We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May I make a suggestion?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 24 hotels in Yakima
A TripAdvisor Member
“May I make a suggestion?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'd like to make two suggestions. The first is related to assignment of rooms. We checked in around 10 p.m. on a Tuesday night. We were put in a room directly under another room that had people in it. They were walking around making noise (normal walking made noise). It wasn't a huge issue but on a night when there are few people in the motel it seems to me you could zig zag people so they aren't directly on top of each other. The room was nicely organized although the bathroom size was rather small.
My second suggestion is to provide alternative breakfast items for people with food sensitivities. We are severely allergic to gluten and dairy products. We were able to eat a banana and an apple. Yakima has a wonderful gluten free bakery on 16th St. (we found it after we left the motel). She bakes wonderful english muffins and breads as well as cinnamon rolls and breakfast muffins. All these products can be frozen and kept nicely. I would be willing to pay extra for any of those items if only they were provided while traveling. As it is I have to carry my own food on business trips. If you made provisions for people with food allergies, your establishment would have another feather in its cap to entice travelers to stay with you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently, and for the kind comments & great ideas that you have posted here on the Trip Advisor site.

Staggering the guest room assignments is certainly something that we do whenever possible to evenly distribute our guests, and to provide consistent & even use on all of our guestrooms.
We certainly apologize that this did not occur during your stay. Please forgive us. In the future, should you have any problems with your room assignment or guest room whatsoever, please let the front desk staff know right away so that we can have the opportunity to correct it.

Also, your suggestions regarding providing various breakfast options for individuals with certain food sensitivities, is a great one. Although there are currently a few items on our breakfast menu that are indeed gluten free, etc., we will certainly discuss this matter with our property management & look into some of these great options & additional breakfast recommendations that you have suggested. Thank you for sharing your ideas with us!

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We were honored to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    45
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
36
39
6
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stay here everytime we are in town for Baseball Tourneys. This hotel is consistently, clean, friendly and just what we need. The breakfast is the best thing for the boys. The staff is always friendly and helpful from reservation to checkout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your tremendously kind words about our hotel. And thank you for taking the time to post your comments on this site.

We certainly appreciate that you continue to stay with us whenever you are here for the baseball tournaments!

And finally, thank you so much for your gracious words about our breakfast. We have invested a lot of time & effort into our breakfast over the past couple of years, and think we now offer one of the best in town. We're delighted that you enjoyed it.

Look forward to seeing you at the next tournament!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Linda Sue on the front desk gave us a warm welcome upon our arrival and was extremely helpful. We enjoyed a 4 day stay in a spacious suite with balcony and kitchenette, really nice.

Each morning breakfast was exceptional. Hotel location next to Outback restaurant and shopping within walking distance. A short drive to wineries. Be sure to bring your BW points card with you, it will pay off.

A great place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel property! We were delighted to have you as our guest.

We take pride in the warm welcome that you received from Linda & our front desk staff, and are very pleased that you enjoyed our suite too. At 700+square feet in size, our suites are very spacious, comfortable, and accommodating.

We're also glad that you enjoyed our full hot breakfast. We've been working on it for the past couple of years & are now proud to be able to offer our guests a delicious full hot breakfast, very similar to what you would receive at a restaurant.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful review of our hotel property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hotel has been good to us the last three years,we have made it our primary place to stay in the Yakima area. However! Be advised to any smokers... They have remodeled the smoking wing of the hotel so as to give all the smoking rooms doors onto the parking lot. I am personally uncomfortable with rooms that have exterior doors. These rooms are now such that when you open the door,you run into a bed and there is now excess,useless space in the room where the door used to be. You would really feel cramped in one of these rooms now. We were fortunate that the hotel had other rooms available,we took a suite on the second floor (nonsmoking) for a lot more money and were happy to do so as the smoking rooms are now essentially useless. Otherwise a great hotel for a well maintained older property! The staff was very considerate and prompt to change our room to a habitable one.... We will look here first for our next stay in the Yakima area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your patronage to our hotel property! We are honored to be your “hotel of choice” whenever you are in the Yakima area. We also value your feedback regarding our smoking rooms, and will always try to offer you your “room of choice” whenever you may stay with us. Once again, thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel property, and for your kind words about the hotel and our employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I checked into this hotel for a single night in March 2013 while working my way from Washington Wine Country back to Seattle. In hind sight a room rate of around $100 should have told me all I needed to know - you get exactly what you pay for.

The hotel is aging, the bed very worn and saggy and the breakfast a typically poor Best Western effort. All of this is part of the 'buyer beware' experience with a cheap hotel and I take full responsibility for my decision.

What I don't take responsibility for is the desk staff making a copy of my credit card number and using it (along with my home address and cell phone number taken from the check-in form) to make a $600 online purchase within hours of me checking out. This particular card hadn't been used in weeks and was used only once on my trip - at this hotel.

There are 15+ hotels in Yakima - stay somewhere else, please!

Room Tip: Pick a room in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your business and for expressing your concerns. The condition of the bed and dissatifsfaction with our Full Hot breakfast are issues we need to know about. It is difficult to address concerns about our hotel if we are not given a chance to resolve these issues when they occur. If we had known the bed in the room 221 was less then you expected, we could have moved you to another room or supplied you with a bedboard. We have not had any other feedback regarding the bed in that room.

What specifically was unsatisfactory about our breakfast? We built a large new breakfast area last year and we work very hard to make our FULL HOT breakfast selections of the best quality, and prepared and served with excellence.

I am sorry to hear unauthorized charges have been made against your credit card. However, you make very serious accusations against our entire establishment which I would like to fully investigate. Our systems are PCT compliant, which means they only permit us to see the last 4 numbers of your credit card. There is no opportunity for our desk agents to amass enough information from your credit card to attempt any type of unauthorized usage.

If you feel we have broken our trust with your financial information, please allow us the opportunity to investigate your damaging accusations by sharing the evidence you have to justify the misuse of your credit card. We have not had any other incidents of this nature imputed to us. My desk staff has an extremely low turnover rate, so it would be unusual for a problem like this to suddenly appear.
That being said, if you will please call me at (425) 760-6848, I will be certin to investigate all the details and report back to you.

Respectfully

Thomas Deats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden Lake, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel was very clean and nice. We were there for a dog show and it was nice to have the hotel welcome our well mannered pets and with no pet fee. This hotel had the best breakfast that I have ever had at a hotel.

Room Tip: the inside rooms have a huge view of the courtyard and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and for staying with us! We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great hotel with average Best Western Standard. No suprises - neither positive nor negative. Big rooms, standard interior equipment. Hotels is directly near an Outback restaurant and a mall.

Breakfast room is very big with enough tables for many guests. Breakfast was not particular, but ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPlusAhtanumInn, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and for staying with us! We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn

Address: 2408 Rudkin Road, Yakima, WA 98903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Yakima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Yakima
#4 Family Hotel in Yakima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yakima
Yakima Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ahtanum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.