far from wineries, next time I'll choose an Inn in Zillah.

Room Tip: Stay away from smoking rooms, even if you're a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear BiaRedmond-WA

Thank you so much for staying with us recently! And thanks very much for taking the time to give us some feedback here on the Trip Advisor site. We greatly appreciate it.

We certainly apologize that you had a less than perfect experience in your guest room during your stay. The Memorial Day weekend was a super busy time frame & had some unexpected weather (rain) delays from sporting tournaments, etc., and this certainly had an impact on the amount of guest rooms, and the types of guest rooms that we had available at our property. (Basically, several tournaments were delayed, and this led to people needing to stay longer & more room demands, etc.)

Please also know that we have taken several steps to try to fog, deep clean, sanitize & keep the very few smoking rooms that we have (5), as clean as absolutely possible. Once again, we apologize that that this was the only room available when you inquired into staying with us.

It sounds like you enjoyed many other things about our hotel including our other guest room amenities, our location, our breakfast, etc., and we would be very honored if you will choose to stay with us again & give us another opportunity to host you in the near future!

Once again, thank you! Kindly, DH-Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel has good location just off I-82, right next to mall & Outback steakhouse. Got huge room (upgraded by being BW Rewards member) equipped with kitchenette with 2-ring stove, fridge, d'washer, plates & utensils, pots & pans. Clean, a bit dated but excellent value. Good free hot breakfast. Only disappointment was in-room wi-fi and hard-wire internet connections didn't work, had to go down to business centre for access. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Join BW Rewards, it's free & you get upgrades & sometimes goodies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear dbaron,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property! We certainly appreciate it.

We are delighted that you enjoyed one of our 700 sq ft suites during your stay! Our suites are very special rooms, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the spacious room & its many amenities.

Thank you for your feedback also regarding the internet service. This is rare & typically does not happen here. Please know, however, that we have alerted our company IT specialist about this matter, and he is looking into it.

Once again, thank you! DH-Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here last weekend. Went to check in, all not a friendly check in or out. That was with two different customer service ladies!
Now onto the hotel. Great location! Easy access to/from the freeway. The room is clean and surprisingly quiet (there was a baseball team there, couldn't hear them at all). The hallways smell a little (it used to be a smoking hotel). Beds were ok, bathrooms are tiny yet the shower was huge. I liked that it is only 2 floors, with a fridge and microwave. I didn't use the pool but I liked that it was outdoors.
Not sure it is worth the $119 a night price tag.
I should note that I love the Best Western chains!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Stephanie A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your comments here on the Trip Advisor site! We are most grateful.

We're glad that you liked our hotel proximity to Interstate 82 & the other attractions in our area. We certainly apologize for any smell you may have noticed in the hallway of our property. We have recently taken great steps to consolidate the existing five smoking rooms that we have remaining in our hotel to the north end of the property and given separate, exterior entrances to these five rooms.

We also certainly apologize for any inconvenience you may have received during your check in/out process, and have passed this information on to our Front Desk Manager.

Finally, we are delighted that you enjoyed our room amenities, including the in-room microwaves & refrigerators! And we hope that you will have time to enjoy our outdoor pool & courtyard area in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us recently! Kindly, DH-Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed May 23rd and 25th for a state softball tournament our granddaughters were in. We were very pleased with the hotel and staff. Our first day of games were rained out and we needed to stay over an extra night and although they were not able to accommodate our needs they tried their best and we totally understood, they already had 3 teams staying there and they had to take first priority. The breakfast was very good and the location of the hotel couldn't have been any better, The Yakima Mall is adjacent to it with several eating establishments from fast food to sit down dining.....something to please everyone! When we go back next year for the tournament we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Val H,

Thank you so much for staying with us during the recent WIAA State Softball Championships! We were delighted to have you as our guest.

Thank you also for your kind words about our hotel, our breakfast, and for your tremendous understanding regarding room availability due to the rain delay/weather. This was a difficult situation, but your kindness is truly appreciated, and certainly is a warm blessing to us.

Once again, thank you for everything & we look forward to the privilege of hosting you the next time you are in our area!

Kindly, DH-Director of Marketing & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Another excellent time at the Ahtanum Inn. The staff is awesome and many have remained the same. The rooms this year seemed exceptionally cleaned by the staff. We stay in the suites poolside and they are a great place for families to stay and watch their kids in the courtyard (Grass) as well as at the pool.
The free breakfast was great includes sausage hash browns scrambled eggs waffles (strawberry) and biscuits and gravy (my favorite) along with all the cold stuff.
Kudos to all who made this a great experience for all of our team families.
Sara (Carmel Machiato)
Linda Sue (anything with coconut)
Ryan (layered not stirred)
LOL you are the best

OOPs missed no show Julie she is the best group reservationist.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your incredible kindness!

We are so pleased that you noticed & acknowledged our outdoor grass courtyard & pool area, and our delicious new breakfast. We are so proud of these amenities, and are delighted that you enjoyed them!
Thank you also for naming & noticing our staff members! They are truly the reason for the warmth & positive environment at our hotel property, and you really blessed each of them with your very kind words both in this review, and while you were staying with us.

The privilege of hosting you, your family, and your team here at our hotel was an absolute honor! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Address: 2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Yakima
#5 Business Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yakima
Yakima Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.